Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Explorers

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

Keanu Reeves

Belize

Lorimar Telepictures/Film Entertainment

Dan Aykroyd

Circle of Violence: A Family Drama

Chris Benfield

David Greene

William Wood

Christina Maria Hutter

Addie Benfield

Tuesday Weld

Georgia Benfield

Peter Benfield

Charlotte Kessling

Geraldine Fitzgerald

Peter Bonerz

Philip Sterling

Jim McLane

Zoaunne LeRoy

Florence McLane

Feeling Minnesota
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman

Circle of Violence: A Family Drama

LE CERCLE DE LA VIOLENCE :
UN DRAME FAMILIAL

Produit parLorimar Telepictures
Année1986
RéalisateurDavid Greene
ScénarioWilliam Wood



Tuesday Weld
Georgia Benfield


Geraldine Fitzgerald
Charlotte Kessling


Peter Bonerz
Pete Benfield


River Phoenix
Chris Benfield


Philip Sterling
Jim McLane


Zoaunne LeRoy
Florence McLane


Christina Maria Hutter
Addie Benfield


«On vivait dans des studios sans salle de bains, sans chauffage et quelquefois sans nourriture. Alors on faisait bouillir de l'eau et on mettait du sel et du poivre dedans et c'était notre dîner.»


Geraldine Fitzgerald fait le portrait d'une grand-mère qui doit s'installer chez sa fille récemment séparée et ses deux petits-enfants (River Phoenix, Christina Maria Hutter), enflammant des tensions depuis longtemps enterrées qui entrent violemment en éruption, dans LE CERCLE DE LA VIOLENCE : UN DRAME FAMILIAL.

Une nouveauté pour River, ce fut lui qui choisit ce scénario et le petit rôle de Chris Benfield, un personnage creux et superficiel qui ne présente pas de difficulté pour ses talents d'acteur. Cependant il est désireux de participer à ce projet car le script traite d'un sujet qu'il juge important - la violence subie par les personnes âgées, un sujet encore d'actualité aujourd'hui.

Mais River a des problèmes avec certains aspects du script. Des années plus tard, il se souviendra encore de ce film comme un de ceux où il avait à dire la pire réplique de toute sa carrière : «C'était quelque chose comme : "Maman, pourquoi nous ne pouvons-nous pas être une famille comme les autres et bien nous entendre ? Comme les autres familles s'entendent !"»

Revenir à la télévision après avoir travaillé sur des films comme Explorers et Stand By Me plait beaucoup à River. Circle of Violence: A Family Drama sera cependant sa dernière apparition dans un téléfilm. Une fois la réalisation achevée, il s'envole aussitôt pour le Belize afin de commencer The Mosquito Coast.

Pour cette description sensible et le traitement délicat d'un sujet bouleversant, le film remportera une Wise Owl Award et une Mention honorable en 1987.

En 1996, Tuesday Weld sera à nouveau une mère atteinte de dépression nerveuse - la mère du personnage joué par Keanu Reeves, le partenaire de River dans I Love You To Death et My Own Private Idaho, dans Feeling Minnesota. Dan Aykroyd, le partenaire de River dans Sneakers, fait également une apparition dans ce film.

«Je t'aime vraiment, Grand-Mère. Mais je ne veux pas que tu restes ici. Ce n'est pas ta faute. C'est juste ta manière d'être. Tu rends ma mère folle. Je ne la reconnais plus. Oui, j'ai peur d'elle. J'ai peur d'elle quand elle est près de toi.»


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Explorers

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

Keanu Reeves

Belize

Lorimar Telepictures/Film Entertainment

Dan Aykroyd

Circle of Violence: A Family Drama

Chris Benfield

David Greene

William Wood

Christina Maria Hutter

Addie Benfield

Tuesday Weld

Georgia Benfield

Peter Benfield

Charlotte Kessling

Geraldine Fitzgerald

Peter Bonerz

Philip Sterling

Jim McLane

Zoaunne LeRoy

Florence McLane

Feeling Minnesota
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman

Circle of Violence: A Family Drama

Released By:Lorimar Telepictures
Year:1986
Director:David Greene
Screenplay:William Wood



Tuesday Weld
as Georgia Benfield


Geraldine Fitzgerald
as Charlotte Kessling


Peter Bonerz
as Pete Benfield


River Phoenix
as Chris Benfield


Philip Sterling
as Jim McLane


Zoaunne LeRoy
as Florence McLane


Christina Maria Hutter
as Addie Benfield


"We lived in one-room apartments with no bathroom, no heat and sometimes no food. So we'd boil some water and put pepper and salt in it, and that'd be our dinner."


Geraldine Fitzgerald portrays a grandmother who must move in with her recently separated daughter and two grandchildren, (River Phoenix, Christina Maria Hutter), igniting long-buried tensions that erupt in violence, in CIRCLE OF VIOLENCE: A FAMILY DRAMA.

In a departure for River, he chose this script and a small part as Chris Benfield, an empty, shallow character that presented no great challenge to his acting abilities. He was keen to take part in this project however because the script dealt with what he felt was such an important subject - the abuse of the elderly, a problem that is still widespread even today.

River still had problems with some aspects of the script. Several years later he would still recall the movie as the one where he had the worst line of dialogue to deliver in his entire career. "It was something like, 'Mom, why can't we be like most families and get along?' Like most families get along!" he said.

By all accounts, River enjoyed returning to television after working on the movies Explorers and Stand By Me. Circle of Violence: A Family Drama would, however, be River's final appearance in a made-for-TV movie. As soon as production had wrapped on this project, he flew straight out to Belize to begin work on The Mosquito Coast.

For its sensitive portrayal and delicate handling of such a heart-wrenching subject, this movie would win a Wise Owl Award and Honourable Mention in 1987.


In 1996, Tuesday Weld starred as another mother stressed to breaking point - the mother of the character played by River's I Love You To Death and My Own Private Idaho co-star Keanu Reeves in Feeling Minnesota. In addition, River's co-star from Sneakers, Dan Aykroyd, also appears in this movie.

"I do love you Grandma. I just don't want you here. It's not your fault - it's just the way you are. You drive my mother crazy. I don't know her anymore. Yes, I'm afraid of her. I'm afraid of her when she's around you."


Previous Page

Next Page
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page