Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Celebrity

Little Nikita

My Own Private Idaho

Jerry Hardin

Malibu

Paul Wendkos

William Hanley

Jeffie Crawford

Peter Nelson

Ned Beatty

James Whitmore Jr.

Mackenzie Crawford

Susan French

Michael Beck

T.J. Luther

Joseph Bottoms

Ben Masters

Kleber Cantrell

Clifford Casey

Tess Harper

Karen Austin

Ceil Shannon

Otto Leo

Dinah Manoff

Missy Craymore

Jennifer Warren

Martha Dalton

Hal Holbrook

Calvin Sledge

Bonnie Bartlett

Mabel Hofmeyer

Anne Haney

Rhonda Dotson
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Celebrity

CELEBRITE

Produit parNBC
Année1984
RéalisateurPaul Wendkos
ScénarioWilliam Hanley



Michael Beck
T.J. Luther


Joseph Bottoms
Mack Crawford


Ben Masters
Kleber Cantrell


James Whitmore
Clifford Casey


Tess Harper
Susan French


Karen Austin
Ceil Shannon


Ned Beatty
Otto Leo


Dinah Manoff
Missy Craymore


Jennifer Warren
Martha Dalton


Hal Holbrook
Calvin Sledge


Bonnie Bartlett
Mabel Hofmeyer


Anne Haney
Millie


Rhonda Dotson
Sister Crystal


Peter Nelson
Jeffie Crawford


«Il n'y a pas une chose sur Terre que je puisse nommer
si stupide et si fausse que la renommée.
»

Bien qu'il ait été nommé pour le Prix Edgar Allan Poe après sa première diffusion, le téléfilm Celebrity (Célébrité) a depuis lors été oublié et rejeté dans les oubliettes de l'histoire de la télévision. On peut y remarquer la présence du partenaire de River dans Little Nikita, Jerry Hardin dans une de ses premières apparitions télévisées, mais, à part lui, aucune des vedettes de ce film n'aura ultérieurement de succès notable.

A l'exception d'une d'entre elles.

Personne ne peut se douter qu'un de ces acteurs est destiné à devenir une superstar internationale d'Hollywood. Bien sûr, la célébrité et la fortune attendront encore deux années. Avec une distribution aussi nombreuse, personne ne peut prévoir que l'individu en question est en fait le petit garçon qui fait des châteaux de sable sur la plage.

Après le déraillement de sa jeune carrière à cause de la suppression de Seven Brides for Seven Brothers au bout d'une seule saison, River sera remis sur la voie en empochant le rôle d'un garçon de onze ans, Jeffie Crawford, dans son premier téléfilm.

Le personnage de River deviendra essentiel à l'intrigue du film, bizarre et pleine de suspense, mais on ne le voit à l'écran qu'environ dix minutes, avant que le scénario ne fasse un bond de sept ans dans le futur où le personnage plus âgé de Jeffie est repris par Peter Nelson.

Néanmoins, c'est à River que revient de lancer une des intrigues-clés de l'histoire. Pendant qu'il est à Malibu, Jeffie rentre à l'improviste de la plage et découvre son père faisant l'amour avec un autre homme.

Ne vous méprenez pas, la réalisation n'a rien à voir ici avec My Own Private Idaho. Tournant dans les années 80, le réalisateur choisira de montrer simplement une main sur une épaule pour indiquer ce qui vient de se passer. La manière dont les choses ont évolué en seulement six ans est assez remarquable...

Quand sa mère rentre à la maison, elle sent tout de suite que quelque chose ne va pas. «Qu'est-ce qui ne va pas ? Qu'est-ce qui se passe ?» demande-t-elle. River n'a plus rien à dire dans le script. Il n'en a pas besoin - son expression suffit à transmettre aux spectateurs les sentiments profonds de son personnage. Comme il le fera toujours.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Celebrity

Little Nikita

My Own Private Idaho

Jerry Hardin

Malibu

Paul Wendkos

William Hanley

Jeffie Crawford

Peter Nelson

Ned Beatty

James Whitmore Jr.

Mackenzie Crawford

Susan French

Michael Beck

T.J. Luther

Joseph Bottoms

Ben Masters

Kleber Cantrell

Clifford Casey

Tess Harper

Karen Austin

Ceil Shannon

Otto Leo

Dinah Manoff

Missy Craymore

Jennifer Warren

Martha Dalton

Hal Holbrook

Calvin Sledge

Bonnie Bartlett

Mabel Hofmeyer

Anne Haney

Rhonda Dotson
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Celebrity

Released By:NBC
Year:1984
Director:Paul Wendkos
Screenplay:William Hanley



Michael Beck
as T.J. Luther


Joseph Bottoms
as Mack Crawford


Ben Masters
as Kleber Cantrell


James Whitmore
as Clifford Casey


Tess Harper
as Susan French


Karen Austin
as Ceil Shannon


Ned Beatty
as Otto Leo


Dinah Manoff
as Missy Craymore


Jennifer Warren
as Martha Dalton


Hal Holbrook
as Calvin Sledge


Bonnie Bartlett
as Mabel Hofmeyer


Anne Haney
as Millie


Rhonda Dotson
as Sister Crystal


Peter Nelson
as Jeffie Crawford


"There's not a thing on Earth that I can name,
so foolish and so false as common fame.
"

Despite being nominated for an Edgar Allan Poe Award after it was first aired, the made-for-television movie Celebrity has long since been forgotten and cast aside in the wilderness of television history. Little Nikita co-star Jerry Hardin can be spotted in an early television appearance but other than that, none of the stars of this movie went on to notable success.

All except one of them that is.

No one could have known that one of these performers was destined to become an international Hollywood super-star. Fame and fortune were indeed but a couple of years away. With such a large number of cast members, no one could have possibly foreseen that the individual in question would in fact be the little boy on the beach building sandcastles.

After the temporary derailing of his new career as a result of the cancellation after just one season of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers, River would get back on track after winning the part of eleven-year-old Jeffie Crawford in this, his very first TV-movie.

River's character would become central to the bizarre and suspenseful movie plot but he would be seen on screen for a matter of only ten minutes or so before the story would leap forward seven years whereupon the character of a much older Jeffie would be taken over by Peter Nelson.

Nevertheless, it is for River to initiate one of the story's key plot-lines. Whilst staying in Malibu, Jeffie unexpectedly returns from the beach and discovers his father making love to another man.

Make no mistake about it, this production is certainly no My Own Private Idaho. Filmed in the mid-eighties, the director would choose to simply let a hand resting on a shoulder indicate what was about to happen. It is quite remarkable just how things would change so quickly in only six years....

When his mother returns home, she immediately senses something is not right. "What's wrong? What's happened?" she asks, very concerned. By now though, River has no more lines left in the script. He doesn't need any - his expression alone quickly conveys his characters' innermost feelings to the audience. Just like it would always do.


Previous Page
This page dedicated to the generosity of the people of Ireland.
Next Page
Phoenix TV Rio's Attic Home Page