Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

John Phoenix

Los Angeles

Iris Burton

Oregon

Florida

Dark Blood

Samantha Mathis

Dogfight

The Thing Called Love

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

Interview With The Vampire

Mike Waters

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Sue Solgot

Keanu Reeves

Utah

Seattle

Portland

Tom Cruise

New York

Anne Rice

Costa Rica

Pro-Media Studios

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism

Humanitarian Award

Rome

Italy

Chicago

Miami

Nashville
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

«As-tu jamais su que tu étais mon héros ?
Tu étais le vent sous mes ailes...
»

La tête rasée, River se rend à Seattle pour tourner Dogfight en mai 1990, avant de se lancer dans un autre rôle qui, espère-t-il, l'aidera à se débarrasser une bonne fois pour toutes de son image d'idole pour adolescents. Jouer le personnage de Mike Waters dans My Own Private Idaho exige une recherche considérable de sa part. Passant leurs nuits dans les rues de Portland, Keanu Reeves et lui y observent directement la prostitution de rue. «Pour nous c'était vraiment formidable» dira River plus tard. «On se mettait dans la peau des personnages. On traînait simplement. Les autres devaient penser : "Voilà un mec qu'essaie de piquer ma place sur le trottoir". Dans la rue, c'est la fraternité. Chacun surveille ce qui se passe dans le dos de l'autre parce que personne ne tient à retrouver son voisin poignardé.» River quitte le plateau de My Own Private Idaho pour quelques jours afin de recevoir le Prix Humanitaire de PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals (Association pour le Traitement éthique des Animaux) en récompense de ses efforts importants pour recueillir des fonds pour cette organisation. River et le reste de l'équipe d'Idaho s'envolent ensuite pour Rome afin de filmer les scènes italiennes du film.

Au retour de River en Floride, Aleka's Attic entame ce qui sera sa plus longue tournée, donnant des concerts dans des endroits comme New-York, Chicago et Miami. Sue Solgot reste seule à Gainesville. «Ça craint et ça craint pas parce que ça nous donne de l'espace», dit-elle à l'époque.

A vingt et un ans, River est devenu un des principaux jeunes acteurs d'Hollywood recevant plusieurs millions de dollars par film. Il est devenu riche au-delà de ses rêves les plus fous. «On m'offre un tas de choses» dit-il dans une interview à l'époque. «Et bien sûr, on hésite quand on vous dit au téléphone : "Vous ne faites pas ça pour deux, bon alors est-ce que trois ça vous irait ?" Mais après, quand le film sort, on se dit "dis donc, je suis heureux de ne pas avoir fait ça !" Non, ça ne vaut vraiment pas le coup. Tout est dans le scénario et dans le fait que j'y crois

Pour le rôle suivant, l'agent de River négocie un contrat lucratif pour qu'il apparaisse dans le film à suspense et à gros budget Sneakers (Les Experts). A la suite de cela, il achètera plus de 300 hectares de forêt tropicale, simplement pour la mettre à l'abri de la déforestation.

Au milieu de 1992, la relation de River et de Sue Solgot touche à sa fin et c'est pendant qu'il se trouve à Los Angeles et à Nashville sur les plateaux de The Thing Called Love qu'il tombe amoureux de sa partenaire Samantha Mathis. Cette relation durera jusqu'à la fin de sa vie.

Après avoir achevé The Thing Called Love, River réunit Aleka's Attic pour ce qui sera la dernière fois. A ses frais, il loue le Studio d'enregistrement Pro Media de Gainesville et le groupe se met à enregistrer un grand nombre de chansons. Cependant, beaucoup de pistes resteront à l'état brut et inachevées.

Le projet suivant de River doit être Interview With The Vampire (Entretien avec un Vampire), mais quand on donne à Tom Cruise le rôle que l'écrivain Anne Rice veut voir tenu par River, les critiques publiques de celle-ci contre le studio provoquent l'arrêt de tout le projet pour plusieurs mois. La tournure des événements permet à River, qui vient de fêter son vingt-troisième anniversaire, de se joindre aux autres enfants Phoenix pour rendre visite à leur père au Costa Rica. John Phoenix va ouvrir son restaurant végétalien et il profite de cette visite pour faire une ultime tentative afin de persuader non seulement River, mais aussi tous ses enfants de quitter le monde du cinéma. «Je me suis rendu compte que les choses allaient de travers» dira John de son fils aîné. «Je voyais qu'Hollywood le mangeait tout cru, le saignait à blanc.»

River est séduit à l'idée de travailler dans une ferme organique et d'écrire de la musique loin des pressions de la vie moderne mais il se souvient qu'il a pris des engagements chez lui. On décide finalement qu'il rejoindra son père une fois achevé le travail d'Entretien avec un Vampire et de son nouveau film Dark Blood (Sombre Sang).

Avec des cheveux courts teints en noir, River se rend dans le désert de l'Utah pour commencer son travail sur Dark Blood. De tous les projets de film dans lesquels il s'est impliqué au long de sa carrière, River montre de loin un intérêt majeur pour celui-ci et il est extrêmement désireux d'y participer depuis sa rencontre avec le réalisateur et la lecture du scénario quelques mois plus tôt.

Une fois achevées les scènes tournées dans le désert, River s'envole pour Los Angeles le mardi 26 octobre 1993. «Je retourne dans la ville mauvaise» dit-il.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Le Vol du Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

John Phoenix

Los Angeles

Iris Burton

Oregon

Florida

Dark Blood

Samantha Mathis

Dogfight

The Thing Called Love

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

Interview With The Vampire

Mike Waters

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Sue Solgot

Keanu Reeves

Utah

Seattle

Portland

Tom Cruise

New York

Anne Rice

Costa Rica

Pro-Media Studios

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism

Humanitarian Award

Rome

Italy

Chicago

Miami

Nashville
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

"Did you ever know that you're my hero?
You were the wind beneath my wings....
"

With a shaved head, River traveled up to Seattle to film Dogfight in May 1990 before beginning another role which he hoped would also help to rid him of his teen-idol image once and for all. Playing the character of Mike Waters in My Own Private Idaho required extensive research on River's part. Spending nights on the streets of Portland, both he and Keanu Reeves observed street hustling at first hand. "It was very sensational for us," River said later. "It was all in character. We were just hanging. If anything, they thought 'this is another cat who's trying to take my spot on the street'. It's a brotherhood on the street. You all watch for each other's backs because no one wants to see anyone get stabbed." River would leave set of My Own Private Idaho for a few days so he could be presented with the Humanitarian Award by PETA, the People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals, as a reward for his extensive efforts raising funds for the charity. River and the rest of the Idaho crew would then fly to Rome to shoot the movie's Italian based scenes.

On River's return to Florida, Aleka's Attic would commence what would be their biggest tour, playing gigs in locations such as New York, Chicago and Miami. Sue Solgot remained behind in Gainesville. "It sucks and it doesn't suck because it gives us space," she said at the time.

By his twenty-first birthday, River was one of Hollywood's leading young men commanding several million dollars a movie and was now wealthy beyond his wildest dreams. "I get offered a lot of stuff," said River in an interview at the time. "And sure, you pause when they say on the phone, 'You won't do this for two, well, how about three?' But after the movie comes out I think, 'Man, I'm glad I didn't do that.' It's just not worth it. It's all in the script and whether I believe in it."

For his next assignment, River's agent negotiated a lucrative contract for him to appear in the big-budget thriller Sneakers. Shortly afterwards, he purchased 800 acres of rainforest, just to protect it from deforestation.

By the middle of 1992 River's relationship with Sue Solgot had hit the rocks and whilst on the Los Angeles and Nashville based sets of The Thing Called Love River fell in love with his co-star Samantha Mathis. This relationship would last for the rest of his life.

After completing The Thing Called Love, River regrouped Aleka's Attic for what would turn out to be the last time. Using his own money, he rented Gainesville's Pro Media Recording Studio and the band set about recording a large number of songs. However, many of these tracks would be left in a rough and unfinished state.

River's next project was due to be Interview With The Vampire but when Tom Cruise was given the part that writer Anne Rice had wanted River to play, her public criticism of the studio caused the whole project to be put on hold for several months. This turn of events allowed River, who had just celebrated his twenty-third birthday, to join the rest of the Phoenix children as they traveled to Costa Rica to visit their father. John Phoenix was about to open a vegan restaurant and this visit would become his last attempt to persuade not only River, but all of his children to quit the movie business. "I realized things were going wrong," said John of his eldest son. "I could see Hollywood was eating him up, bleeding him dry."

River was attracted by the idea of working on an organic farm and writing music, far away from the pressures of modern life, but he realized he had commitments back home. It was eventually decided that he would rejoin his father once work on Interview With The Vampire and his new movie Dark Blood was completed.

Now with short black hair, River traveled to the Utah desert to start work on Dark Blood. Of all the movie projects he was involved in throughout his career, River showed by far the most interest in this one and was extremely keen to do it since meeting the director and reading the script a few months earlier.

With the desert scenes completed, River flew back to Los Angeles on Tuesday, October 26, 1993. "I'm going back to the bad, bad town," said River.


Previous Page

Next Page
Flight of the Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page