Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Music Hobby

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

K.D. Lang

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Sue Solgot

Martha Plimpton

Mutley Chix

Across the Way

Tame Yourself

R.E.M., REM
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of River Phoenix
Seite 2
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman

Weihnachten 1988 gaben Aleka's Attic ihr erstes Konzert in Gainsville. Die Band kriegte eine Standing Ovation und River beschloss, die Gruppe auf eine sechswöchige "East Coast" Tour im neuen Jahr mitzunehmen. Doch diese geriet bald außer Kontrolle, als hunderte von jungen Mädchen zu jeder Show aufkreuzten, um River statt die Band ansich selbst. Von da an wurde es vermieden, Rivers Namen als Werbung für die Shows zu nehmen.


Aleka's Attic

Zu dieser Zeit, mit einer auseinandergehenden Beziehung mit Martha Plimpton, vertiefte sich River in seine Musik und spielte in Nachtclubs bei Gainesville bis in die frühen Morgenstunden. In diesen Kreisen würde River seine zweite Freundin, Suzanne Solgot kennenlernen, die in einer Mädchen-Punk Band spielte; Mutley Chix genannt.

In 1990, nahmen Aleka's Attic einen Song mit dem Namen Across the Way für ein Album Tame Yourself auf, dessen Erlös für Rivers Lieblings Stiftung PETA gehen würde. Unter anderem lieferten auch R.E.M. und kd lang Material für das Album.


Vorherige Seite

Nächste Seite
Phoenix Music Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Music Hobby

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

K.D. Lang

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Sue Solgot

Martha Plimpton

Mutley Chix

Across the Way

Tame Yourself

R.E.M., REM
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
Page Two
American EnglishEn FrançaisGerman

During Christmas of 1988, Aleka's Attic gave their first concert in Gainesville. The band got a standing ovation and River decided to take the band on a six-week East Coast tour in the New Year. The tour soon became out of control when hundreds of young girls turned up at each show to mob River despite the venue organizers being contractually prevented from using River's name to promote the shows.


Aleka's Attic

By this time, with his relationship with Martha Plimpton breaking up, River immersed himself in his music and played in night-clubs around Gainesville until the early hours every weekend. It would be in these circles that River would meet his second girlfriend, Suzanne Solgot who played in an all-girl punk band called Mutley Chix.

In 1990, Aleka's Attic recorded a song Across the Way for an album Tame Yourself, the proceeds of which would be used to benefit River's favourite charity PETA. Also providing material were R.E.M. and k.d. lang amongst others.


Previous Page

Next Page
Phoenix Music Rio's Attic Home Page