Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Guthrie McFadden

Adam McFadden

Stormy Weathers
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Catch A Falling Star

(En attrapant une étoile filante)

Première diffusion : 10 novembre 1982

Daniel devient copain avec son héros de longue date, le chanteur country Stormy Weathers, qui n'est plus tout jeune et qui fait face à un sérieux problème de boisson.

La première scène de Guthrie et du chanteur se passe dans la grange où Guthrie effectue les corvées du soir. Ils ont une agréable conversation mais soudain Stormy s'écroule sur le sol. Très effrayé, Guthrie court jusqu'à la maison pour alerter les autres mais quand Adam découvre que l'état de Stormy est dû à un excès de boisson, il insiste pour qu'il s'en aille le plus tôt possible à cause de la mauvaise influence de sa présence sur Guthrie. Guthrie, quant à lui, se fait beaucoup plus de souci pour le chanteur. « Il ne doit pas faire chaud dehors cette nuit » s'inquiète-t-il car Stormy dort dans la grange.

Comme son alcoolisme ne s'arrange pas, Stormy essaie de filer en douce du ranch McFadden mais Guthrie l'aperçoit. « Hé, tu n'es pas obligé de partir ! » insiste Guthrie mais il ne peut pas persuader le chanteur vieillissant de rester. Guthrie lui offre alors les quelques dollars qu'il a récemment gagnés en participant aux corvées de la ferme dans l'espoir d'aider Stormy à se remettre en selle. « Non, je ne peux pas accepter - c'est ton argent » proteste Stormy. Les larmes aux yeux et les lèvres tremblantes, Guthrie met de force l'argent dans la poche de la chemise de Stormy.

Finalement, Stormy Weathers se remettra en selle. Après avoir réussi à signer un nouveau contrat d'enregistrement, il reviendra au ranch McFadden une dernière fois. Il rembourse alors Guthrie, avec par-dessus un intérêt non négligeable.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Guthrie McFadden

Adam McFadden

Stormy Weathers
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Catch A Falling Star

First Transmitted: November 10, 1982

Daniel befriends his long-time hero, country singer Stormy Weathers who is long past his prime, and has developed a serious drink problem.

The first scene that Guthrie and the singer share takes place in the barn while Guthrie carries out his evening chores. They strike up a pleasant conversation, but before long Stormy collapses to the floor. A frightened Guthrie runs back into the house to alert the others but when Adam discovers that Stormy's condition has been caused by too much drink Adam insists that he move on just as soon as possible, because of the negative effects his presence may be having on Guthrie. Guthrie on the other hand is far more concerned for the singer. "It might get a little cold out in the stable tonight," he worries now that Stormy is sleeping out in the barn.

With no improvement in his drinking problem, Stormy tries to sneak out and leave the McFadden's ranch, but Guthrie sees him. "Hey, you don't have to go!" begs Guthrie, but he is unable to persuade the elderly singer to stay. Guthrie them offers him the couple of dollars he's earned recently from doing chores in the hope that it'll go someway to help getting Stormy back on his feet. "No, I can't do that - that's your money," protests Stormy. With tears in his eyes, and quivering lips, Guthrie forces the money into Stormy's shirt pocket

Stormy Weathers did eventually get back on his feet. After managing to get himself a brand new recording contract he returned to the McFadden ranch one last time. He paid Guthrie back, with a not inconsiderable amount of interest on top too.


Previous Page

Next Page
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page