Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Mike Parker

Abby Rude

Portland

This Road Will Never End

William Parry

Celluloid Icons
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Celluloid Icons: This Road Will Never End

CETTE ROUTE N'A PAS DE FIN

«Je trouve vraiment étrange qu'on puisse désapprouver moralement la sexualité de quelqu'un d'autre.
C'est comme si on lui disait comment il doit faire le ménage chez lui.
»

- River Phoenix

En 1996, une courte série de documentaires sympathiques, produite par le réalisateur William Parry, présente un certain nombre de personnes célèbres, du point de vue de la communauté gay. Dans cette série, intitulée Idoles en celluloïde, une émission fut consacrée à River.

Des membres du public y parlent ouvertement et honnêtement de leurs sentiments envers River et de l'effet qu'il a eu, selon eux, sur leur vie. Des extraits de My Own Private Idaho illustrent le programme et les interviewés décrivent leurs impressions sur le film et ce qu'il signifie pour eux.

En outre, Abby Rude apporte un aperçu unique sur la vie du sujet de l'émission. Pour la première fois depuis la mort de River, elle parle de son travail d'assistante personnelle et décrit le sentiment de River sur nombre de questions, dont notamment les droits des gays ou les préjugés d'ordre sexuel.

«Les lettres de fans que je lui ai montrées, spécialement celles qui avaient à voir avec Idaho et qui venaient de gens qui avaient fait leur "sortie du placard", étaient réellement très, très touchantes et très pathétiques. River en était très ému et ils les trouvaient bouleversantes. Celles dont je me souviens disaient simplement : "Merci, j'ai fait mon come-out. Ce n'était pas si dur que je le pensais et vous m'avez donné la confiance pour le faire et ma vie en a été changée. Merci."»

- Abby Rude

Mike Parker, le partenaire de River dans My Own Private Idaho et celui qui lui inspira son personnage, est également interviewé. Fumant beaucoup et révélant une certaine nervosité, il rappelle ses souvenirs du tournage à Portland pendant l'hiver 1990. Il parle aussi de sa propre vie comme ancien tapin et raconte comment ses expériences personnelles furent utilisées par River pour créer le personnage de Mike Waters.

Finalement le programme traite de la mort de River et de l'impact qu'elle eut sur ceux qui sont interviewés au cours de l'émission.

Celle-ci ne dure qu'une demi-heure mais, même avec une durée aussi courte, on se rend compte de l'importance évidente de My Own Private Idaho et de l'appui, de la force et de l'inspiration que ce film a représentés pour tant de personnes.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Mike Parker

Abby Rude

Portland

This Road Will Never End

William Parry

Celluloid Icons
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Celluloid Icons: This Road Will Never End


"It still strikes me as strange that anyone could have any moral objection to someone else's sexuality.
It's like telling someone else how to clean their house.
"

- River Phoenix

In 1996 a short series of loving documentaries were produced by director William Parry that looked at certain famous people from the point of view of the gay community. In this series, that is collectively titled Celluloid Icons, one such progam is devoted to River.

In it, members of the public talk openly and honestly about their feelings towards River and the effects they feel he has had on their lives. Clips from the movie My Own Private Idaho are used to illustrate the program throughout and those interviewed describe their feelings for the movie and what it means to them.

Also, revealing a unique insight into the life of the show's subject is Abby Rude. She talks for the first time since River's death about her job as his personal assistant and describes just how River felt about a number of issues including gay-rights and sexual prejudices.

"The fan-letters that I would show him, especially the ones to do with Idaho, from people who had 'come out', were just very, very touching and really quite emotional and River was very touched by them and found it quite moving. The ones I remember were just saying, 'Thank you. I've come out. It wasn't as hard as I thought and you gave me the confidence to do that and my life has changed. Thank you.' "

- Abby Rude

Also interviewed is co-star from My Own Private Idaho, and inspiration for the character River played, Mike Parker. Smoking heavily and coming across as perhaps a little nervous, he recalls his memories of filming the movie in Portland during that winter of 1990. He also talks about his own life as a former street-hustler and how his experiences were used by River to create the character of Mike Waters.

Finally, the program looks at River's death and what impact the event had on those who are interviewed in the show.

The show itself only lasts about half an hour, but even in that short time, it becomes abundantly clear just what an important movie My Own Private Idaho is and what a pillar of support, strength and inspiration it has become to such an large number of people.


Previous Page

Next Page
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page