Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Summer Phoenix

The Mosquito Coast

I Love You To Death

Martha Plimpton

Naomi Foner

Danny Pope

New York

New Jersey

Kevin Kline

A Fish Called Wanda

Making Movies

Academy Awards

Annie Pope

Who The Devil Made It
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
Page Deux
American EnglishEn Français

Running on Empty

A BOUT DE COURSE

Filmé à New-York et dans le New-Jersey en 1987, ce film réunit River et son amie et partenaire de The Mosquito Coast, Martha Plimpton qui joue encore une fois sa petite amie à l'écran.

C'est à cette époque que les carrières de tous les enfants Phoenix commencent à prendre forme et, membres d'une famille où l'on est si proche et où l'on s'aime tant, ils sont toujours prêts à faire des sacrifices les uns pour les autres. Summer, la plus jeune des soeurs de River se souvient du temps où son frère les quitte pour New York afin de faire le film. «River nous manquait à tous terriblement, mais c'était moi qui pleurais le plus.»

A l'occasion de l'anniversaire de River, la scénariste Naomi Foner, qui est devenue son amie sur le plateau, lui offre un ensemble de romans classiques après avoir été surprise par le manque de culture générale de la star. «Il savait lire et écrire et il avait du goût pour cela mais il n'avait pas de notions d'histoire ou de littérature» dit-elle. «Certaines des raisons de son immense talent étaient liées au fait qu'il n'avait pas analysé ce genre de connaissances ou qu'il n'avait pas d'idées préconçues sur ce qu'elles devaient être.»

Pour avoir donné vie au personnage de Danny Pope, River sera nommé pour l'Oscar pour sa performance stupéfiante dans ce film. A la 61ème cérémonie de remise des Oscars en 1989, le prix du meilleur second rôle ira à Kevin Kline pour son rôle dans A Fish Called Wanda (Un Poisson Nommé Wanda). Les deux acteurs se retrouveront pour être les vedettes de I Love You To Death (Je t'aime à te Tuer).

Mais j'ai toujours pensé que je te reverrai.

Un extrait du film peut être écouté avec Real Audio dans notre section Ainsi Parlait Phoenix ainsi que dans Sons d'un Phoenix. Reportez-vous également aux livres Making Movies et Who The Devil Made It dans la section La Bibliothèque Phoenix.

Avant de connaître la célébrité internationale avec le rôle du Dr Kathryn Austin dans la série TV Chicago Hope, Christine Lahti joue en 1991 dans un autre drame médical avec William Hurt, le partenaire de River de I Love You To Death, dans le film The Doctor (Le Docteur).

«C'est un peu ironique, tu ne trouves pas Annie ? Te voilà en train de me demander de faire entrer Danny dans une vie dont tu t'es enfuie, comme si tu sortais de l'enfer.»


Page Précédente

Film Suivant
La Filmographie de Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Summer Phoenix

The Mosquito Coast

I Love You To Death

Martha Plimpton

Naomi Foner

Danny Pope

New York

New Jersey

Kevin Kline

A Fish Called Wanda

Making Movies

Academy Awards

Annie Pope

Who The Devil Made It
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
Page Two
American EnglishEn Français

Running on Empty


Filmed in New York City and New Jersey in 1987, this movie would see River reunited with his girlfriend and co-star from The Mosquito Coast, Martha Plimpton who would once again play his on-screen girlfriend.

It was around this time that the careers of all the Phoenix children began to take shape and as such a close, loving family, they were always prepared to make sacrifices for each other. Recalls River's youngest sister, Summer, of the time her brother left for New York to film this movie, "We all missed River like crazy, but I was the one who cried the hardest."

On the occasion of his birthday, screenplay writer Naomi Foner, who had become good friends with River on the set bought him a set of classic novels after being surprised by the star's pronounced lack of general knowledge. "He could read and write and he had an appetite for it but he had no deep roots into any kind of sense of history or literature," she said. "Some of the reason that he was so talented was that stuff didn't get processed through his head or through some preconception of what it was supposed to be."

Bringing to life the character of Danny Pope, River would receive an Oscar Nomination for his breathtaking performance in this feature film. At the 61st Oscar ceremony in 1989, the Best Supporting Actor award would actually go to Kevin Kline for his role in A Fish Called Wanda. The two actors themselves would go on to star together in I Love You To Death.

A RealAudio extract from this movie can be found in our Quoting Phoenix section as well as in Sounds of a Phoenix. See also the Making Movies and Who The Devil Made It books in Phoenix Bookshelf.

Before going on to gain international recognition as Dr. Kathryn Austin in the television series, Chicago Hope, Christine Lahti co-starred in another medical drama alongside River's I Love You To Death co-star, William Hurt, in the 1991 movie, The Doctor.

"There's some irony in this, don't you think Annie? Here you are, asking me to take Danny into a life that you ran from, like a shot out of hell."


Previous Page

Official Press Kit

Next Movie
Phoenix Filmography Rio's Attic Home Page