Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Elvis Presley

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Murphys

Oregon

California

Guthrie McFadden

San Francisco

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (Movie)

Stephen Vincent Benet

The Sobbin Women

Howard Keel

Adam Pontipee

Benjamin Pontipee

Caleb Pontipee

Daniel Pontipee

Ephraim Pontipee

Frank Pontipee

Gideon Pontipee

Adam McFadden

Brian McFadden

Crane McFadden

Daniel McFadden

Evan McFadden

Ford McFadden

Jane Powell

Terri Treas

Hannah Moss McFadden

James H. Brown

Judith Marvin
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

SEPT FIANCEES POUR SEPT FRERES

Basé librement sur l'histoire de Stephen Vincent Benet The Sobbin Women, le film musical de 1954 Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, où jouait Howard Keel, fut en 1982 à l'origine d'une série TV du même nom qui dura peu de temps.

Ayant peu de rapport avec le film, la série TV en présente une version contemporaine qui se passe dans un ranch d'élevage en Californie et non en 1850 dans les montagnes de l'Oregon. D'autres modifications importantes sont apportées notamment dans les noms des sept frères Pontipee. Adam, Benjamin, Caleb, Daniel, Ephraïm, Frank et Gideon sont devenus en 1982 les Frères McFadden, Adam, Brian, Crane, Daniel, Evan, Ford et Guthrie. A son arrivée à la maison familiale, le personnage joué en 1954 par Jane Powell était conduit à la cuisine avec l'ordre de préparer le repas. Dans la série, le personnage de Terri Treas, appelé Hannah d'après le nom du bébé du film musical, a la même chose à faire, même si c'est demandé plus gentiment. Toutefois dans les deux versions, la nouvelle cuisinière renverse la table et les deux équipes de frères, l'ancienne et la nouvelle, se retrouvent par terre avec le repas sur les genoux !

Russ Tamblyn joue Gideon Pontipee dans la version musicale de 1954 de Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.

Voulant obtenir une très large audience, les créateurs de la version TV choisissent de rajeunir Gideon ou plutôt Guthrie. Il aura 12 ans. River, qui arrive aux auditions avec sa guitare, fait rapidement une imitation convaincante d'Elvis Presley qui enchante le producteur du show, James H. Brown, qui lui offre le rôle. «J'ai sauté en l'air à un mètre cinquante» raconte River. «Je suis devenu tout rouge et tout excité. C'était mon premier show télévisé. Très excitant - un moment extraordinaire. C'était quelque chose que j'attendais vraiment et c'est tellement rare d'être au bon endroit, au bon moment et de se sentir parfait pour un rôle.»

Bien qu'elle ne dispose que d'un budget de télévision, la série est tournée entièrement en extérieur, dans la petite ville de Murphys à 250 kilomètres au nord-est de San Francisco où sont utilisés à l'envie de vrais troupeaux, les lieux accidentés et des centaines de figurants.

Sans aucune scène de studio du début à la fin de la série, le ranch des McFadden est en fait la maison d'une habitante de l'endroit, Judith Marvin. «Je me souviens que c'était un enfant adorable» se rappellera Mme Marvin qui raconte d'une manière vivante comment River, alors âgé de douze ans, se sent totalement responsable de toute sa famille qui n'a pas beaucoup d'argent à l'époque.

Quand la série est diffusée à la télévision, River se met à recevoir pour la première fois de sa carrière du courrier en provenance de ses fans. Il est fort surpris car il ne s'y attend pas. Néanmoins, il prend sur ses épaules cette nouvelle grande responsabilité et consacre promptement son temps libre, enfermé dans le mobil-home de la famille, à répondre soigneusement de sa main à chaque lettre.

Peu de temps avant sa mort, River reviendra au ranch où sa carrière a débuté dix ans plus tôt. Se rappelant cette visite inattendue et au caractère doux-amer, Judith Marvin, qui vit encore au ranch, aura l'impression que River est revenu pour chercher quelque chose, pour essayer de recréer ce qu'il ne ressent plus depuis longtemps. «Une époque de sa vie où il était heureux, jeune et innocent» croit Mme Marvin.

Malgré cette visite, il semble que River sera incapable de trouver ce qu'il cherche, ce dont il a besoin de manière si désespérée.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Elvis Presley

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Murphys

Oregon

California

Guthrie McFadden

San Francisco

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers (Movie)

Stephen Vincent Benet

The Sobbin Women

Howard Keel

Adam Pontipee

Benjamin Pontipee

Caleb Pontipee

Daniel Pontipee

Ephraim Pontipee

Frank Pontipee

Gideon Pontipee

Adam McFadden

Brian McFadden

Crane McFadden

Daniel McFadden

Evan McFadden

Ford McFadden

Jane Powell

Terri Treas

Hannah Moss McFadden

James H. Brown

Judith Marvin
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Loosely based on Stephen Vincent Benet's story The Sobbin Women, the successful 1954 movie musical Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, starring Howard Keel, was itself the basis of a short-lived 1982 TV-series of the same name.

Based only vaguely on the original movie however, the TV-series presented a modern day version of events located on a Californian cattle ranch rather than the Oregon mountains in 1850. Further major changes included the renaming of the seven Pontipee brothers, Adam, Benjamin, Caleb, Daniel, Ephraim, Frank and Gideon who became the McFadden Brothers in 1982 - Adam, Brian, Crane, Daniel, Evan, Ford and Guthrie. On her arrival at the family home Jane Powell's character was shown the kitchen and ordered to make the dinner. Terri Treas' character, Hannah, named after the baby born in the movie musical, was expected to do likewise, if not told quite so forcefully. In both versions though, the new cook would soon upturn the dining table and both sets of brothers end up on the floor with their dinners in their laps!

Russ Tamblyn played Gideon Pontipee in the 1954 movie musical version of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers.

Aiming the TV version at the widest audience possible, the creators chose to reduce the age of Gideon, or rather, Guthrie to 12 years old. River, who arrived at the auditions with his guitar, promptly burst into a convincing Elvis Presley impersonation charming the show's producer James H. Brown who offered him the part. "I just leaped five feet into the air," said River. "I got all red and freaked out. It was my first television show. Real exciting - a glorious moment. It was something I just waited for, and it's such a rare thing, being at the right place at the right time and just fitting the part."

Despite only having a television budget to play with, the series was shot entirely on location 150 miles north-east of San Francisco in the little town of Murphys, and made extensive and ambitious use of real livestock, rugged locations and hundreds of extras.

Dispensing with studio-based sets throughout the series, the McFaddens' ranch was in fact the home of local resident Judith Marvin. "I remember what a dear child he was," reminisces Marvin who can vividly recall just how much River, even at twelve years of age, seemed to feel totally responsible for his whole family given that they were so short of money at the time.

Once the series began airing on television, River began to receive fan mail for the first time in his career. He was most surprised by this and it was not something he had expected. Nevertheless, he felt that this too was another huge responsibility that he must shoulder and promptly spent his spare time locked away in the family motor-home very carefully answering each letter personally, by hand.

Shortly before he died, River returned to the ranch where his mainstream career had begun more than ten years earlier. Recalling the unexpected, bittersweet visit, Judith Marvin, who still lived on the ranch, got the impression that River had returned to her home as if looking for something, trying to recreate something he perhaps hadn't felt for quite some time. "A time in his life when he was happy, young and innocent," Marvin believes.

Despite this visit, it would seem that River was unable to find whatever it was he was looking for, whatever it was he was so desperately in need of.


Previous Page

Official Press Kit

Next Page
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page