Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

John Phoenix

Nance Farm

Caracas

Fantasy

Explorers

Oregon

Florida

Dark Blood

Peter Bogdanovich

The Thing Called Love

Stand By Me

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Running on Empty

My Own Private Idaho

William Richert

Aleka's Attic

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Rob Reiner

Jason Presson

Wil Wheaton

Naomi Foner

Flea

Corey Feldman

Milton Nascimento

Udo Kier

Carta a um Jovem Ator

Sasa Raphael

A&E

John Griffin

Roy Nance

Stephen Wood
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Eclipsé par la mort... La vie de River Phoenix

Le producteur John Griffin prit contact avec Rio's Attic en mai 2000 pour nous informer de ce qu'il venait de réussir à obtenir l'accord des responsables du studio d'A&E pour la production d'un nouveau documentaire télévisé consacré à River, dans le cadre de la longue série Biography. Les recherches commençaient alors et, chose inhabituelle dans ce milieu, John se révéla sincère et digne de confiance. De fait, son désir de réaliser un documentaire soigné, qui respecte les plus hauts standards d'intégrité, semblait presque trop beau pour être vrai. Deux ans de travail furent nécessaires avant la diffusion de son travail. A lui seul le temps consacré aux recherches était un signe de la probable qualité de l'oeuvre.

Deux des acteurs qui partageaient avec River la vedette de Stand By Me s'impliquèrent dans ce projet. Wil Wheaton raconte l'histoire et Corey Feldman présente l'introduction et participe à l'émission. De manière surprenante, la narration de Wheaton est froide, sans conviction, et quelquefois elle s'apparente presque à de la condescendance. En revanche, Corey Feldman fait preuve d'un réel engagement, montrant une profonde admiration pour River. Dans un moment touchant de confession publique, il s'interroge sur l'injustice à ce qu'il soit toujours là, malgré son passé de drogué, alors que River n'est plus. Il est visiblement ému lors de la conclusion de l'émission et se fait un devoir d'expliquer la haute signification qu'il attache à sa participation au programme.

Le film lui-même commence par un retour en arrière en 1970. Le propriétaire d'une ferme de l'Oregon, Roy Nance, toujours prêt à donner des interviews, montre ce qu'il reste de la maison où naquit River. Ses années de jeunesse font d'ailleurs l'objet d'une longue investigation, alors que, selon notre propre expérience, beaucoup repose sur le ouï-dire et la conjecture que le mythe se mêle à la réalité. Les enquêteurs réussissent cependant à retrouver le père Stephen Wood, ce prêtre de Caracas qui prit en amitié la famille Phoenix, alors dans le besoin au Venezuela. Il fut celui qui organisa le retour de toute la famille en Floride et la confirmation de cet épisode est très agréable. Ce n'est que la première des surprises qui nous attendent.

Les enquêteurs se sont également procurés quelques clips aussi rares que celui de River avec Aleka's Attic au concert de 1989 du Rock contre la Fourrure ou bien la séquence d'une des premières interventions de River à la télévision - dans des reportages en extérieur pour l'émission pour enfants Fantasy en 1983. Bien que ce soit passionnant à regarder, on saute trop rapidement le reste de la carrière de River à la télévision.

Parmi d'autres extraits rarement présentés, nous pouvons voir une séquence de River jouant de la guitare avec Flea pendant le tournage de My Own Private Idaho et un représentant de PETA vient présenter des chutes intéressantes et amusantes provenant du tournage de l'annonce faite par River en faveur de cette organisation.

Jason Presson

On réussit à découvrir même l'insaisissable Jason Presson dont on recueille une interview, preuve du caractère exhaustif des recherches faites par les producteurs. La vedette d'Explorers décrit d'une manière vivante l'intensité de River et la profondeur avec laquelle il réfléchissait ainsi que le mode de vie de la famille Phoenix, si étranger à Hollywood.

D'autres qui travaillèrent avec River sont là également, comme Rob Reiner et William Richert, les réalisateurs de Stand By Me et de A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon, Naomi Foner, la scénariste de Running on Empty, Udo Kier, une des vedettes de My Own Private Idaho et Peter Bogdanovich, le réalisateur dehref="http://www.river-phoenix.org/fr/filmography/calledlove/">The Thing Called Love.

Le chanteur brésilien Milton Nascimento est aussi interviewé. Il chante sa chanson Carta a um Jovem Ator. Il fait écho aux observations faites par beaucoup d'autres en rappelant comment il fut sidéré par la force de caractère de River, son sérieux et sa volonté de tout étudier et de « prendre soin du monde ».


Sasa Raphael

Cependant, c'est Sasa Raphael, un des compagnons musiciens et ami très proche de River à la fin de sa vie, qui donne sans aucun doute le témoignage le plus sensible, le plus honnête et le plus poignant. Les documentaires consacrés à River par la télévision ont été de qualité diverse au cours des années, opportunistes, racoleurs et même à l'occasion n'hésitant pas à se situer au niveau du caniveau. Ici cependant, nous trouvons l'exact contraire. Sasa évoque son expérience directe, rappelant comment le père de River suppliait son fils d'arrêter le cinéma.

Il se souvient de River au supplice d'avoir à choisir et comment pendant une session d'enregistrement, celui-ci disait : « Je peux soit continuer de répéter pendant les trois prochains mois, soit m'envoler à L.A. et revenir avec un million de dollars. Qu'est-ce que je dois faire selon toi ? » Que River ait signé le contrat de Dark Blood puis qu'il soit parti peu après ne constitua pas une surprise. Il ne devait jamais revenir.

« Prendre une courte période et tenter d'expliquer toute une vie par cette seule courte période est le fait d'un esprit étroit, et ce n'est pas juste. »

- Sasa Raphael

Il se peut bien que ce documentaire soit le dernier à être produit pour la télévision. Cette remarque mise à part, on n'a peu de chance de se tromper en disant qu'aucun autre documentaire n'atteindra les mêmes sommets que celui-ci.


Page Précédente
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

John Phoenix

Nance Farm

Caracas

Fantasy

Explorers

Oregon

Florida

Dark Blood

Peter Bogdanovich

The Thing Called Love

Stand By Me

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Running on Empty

My Own Private Idaho

William Richert

Aleka's Attic

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Rob Reiner

Jason Presson

Wil Wheaton

Naomi Foner

Flea

Corey Feldman

Milton Nascimento

Udo Kier

Carta a um Jovem Ator

Sasa Raphael

A&E

John Griffin

Roy Nance

Stephen Wood
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Eclipsed By Death: The Life of River Phoenix


Producer John Griffin first contacted Rio's Attic in May 2000 with news that he had just managed to persuade the studio executives at A&E to authorize the production of a new television documentary about River as part of their long-running Biography series. Research into the program was now beginning and, unusual for those in his industry, John came across as remarkably genuine and trustworthy. In fact, his desire to produce what he promised would be a caring documentary and one that would be made with the highest standards of integrity sounded almost too good to be true. From those early plans, it was nearly two years before the documentary finally aired. With that much unrushed research apparently taking place, here was another sign that this documentary may just possibly turn out to be something special.

Two of River's Stand By Me co-stars were involved directly with the production of this project. Wil Wheaton narrates the documentary and Corey Feldman both introduces the show and takes part in it too. Surprisingly, Wheaton's narration is cold and with little or no sign of either warmth or conviction, even bordering on patronizing at times, but in contrast, Corey Feldman emanates a remarkable confidence showing as he does a deep admiration for River, and in a touching moment of public soul-searching, questions the injustice that, given his own history concerning narcotics abuse, how it is that he's still around, but River isn't. He appears visibly moved by the show's conclusion, and makes a point of explaining just how much it has meant to him to take part in and host this program.

The show itself begins by taking the audience back to 1970, and Oregon-based farm owner Roy Nance, who is always willing to give interviews it seems, shows the remains of the house where River was born. In fact, the show spends a surprising amount of time investigating River's early years, much of which, in our own experience, is found to be based on hearsay and conjecture and it's very difficult to separate fact from myth. The show's researchers successfully manage to track down Fr. Stephen Wood though, the Caracas priest who befriended the Phoenix family when they were in great financial difficulties in that country. He was the priest responsible for the family's safe return to Florida and it was most pleasing to see this story confirmed. In fact, this is the first surprise of many.

The show's researchers also manage to get hold of several rare clips such as River along with Aleka's Attic at the 1989 Rock Against Fur concert, as well as footage from one of River's earliest television jobs - presenting outside broadcast reports for the children's show Fantasy in 1983. This is great to see, but the rest of River's television career is subsequently skipped over and brushed aside far too quickly.

Other rarely seen items include footage of River and Flea jamming together with their guitars during the filming of My Own Private Idaho, and a PETA spokesperson who shows an interesting and amusing set of out-takes from when River filmed his public service announcement for the organization.

Jason Presson

When even the elusive Jason Presson is tracked down and gives an interview, it soon becomes apparent that the research and pre-production work invested in this documentary must have been particularly exhaustive. River's co-star from Explorers remembers vividly River's intensity, how deeply he used to think about things and how the Phoenix family never lived the Hollywood lifestyle.

Others who worked with River that are interviewed for this documentary include Stand By Me director Rob Reiner, A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon director William Richert, Running on Empty screenwriter, Naomi Foner, My Own Private Idaho co-star Udo Kier and The Thing Called Love director, Peter Bogdanovich.

Brazillian singer Milton Nascimento is also interviewed and sings his song, Carta a um Jovem Ator. Echoing the same observations that many others have made over the years, he recalls how he was taken aback by the strength of River's spirit, how River was always very serious, how he wanted to study everything and how he wanted to "take care of the world."


Sasa Raphael

However, it is fellow musician and one of River's closest friends towards the end of his life, Sasa Raphael who gives without a doubt the most sensitive, honest and poignant interview. Television documentaries about River have been of varying quality over the years, exploitive, sensationalist and occasionally even descending down into the level of the gutter. Here though, we have the complete opposite. Sasa recalls his experiences at first hand of River's father pleading with his son to give up the movie business.

He remembers River agonizing over the decision and how, during a session at the recording studio, River said, "I can either keep practicing for the next three months or I could fly to L.A. and come back with a million dollars. What do you think I should do?" Hardly surprisingly, River signed up to appear in Dark Blood, and soon left. He was never to return.

"To take a moment in time, and try to explain the whole existence of a person using one moment in time is extremely narrow minded, and it's not accurate."

- Sasa Raphael

It may very well be that this is the last television documentary that will be made about River. Regardless though, it's still a pretty safe assessment to say that never again will a documentary soar to the heights that this one does right at that moment.


Previous Page
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page