Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Iris Burton

Florida

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Little Nikita

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

William Richert

Micanopy

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Sue Solgot

Martha Plimpton

Jeff Grant

Sidney Poitier

Island Pictures

Jimmy Reardon

Tom Cruise

Island Records

Sidney Lumet

Danny Pope

New York

Costa Rica

Academy Awards

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Risky Business

Payne's Prairie
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

«Dis-moi comment je peux vivre sans toi
Alors que je t'aime depuis si longtemps,
Comment pourrai-je vivre sans toi
Et comment pourrai-je continuer...
»

River a maintenant seize ans et Iris Burton est confrontée à la difficulté de faire évoluer son client des rôles d'enfant vers ceux d'adulte. Dans ce qui semble être le scénario parfait pour cela, River doit jouer son premier rôle comme tête d'affiche dans A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon (Jimmy Reardon) de William Richert. Excité par ce projet, River le compare au film Risky Business qui avait lancé avec succès la carrière adulte de Tom Cruise. Seul le père de River voit le dommage potentiel que ce personnage peut causer à la carrière de son fils. Ce sera seulement après la sortie du film que River l'admettra : «Le personnage trompait les gens, il ne s'intéressait qu'à lui-même et traversait la vie sans but. C'était un type complètement nul.» Présentant toutefois un résultat positif du film, River ajoutera : «C'est avec Jimmy Reardon qu'on a connu pour la première fois une situation financière stable. C'est alors qu'on a acheté pour la première fois une voiture qui n'était ni usagée ni vieille.»

Comme il joue de la guitare sur le plateau et compose même une éventuelle mélodie pour le film, River est remarqué par Island Records, société soeur de Island Pictures qui distribue A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon. Obtenant le soutien financier du studio, River se met à écrire quelques chansons et pense à former un groupe.

Dans une tentative probable pour éliminer l'image de son précédent personnage, le rôle suivant de River sera le contraire absolu de Jimmy Reardon - celui de Jeff Grant, un Américain patriote, pur et honnête dans le film Little Nikita. Pendant le tournage, qui commence en 1987, River entame une très longue amitié avec son partenaire, l'acteur expérimenté Sidney Poitier.

1987 voit River venir à New York où il retrouve son amie Martha Plimpton et le couple commence à travailler ensemble sur Running On Empty (A bout de Course) de Sidney Lumet. Jouer le personnage de Danny Pope, qui n'a jamais eu d'enfance stable et qui désire ardemment une vie normale, séduit beaucoup River. «J'étais vraiment intéressé, il y avait là un rapport avec moi» dira-t-il «Je pense que c'est pour cela que le scénario de Running m'a séduit dès le début.»

Toutefois, le désir de John Phoenix de voir son fils quitter Hollywood grandit alors comme jamais. Les intentions originelles de la famille étaient de prôner un mode de vie pur, respectueux de l'environnement et le métier du spectacle devait être utilisé comme véhicule pour atteindre ce but. Mais Phoenix senior est préoccupé par le fait que non seulement cette mission mais aussi sa famille sont alors en danger imminent d'être corrompues par Hollywood. River dit au cours d'une interview : «Mon père est inquiet car ce travail est plein de pièges et de tentations et peut nous détruire. Il ne veut pas qu'on devienne matérialistes et qu'on perde les valeurs dans lesquelles on nous a élevés.»

Passant un compromis avec Arlyn et River qui, avec passion, veut continuer à jouer, John emmène encore une fois sa famille toujours plus loin d'Hollywood. Cette fois, c'est à l'autre bout du pays, dans la ville de Gainesville dans les terres marécageuses de Floride. Là, dans un anonymat relatif, River commence à faire l'expérience de cette «vie normale» à laquelle il a tellement aspiré. Il se fait de nouveaux amis dans le voisinage et se met en tête de former le groupe de rock qu'il s'était promis de constituer l'année précédente. Après une interview de River, le magazine Première écrira : «On a du mal à ne pas être touché par ce beau garçon aux prises avec de graves questions morales. Surestimer l'impact de la situation de la famille Phoenix sur sa capacité à jouer est difficile. Les Phoenix sont une équipe, une tribu, un ensemble de convictions. River peut se perdre dans un rôle parce que sa famille constitue pour lui un noyau physique, émotionnel et spirituel.»

Dès son arrivée, la famille loue une grande maison près de Gainesville au bord d'une grande prairie marécageuse - Payne's Prairie, baptisée d'après le Séminole King Payne, un indigène ayant vécu au début du 19ème siècle. Mais la famille déménage finalement dans un ranch de huit hectares à Micanopy, un village situé à 20 kilomètres de Gainesville. «C'est vraiment bien d'être chez soi. C'est bon de se fixer, de vivre en famille et de voir comment c'est en vrai.» dit River. «Je n'ai jamais voulu de ces caprices coûteux comme les grosses voitures ou de la vanité d'arriver à l'école avec de beaux habits. Je voulais de l'argent pour qu'on puisse acheter un grand bout de terre et être indépendants. Ça, ça m'impressionne et je l'apprécie - C'est comme si on avait accompli quelque chose.»


Les imitations de Scooby-Doo
et de Shaggy
par River et Joaquin
étaient, de l'avis de tout le monde,
hilarantes...

Dans le cadre détendu de son nouveau foyer, River peut juger objectivement de sa carrière et il décide que le temps d'un changement est venu. «Je veux juste me dépouiller de ma vieille peau et travailler sur de la matière réelle et des vrais gens.» précise-t-il alors. «J'aimerais faire quelque chose de significatif sans que ce soit vulgaire et banal. Quelque chose qui soit vraiment sincère, qui ait de la forme et de la force.» Dans une démarche qui dut plaire à ses parents, River commence à montrer un intérêt profond pour les droits de l'homme et les problèmes écologiques. «Je veux faire des séminaires éducatifs» dit-il «Sans parti pris, très neutres, exposant des questions importantes qui sont négligées - de l'oppression politique à la prise de conscience des problèmes de l'environnement et de l'atmosphère, en essayant de montrer à tous où résident aujourd'hui les priorités de l'Amérique.» La mère de River organise avec succès plusieurs séminaires de prise de conscience dans la région et River commence à donner des conférences notamment dans les écoles des alentours.

Après un petit rôle dans Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (Indiana Jones et la dernière Croisade), River emmène son nouveau groupe rock Aleka's Attic («le Grenier d'Aleka») en tournée. C'est pendant une de ces tournées qu'il apprend qu'il est nommé pour l'Oscar du Meilleur Second Rôle pour sa performance dans Running On Empty (A bout de course). En mars 1989, il assiste donc à la 61ème cérémonie des Academy Awards à Los Angeles avec sa mère et son amie. A l'été cependant, leur relation prend fin et River commence de travailler à son projet suivant, I Love You to Death (Je t'aime à te tuer).

Une fois revenu chez lui, River met tous ses efforts dans son groupe de rock. Il rencontre à cette époque sa deuxième amie Sue Solgot. Comprenant qu'il est temps de quitter la propriété familiale, River trouve un appartement pour tous les deux à Gainesville. Bien qu'il soit toujours très dévoué pour partager les responsabilités familiales avec sa femme, le père de River quitte également, non seulement le ranch, mais aussi le pays. River lui achète un refuge au Costa Rica, ce que son père a toujours désiré.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Le Vol du Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Iris Burton

Florida

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Little Nikita

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

William Richert

Micanopy

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Sue Solgot

Martha Plimpton

Jeff Grant

Sidney Poitier

Island Pictures

Jimmy Reardon

Tom Cruise

Island Records

Sidney Lumet

Danny Pope

New York

Costa Rica

Academy Awards

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Risky Business

Payne's Prairie
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

"Tell me how am I supposed to live without you
Now that I've been loving you so long
How am I supposed to live without you
And how am I supposed to carry on....
"

River was now sixteen-years-old and Iris Burton faced the difficult task of moving her client away from childhood parts towards that of full adult roles. In what seemed like the perfect script to achieve this, River would be cast in his first top-billing role in William Richert's A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon. Excited by this project, River compared it with the film Risky Business which had successfully launched Tom Cruise's adult career. Only River's father saw the potential damage that playing the character could do to his son's career. It was only after the movie was released that River said, "The character was abusive to people, only out for himself, walking aimlessly through life. He was a jerk." Describing one positive result of the movie though, River said, "Jimmy Reardon is when we first had financial stability. That's when we bought a car that wasn't used or old."

After playing guitar on set and composing a possible theme tune for the movie, River was noticed by Island Records, sister-company of Island Pictures, the distributors of A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon. With financial backing from the studio, River began to write some songs and thought about putting a band together.

In what was perhaps an attempt to cancel out the image of his previous character, River's next role would be the complete opposite of Jimmy Reardon - that of honest, clean, patriotic American Jeff Grant, in the movie Little Nikita. During production, which began in January 1987, River began a long-lasting friendship with veteran actor and co-star Sidney Poitier.

1987 saw River arriving in New York City where he would meet up with his girlfriend Martha Plimpton and together the pair would begin work on Sidney Lumet's Running On Empty. Playing the character of Danny Pope, who had never had a stable childhood and longed for a normal life, was something that appealed very much to River. "I was really interested, there's a connection there," he said. "I think that's why the Running script appealed to me from the start."

By now though, John Phoenix's desire that his son should leave Hollywood was growing ever more stronger. The family's original intentions were to preach clean living, in a way that does not harm the environment and the entertainment business was to be used as a vehicle to achieve that goal. But the senior Phoenix was worried that not only this mission but also the family itself were now in imminent danger of being corrupted by Hollywood. "My father is worried that we could be ruined by this business," said River once during an interview. "It's got a lot of pitfalls and temptations, and he doesn't want us to become materialistic and lose the values we were brought up believing in."

Settling for a compromise with Arlyn and River who still felt passionately about acting, John once again moved his family still further away from Hollywood. This time, in fact, to the other side of the country to the town of Gainesville deep in the swampland of Florida. Here, in relative anonymity, River finally began to experience that "normal life" that he so longed for. He made many friends in the area and set his mind to forming the rock-band that he had promised himself he would do a year earlier. Following an interview with River, Premiere magazine wrote, "It's hard not to be touched by this beautiful boy struggling with grave moral issues. The impact of Phoenix's family situation on his ability to perform is difficult to overestimate. The Phoenixes are a team, a tribe, a set of beliefs. River can lose himself in a role because his family provides him with a physical, emotional and spiritual center."

Initially on their arrival, the family rented a large home on the outskirts of Gainesville on the banks of a large prairie swamp - Payne's Prairie, named after the early 1800's Seminole (Native American), King Payne. Eventually though, the family would move into a ranch with a twenty-acre estate in Micanopy, a small settlement 19 kilometers from Gainesville. "It feels so good to be home. It feels good to settle down and live in a family and see what it really is like," said River. "I never wanted the wealthy fantasies of limousines or the pride of arriving at school in nice clothes. I wanted money so we could buy a great piece of land and be self-contained. That impresses me, that really feels good. It feels like something's been accomplished."


River and Joaquin's Scooby-Doo
and Shaggy
impersonations
were, by all accounts, hilarious....

In the relaxing environment of his new home, River looked objectively at his career and decided it was time for a change. "I just want to shed the old skin and work on real stuff about real people," he said at the time. "I'd like to do something that is significant without being blatant and corny. Something that's real candid and has a lot of form and strength." In a move that must have pleased his parents, River also began to take a much keener interest in human rights and environmental issues. "I want to give educational seminars," he said. "All very unbiased, all very neutral, reporting on important issues that are overlooked - from political oppression to an awareness of what's going on with the environment and the atmosphere and trying to show them where America's priorities lie as of now." River's mother organized several successful awareness seminars in the area and River began to give talks at venues such as the local school, for example.

After completing his small role in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, River began taking his new band Aleka's Attic on tour. It was whilst on the road on one such tour that he heard he had been nominated for an Oscar as Best Supporting Actor for his performance in Running On Empty. In March 1989, he attended the 61st Academy Awards ceremony in Los Angeles with his mother and girlfriend. By the summer though, that relationship had come to an end and River began working on his next project, I Love You to Death.

Upon his return home, River put his efforts back into his rock-band and it was around this time that he met his second girlfriend Sue Solgot. Feeling that it was time to move out of the family estate, River found an apartment for the two of them back in Gainesville. Although still very much committed to sharing the parental responsibilities with his wife, River's father would also move, not only out of the ranch, but out of the country altogether. River bought him a retreat in Costa Rica, something his father had always longed for.


Previous Page

Next Page
Flight of the Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page