Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Iris Burton

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Hawaii

William Richert

Island Pictures

20th Century Fox

Aren't You Even Gonna Kiss Me Goodbye

Jimmy Reardon

Tom Cruise

Hard To Get

Island Records

Ann Magnuson

Mathew Perry

Joyce Fickett

Al Reardon

Matthew Hollinder

Faye Reardon

Fred Roberts

Lisa Bentwright

Denise Hunter

Louanne Sirota

Meredith Salenger

Ione Skye

Suzie Middleberg

Paul Koslo

Jane Hallaren

Jason Court

Marji Banks

Emma Spaulding
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
Page Une
American EnglishEn Français

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

JIMMY REARDON

Produit parIsland Pictures / 20th Century Fox
Année1988
RéalisateurWilliam Richert
ScénarioWilliam Richert



River Phoenix
Jimmy Reardon


Ann Magnuson
Joyce Fickett


Meredith Salenger
Lisa Bentwright


Ione Skye
Denise Hunter


Louanne
Suzie Middleberg


Matthew Perry
Fred Roberts


Paul Koslo
Al Reardon


Jane Hallaren
Faye Reardon


Jason Court
Matthew Hollander


Marji Banks
Emma Spaulding


«Il semble qu'il y ait une distance grandissante entre ce que je suis
et ce que vous avez décidé que je serai.
»

Se basant sur la propre jeunesse du réalisateur et sur son roman Aren't You Even Gonna Kiss Me Goodbye? (Est-ce que tu ne vas pas me dire au revoir en m'embrassant ?), le film décrit les exploits d'un Roméo de lycée de dix-sept ans, Jimmy Reardon, qui essaie de trouver 85 dollars afin d'acheter un billet d'avion pour suivre sa petite amie à Hawaii.

En dépit des fortes objections de son père, River, Arlyn Phoenix et son agent Iris Burton sont très désireux qu'il fasse ce film dans l'espoir que la jeune star puisse prouver qu'il est devenu un acteur adulte, sérieux et plus accompli. Plus tard, tous les trois regretteront cette décision. «Jimmy Reardon a été une grosse erreur» dira River. «J'étais très naïf et je ne me rendais pas compte que j'utilisais mal mes dons, et de belle manière. J'exploitais mal quelque chose de spécial.»

Le film perd son caractère initial quand il est repris en cours de réalisation par la 20th Century Fox qui le transforme en ce que River décrira comme une «comédie sexuelle.» Quand le film sort en 1988, il devient toutefois une sorte de petit succès au grand déplaisir de River. «Je ne suis pas d'accord avec ce genre de film» dit-il lors de sa sortie.

Cependant la critique éreinte le film - ce dont River se blâmera. «Ça n'a pas marché de la manière que je pensais. Je ne suis pas sûr que j'étais même été la personne adéquate pour le rôle. Pour que ça marche, je pense que vous voulez voir quelqu'un d'un peu plus viril, comme Tom Cruise. Il aurait été bien mieux que moi.»

Pendant les pauses, River joue de la guitare sur le plateau. Le réalisateur remarque alors son talent et lui demande d'écrire la chanson du film. Celle que compose River «Hard to Get» ne sera finalement pas reprise dans le film mais elle est remarquée par le patron d'Island Records qui lui offre la possibilité de s'améliorer.


Page Précédente

Suite
La Filmographie de Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Iris Burton

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Hawaii

William Richert

Island Pictures

20th Century Fox

Aren't You Even Gonna Kiss Me Goodbye

Jimmy Reardon

Tom Cruise

Hard To Get

Island Records

Ann Magnuson

Mathew Perry

Joyce Fickett

Al Reardon

Matthew Hollinder

Faye Reardon

Fred Roberts

Lisa Bentwright

Denise Hunter

Louanne Sirota

Meredith Salenger

Ione Skye

Suzie Middleberg

Paul Koslo

Jane Hallaren

Jason Court

Marji Banks

Emma Spaulding
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
Page One
American EnglishEn Français

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Released By:Island Pictures / 20th Century Fox
Year:1988
Director:William Richert
Screenplay:William Richert



River Phoenix
as Jimmy Reardon


Ann Magnuson
as Joyce Fickett


Meredith Salenger
as Lisa Bentwright


Ione Skye
as Denise Hunter


Louanne
as Suzie Middleberg


Matthew Perry
as Fred Roberts


Paul Koslo
as Al Reardon


Jane Hallaren
as Faye Reardon


Jason Court
as Matthew Hollander


Marji Banks
as Emma Spaulding


"There seems to be a growing distance between what I am
and what you determine me to be.
"

Based on the director's own youth and his novel Aren't You Even Gonna Kiss Me Goodbye? the movie portrays the exploits of seventeen year old high school Romeo, Jimmy Reardon, as he attempts to earn $85 for a plane ticket to fly with his girlfriend to Hawaii.

Despite strong objections from his father, River, Arlyn Phoenix and his agent, Iris Burton were keen for him to do the film in the hope that it would prove the young star to be a more rounded, serious adult actor. All three would later come to regret the decision. "Jimmy Reardon was one big mistake," River would say. "I was very naïve and didn't know that I was misusing my talents in a major way. I was exploiting something special."

The film lost its focus when it was taken over by Twentieth Century Fox during production who turned it into what River described as "a sex comedy." When the film was released in 1988 however it did become something of a small hit much to River's annoyance. "I don't agree with that kind of film," he said during its release.

The critics slated the movie however - something which River would later blame himself for. "It didn't turn out the way I thought it would. I'm not sure I was even the right person for the role. For it to work, I think you want to see someone a little bit more masculine, like Tom Cruise. He'd have done it much better than me."

Playing his guitar during breaks on the set, the director noticed River's talent and asked him to write the theme song for the film. The song River wrote, "Hard to Get" ultimately did not get included in the film but did get noticed by the head of Island Records who offered him a deal to develop him.


Previous Page

Official Press Kit

Continued
Phoenix Filmography Rio's Attic Home Page