Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Los Angeles

Florida

Dermot Mulroney

The Thing Called Love

Viper Room

Mike Waters

Scott Favor

Beverly Hills

Peter Sellers

Hollywood Kids

Hollywood Men

Hollywood Women

Robert Mitchum

John Wayne

Jackie Collins

Zsa Zsa Gabor

Paul Peterson

Jeff Stone

The Donna Reed Show

A Minor Consideration

Ron Davis
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Hollywood Kids

Les Gosses d'Hollywood
Des enfants sauvages

«D'après ma propre expérience, compte tenu de ce que j'ai vu et de ce qu'on y trouve - ce n'est vraiment pas pour les enfants.»

Prenant la suite des Hommes d'Hollywood puis des Femmes d'Hollywood, cette courte série documentaire, qui montre Hollywood tel qu'elle est aujourd'hui, se tourne cette fois avec Hollywood Kids vers la jeune génération pour un résultat aussi choquant que dans les premières émissions de la série.

De nombreux enfants de célébrités sont interviewés, parmi lesquels la petite fille de Robert Mitchum et les filles de John Wayne et de Peter Sellers. Le sont également des célébrités elles-mêmes, comme Jackie Collins et Zsa Zsa Gabor. Des habitants apportent leur contribution à l'émission. «Tout le monde essaie de dépasser les autres» indique un agent immobilier en décrivant la compétition aiguë qui règne dans la société de Hollywood. Dans le même sens, une esthéticienne de Beverly Hills résume la situation en indiquant que si vous vivez à Hollywood, «vous êtes dans un concours de beauté à partir du jour où vous sortez du ventre de votre mère».

Allant plus loin, l'émission poursuit en soulignant qu'au lycée de Beverly Hills par exemple, les voitures qu'on trouve sur le parking des professeurs ont peu de choses à voir avec celles des élèves. Les enfants d'Hollywood disent maintenant à leurs professeurs : «Vous êtes qui, vous ? Vous ne devez pas vous faire plus de 25 000 ou 30 000 $ par an. Ma mère gagne ça dans la journée ! Pourquoi est-ce que je ferais les devoirs que vous me donnez ? Pourquoi est-ce que je vous écouterais ?» Puis l'émission change rapidement de sujet et ses responsables se penchent alors sur les différentes conséquences d'une telle logique. Un des premiers sujets abordés est la drogue.

Un participant compare le milieu de la drogue de Los Angeles à celui de la mode, dans son comportement vis à vis des vêtements. Arrive le dernier produit d'un créateur et tout le monde veut l'essayer ou, plus exactement, être vu en train de l'essayer. Dans ce qui est désormais un cercle vicieux, cet engouement passager retombe uniquement pour qu'un autre prenne sa place.

Après environ une demi-heure d'émission, on passe à l'interview de Paul Peterson. Lui-même ancien enfant-star, Peterson joua le personnage de Jeff Stone dans la sit-com The Donna Reed Show, produite de 1958 à 1966. Son personnage astucieux mais sensible fut rapidement très populaire auprès du public et Peterson devint l'une des toutes premières «idoles adolescentes». Ayant fait l'expérience directe de ce phénomène écrasant, Peterson fonda plus tard A Minor Consideration, une oeuvre charitable sans but lucratif qui offre son aide aux enfants célèbres qui connaissent des problèmes en raison de leur célébrité. Peterson se souvient d'avoir approché River en 1992 pour lui offrir une aide qui fut immédiatement rejetée.

Peterson aborde alors les événements de l'année suivante, devant le night-club d'Hollywood, le Viper Room, et suggère que si quelqu'un sur place avait seulement révélé quelle drogue était en cause, les secouristes auraient pu sauver River. Cette opinion a longuement été discutée par les médias en novembre 1993, mais, quoi qu'il soit arrivé cette nuit-là, on peut douter qu'un antidote suffisamment puissant existe qui vienne à bout non pas d'une mais de huit doses mortelles d'héroïne.

Est également interviewée une personne qui se trouvait cette même nuit à l'extérieur du Viper Room et qui fut le témoin direct de la scène, Ron Davis. Ressemblant de manière étonnante à Dermot Mulroney deThe Thing Called Love, Davis est présenté comme un «photographe de célébrités» plutôt que comme un paparazzi, ce qui, du moins en l'occurrence, est une distinction subtile mais méritée. Dans ce qui devint un acte bien connu mais néanmoins désintéressé, Davis décida d'ignorer son propre intérêt professionnel et choisit de ne prendre aucune photo de ce qu'il avait alors sous les yeux. Cet acte réfléchi se situe à mille lieues, au sens figuré comme au sens propre, de l'action de profanation qui devait avoir bientôt lieu dans un centre funéraire de Floride, quelques jours plus tard.

Davis rappelle comment, alors que s'accomplissait le drame de cette nuit-là, aussi bien lui que d'autres personnes sur place en étaient presque venus à souhaiter que River ait des convulsions. «Au moins, on savait qu'il était toujours en vie» se rappelle-t-il en frissonnant.

Toujours choqué par les événements, Davis semble encore frustré par le fait que, ce soir-là, aucune décision rapide n'ait été prise. Il se souvient du portier du Viper Room, criant au petit groupe d'amis accompagnant River d'appeler les urgences. Faisant écho au commentaire précédent de Peterson et se souvenant de leur réponse : «il va bien, il va bien», Davis évoque «leurs mensonges et leurs excuses pour sauver sa réputation. Essayer encore de le protéger - alors qu'il était en train de mourir».

Après une pause abrupte de publicité, l'émission se tourne alors vers la prostitution et une demi-douzaine de prostitués des deux sexes sont interviewés dans la rue. Ayant le look «grunge» ou BCBG, ils ou elles se définissent comme des «artistes professionnels». Bien que le documentaire démontre que les deux derniers sujets, drogue et prostitution, sont profondément liés, il est révélé que beaucoup des jeunes gens et des jeunes filles qui travaillent dans les rues de Los Angeles ne le font que pour l'excitation que cela procure. Quand quelqu'un parle de la logique «Je vais faire du mal à Papa maintenant et je vais me vendre !», cette attitude rappelle quelque chose de vaguement familier et on n'a besoin que de quelques instants pour mettre le doigt dessus. Ce n'est pas sans surprise qu'on se rend compte que ce sont les vrais Mike Waters et Scott Favor que nous venons d'écouter pendant ces dernières minutes.

On estime que 10 000 jeunes ayant fui leur foyer arrivent chaque année à Hollywood. Ce que ces jeunes cherchent quand ils descendent du bus au centre d'Hollywood est à mille lieues de ce qu'ils se retrouvent à chercher quelques mois plus tard, alors que l'argent leur manque. «C'est seulement temporaire» déclare un jeune homme qui loue ses charmes, «jusqu'à ce que je rétablisse la situation et que je trouve un travail régulier comme n'importe qui et que je commence à vivre ma vie comme n'importe qui d'autre»

Une vie normale comme n'importe qui d'autre... Après une ou deux années à Hollywood, il semble qu'ils ne souhaitent rien d'autre que ce qu'ils avaient fui à l'origine.

C'était une autre tragédie, offerte par les rues d'Hollywood.

"Ils vivaient leur mensonge - "River Phoenix ne peut avoir de problème de drogue. Il ne mange même pas de viande !"

Eh bien ! il ne mange plus rien maintenant...
"

- Paul Peterson


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Los Angeles

Florida

Dermot Mulroney

The Thing Called Love

Viper Room

Mike Waters

Scott Favor

Beverly Hills

Peter Sellers

Hollywood Kids

Hollywood Men

Hollywood Women

Robert Mitchum

John Wayne

Jackie Collins

Zsa Zsa Gabor

Paul Peterson

Jeff Stone

The Donna Reed Show

A Minor Consideration

Ron Davis
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Hollywood Kids


"From what I've seen and what I've experienced, and what I know that's out there - it's not for a child."

Along with Hollywood Men and Hollywood Women, this short documentary series that showcased present-day Hollywood turned to the town's younger generation for Hollywood Kids, which was to result in footage that was every bit as shocking as the previous shows in the series.

Numerous children of celebrities are interviewed including the granddaughter of Robert Mitchum and the daughters of John Wayne and Peter Sellers along with celebrities themselves such as Jackie Collins and Zsa Zsa Gabor. Local residents also contribute much to the show - "Everyone's trying to outdo each other," states one real estate agent describing the acutely competitive nature of Hollywood society. Along those lines, a Beverly Hills therapist sums the situation up with the statement that, if you live in Hollywood, "you're in a beauty contest from the day you dropped from your mother's womb."

Expanding on this, the show goes on to highlight that, at Beverly Hills High School for example, the quality of the cars to be found in the teacher's parking-lot pales into insignificance compared to the vehicles belonging to the students. To teachers, Hollywood kids are now saying, "Who are you? You can't be making more than $25,000 - $30,000 a year. My mother makes that in a day! Why should I possibly do your homework? Why should I listen to anything that you're saying?" At this point though, the show promptly changes direction and the program makers begin to demonstrate various results of that kind of logic. One of the first subjects they look at is drug abuse.

One contributor compares the drug scene in Los Angeles to that of the fashion philosophy that applies to clothes. The latest designer item comes in, and everybody's got to try it, and more accurately, be seen trying it. In what has become a quite vicious circle, that particular craze will then drop away, only for another one to immediately come along and take its place.

After about half an hour of the show, the next person to be interviewed is Paul Peterson. A former child-star himself, Peterson played the character of Jeff Stone in the situation comedy The Donna Reed Show which ran from 1958 through until 1966. His wisecracking but sensitive character quickly became a favorite with viewers and as a result Peterson became one of the very first "teen-idols". After experiencing this crushing phenomenon at first hand, Peterson later founded A Minor Consideration, a non-profit, charitable organization that offers help to celebrity kids who may be experiencing difficulties brought about by their celebrity status. Peterson recalls the time he approached River back in 1992 with an offer of help, only to have that offer immediately rejected.

Peterson then talks about the events the following year outside the Hollywood night-club, the Viper Room, and suggests that if someone at the scene had revealed just which drugs were involved, the paramedics might have been able to save River. This was an argument that occupied much of the media's attention back in November 1993 but whatever happened that night, it's hard to believe that such an antidote exists, one powerful enough to overcome not one, but eight lethal doses of heroin.

Also interviewed is an individual who was outside the Viper Room that night and witnessed the scene first hand, Ron Davis. Bearing a striking resemblance to The Thing Called Love's Dermot Mulroney, Davis is introduced as a "celebrity photographer" rather than a straight-forward member of the paparazzi, and in this case at least, this subtle distinction is well deserved. In what became a well-documented but nevertheless selfless act, Davis decided to put aside thoughts of his own career and chose not to take any photographs of the scene that was quickly unfolding before him that night. This was an act of thoughtfulness that was thousands of miles away, both figuratively and literally, from the act of desecration that was soon to take place in a Florida Funeral Home just a few days later.

Davis recalls how, as the tragedy of that night played out, both he and the other people at the scene almost began to look forward to River's seizures. "At least you knew he was still alive," he chillingly recalls.

Still obviously shocked by the events of that night, Davis seems frustrated by the lack of urgent action that failed to take place that evening. He recalls the Viper Room doorman, yelling at the River's group of friends to call the Emergency Services. Echoing Peterson's earlier comments and remembering the group's reply of "he's fine, he's fine," Davis talks about their "lying and making excuses for his reputation's sake. Even trying to protect him then - when he was dying."

After an abrupt commercial break, the subject matter then turns to prostitution at which point about half a dozen local prostitutes are interviewed as they work the streets. Some of them have opted for the "grunge look" whilst others are more clean cut and refer to themselves as "professional entertainers." Although the documentary demonstrates the fact that both this and the previous subject, drugs, are deeply connected, it is revealed that many of the young people working the Los Angeles streets are doing so for nothing more than the thrill of it. When someone talks about the logic of "I'm really getting Daddy now, because I'm for sale!" this attitude sounds vaguely familiar and it takes a few moments to place it. It comes as something of a surprise to realize that for the last few minutes, we have been looking at the real life Mike Waters and Scott Favor.

It's estimated that 10,000 runaways arrive in Hollywood every year. What these young children seek getting off the bus in downtown Hollywood is a million miles away from what they find themselves looking for a few months later, after the money has long since run out. "This is only a temporary thing for me," declares one young rent-boy, "until I get back on my feet and get a regular job like everybody else and start living my life like everybody else."

A regular life "like everybody else".... After a year or two in Hollywood, it's seems that they wish for nothing more than what they ran away from in the first place.

Yet another tragedy, courtesy of the streets of Hollywood.

"They were living the lie - 'You can't possibly have River Phoenix in trouble with a drug problem. He doesn't even eat meat!'

Well, he doesn't eat anything now....
"

- Paul Peterson


Previous Page

Next Page
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page