Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Rain Phoenix

Dark Blood

Music Hobby

The Thing Called Love

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Island Records

Flea

Josh Greenbaum

In Defense of Animals 2

Bjork

Elastica

Note to a Friend

Pro-Media Studios

Red Hot Chili Peppers

Monkey on Rico

Thermadore

Everything's Alright

Sasa Raphael

Never Odd or Even
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of River Phoenix
Seite 5
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman

Nachdem die Arbeit an The Thing Called Love beendet war, kam River nach Gainesville zurück, wo Aleka's Attic ihn aber praktisch aus der Band verbannt hatten. River war wieder einmal alleine, und er musste seine Lieder alleine mit seiner Gitarre und seiner Stimme komponieren, ähnlich wie bevor er die Band gegründet hatte.

Auch Island Records hatten das Interesse an Aleka's Attic verloren, so dass River beschloss, sein eigenes Geld zu investieren, um seinen Traum zu verwirklichen: ein eigenes Album herauszubringen. Auf die Zeit als Chef Aufnahme Engineur und Co-Produzierende von diesem Projekt zurückblinkend, sagt Sasa Raphael: "Ich weiß, wie sehr er seine Musik teilen wollte. Es war sein Traum und Wunsch diese Musik mit all seinen Fans und Freunden auf der ganzen Welt zu teilen." Um diesen Traum zu verwirklichen, arbeitete River achtzehn Stunden am Tag, schrieb Song für Song mit fanatischer Energie bis zur Erschöpfung. Viele der anwesenden Personen im Plattenstudio hatten das Gefühl, dass River wusste, dass die Zeit ablief.

Als River starb, war nicht nur Dark Blood so kurz vor der Fertigstellung. Auch "Never Odd or Even" - das erste und einzige, ganz produzierte, eigene Album, das River jemals aufgenommen war so gut wie fertig. Raphael, der auch Bass auf dem Album spielte, sagte: "Wir arbeiteten sehr hart an diesem Album und der Ertrag war unglaublich. Ich habe mir die Musik angehört, und die Musik spricht für sich selbst. Als Riv zu seinem letzten schicksalhaften Ausflug nach Westen ging, hatten wir schon das ganze Zeug fertig und aufgenommen, minus ein paar Loops und noch ein paar zusätzliche coole Samples. Alles was noch gemacht werden musste, war die ganze Sache zu mixen."

Es hat nicht sollen sein und kein Album wurde jemals veröffentlicht. Sofort nach dem Tod von River wurden die Mastertapes für Never Odd or Even wurde beschlagnahmt und weggesperrt.

Natürlich ist nicht alles verloren, da man immer noch die einzelnen verschiedenen Aleka's Attic tracks auf den Stiftungs Alben findet, für die River und die Band ihren Beitrag gegeben haben. Das bekannteste und am leichtesten zu erhaltende ist In Defense of Animals 2. Diese CD enthält 17 Tracks die u.a. von Björk und Elastica sind. Track Nr. 15 stammt von Aleka's Attic - ein Lied, das einfach "Note to a Friend". River spielt Gitarre und singt die Hauptstimme zusammen mit seiner Schwester Rain. Josh Greenbaum spielt Schlagzeug und Flea von den Red Hot Chili Peppers den Bass.

Unter Acquiring Phoenix hat man die Möglichkeit, diese CD zu bestellen.

Rivers Innenschrift mit den Widmungen des Songs sind:

Vielen Dank an die beiden Leute, die das möglich gemacht haben,
Mama und Papa,

- und Sky, der Engel, Michael, Wok, Acacia, Liberty, Summer,
Samantha, Bobby, Jeremy, Brian, Margaret
and an alle Leute, die in den Pro-Media Studios geholfen haben.

Rain hat seit dem Tod ihres Bruders ihre Interesse in der Musik fortgesetzt und fährt regelmäßig damit fort zu singen. Sie unterstützte die Band Thermadore mit der Hauptstimme auf Track 9 des 1996 erschienenen Albums Monkey on Rico. Auch ist ihre wunderschöne Stimme auf Track 11, in dem bezaubernden Lied Everything's Alright zu hören.


Vorherige Seite
Phoenix Music Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Rain Phoenix

Dark Blood

Music Hobby

The Thing Called Love

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Island Records

Flea

Josh Greenbaum

In Defense of Animals 2

Bjork

Elastica

Note to a Friend

Pro-Media Studios

Red Hot Chili Peppers

Monkey on Rico

Thermadore

Everything's Alright

Sasa Raphael

Never Odd or Even
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
Page Five
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman


After work on The Thing Called Love was finished, River returned to Gainesville but by now Aleka's Attic had practically disbanded and River found himself alone and left to write his songs with just his guitar and voice, much like he had before he formed the band.

Island Records had also lost interest in the band so River chose to invest his own money so that he could realize his life-long ambition and put out an album of his own. Recalling his time as chief recording engineer and co-producer on this project Sasa Raphael remembers "I know how much he wanted to share his music. It was his dream and desire to share this music with all of his fans and friends world-wide." To achieve this dream, River worked eighteen-hour days writing song after song in bursts of frantic energy often working himself to the point of exhaustion. A number of the people present at the recording studio got the impression that River knew time was running out.

When River died, it was not just the movie Dark Blood that was so very close to completion. "Never Odd or Even" - the first and only, fully produced, full-length album that River ever recorded was also practically completed as well. Says Raphael, who also played bass on the album, "We worked very hard on this album and the outcome was amazing. I have listened to the music and the music speaks for itself. When Riv left on his last fateful trip westward, we had already recorded the whole thing, minus some vocal work we had planned and some cool samples and loops we had intended to record, and all that was left was to mix it."

It was not to be though and no album was ever released. Immediately following River's death, the master tapes for Never Odd or Even were seized and locked away.

All is not lost however as it is still possible to find the odd Aleka's Attic track on the various charity albums that River and the band donated material for. The most common one, which can still be purchased relatively easily, is the benefit compilation album In Defense of Animals 2. This release features seventeen tracks donated by artists such as Björk and Elastica. Track 15 is by Aleka's Attic - a song simply called "Note to a Friend". River plays guitar and sings vocals along with his sister Rain, Josh Greenbaum plays drums with Flea of Red Hot Chili Peppers on bass.

See Acquiring Phoenix for details about obtaining this CD.

River's inscription with regard to the song reads:

Special thanks to the two people who made this possible,
mommy and daddy,

- and Sky, the Angel, Michael, Wok, Acacia, Liberty, Summer,
Samantha, Bobby, Jeremy, Brian, Margaret
and all the guys who helped at Pro-Media Studios.

Rain has maintained her interest in music since the death of her brother and continues to sing regularly. She is credited as singing lead vocals on track 9 of the 1996 album Monkey on Rico by the band Thermadore. In fact, her breath-takingly beautiful voice can be enjoyed on track 11 singing a charming song entitled Everything's Alright.


Previous Page
Phoenix Music Rio's Attic Home Page