Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Iris Burton

Oregon

Florida

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Matt Dillon

William Richert

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Mike Parker

Scott Green

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Drugstore Cowboy

Canada

Portland

Rodney Harvey

Flea

Richard Waters

James Russo

Bob Pigeon

Gary

Chiara Caselli

Budd

Udo Kier

Hans

Santa Monica Boulevard

Carmella
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
Page Une
American EnglishEn Français

My Own Private Idaho

Produit parNew Line Cinema
Année1991
RéalisateurGus Van Sant
ScénarioGus Van Sant



River Phoenix
Mike Waters


Keanu Reeves
Scott Favor


James Russo
Richard Waters


William Richert
Bob Pigeon


Rodney Harvey
Gary


Chiara Caselli
Carmella


Mike Parker
Digger


Flea
Budd


Udo Kier
Hans


Scott Patrick Green
Le jeune du café & le Cover Boy


«C'est comme dans un rêve. Jamais une fille ne me ramasse, encore moins une jolie fille riche.»

Traitant de la vie d'un enfant abandonné, Mike Waters, le film raconte en détail comment il part à la recherche de sa mère alors que, pour survivre, il vend son corps dans les rues. Le lieu où se déroulent la scène du début et celle de la fin du film, lorsque River se tient sur une longue route droite, se trouve à peine à vingt-cinq kilomètres de son lieu de naissance dans l'Oregon.

Le réalisateur Gus Van Sant vient de connaître le succès avec Drugstore Cowboy, un film avec Matt Dillon. Cela lui permet d'être plus ambitieux dans le choix des acteurs de son prochain ouvrage. Il a essayé en plusieurs occasions d'attirer l'attention de River sur le scénario mais Iris Burton l'a refusé, craignant les effets que pourrait subir l'image de son client s'il joue un prostitué drogué.

Aussi, juste avant Noël 1989, Keanu Reeves que le réalisateur a déjà approché pour le rôle de Scott Favor, fait le voyage en moto de chez lui au Canada jusqu'en Floride pour présenter l'histoire à River.

Les deux acteurs discutent du projet pendant plusieurs mois, y compris pendant le temps qu'ils passent ensemble sur I Love You To Death (Je t'aime à te Tuer). River raconte : «On roulait sur Santa Monica Boulevard et on s'est mis très vite à discuter de ce projet-là. On était très excités. Ça aurait pu être comme un mauvais rêve - un rêve sans lendemain parce que personne ne prend d'engagement, mais on s'est forcé à le faire. On s'est dit : "D'accord, je le ferai si tu le fais. Je ne le ferai pas si tu ne le fais pas." On s'est serré la main. Et voilà.»

Une fois décidé, River montre un intérêt spécial pour le film dans l'espoir que cela le débarrasse de son image d'idole pour adolescents. Quelques temps après, Van Sant rencontre River et est surpris par l'enthousiasme de la jeune star pour ce projet. «Il voulait savoir tout ce qu'il y avait à connaître sur le film et sur ce que nous voulions faire,» dira Van Sant. «Je trouve encore extraordinaire que nous ayons pu faire le film avec si peu d'argent. Personne ne voulait s'y associer parce que la première scène montre Mike qui se fait faire une pipe, et tout le monde disait non à Idaho. Même quand Keanu et River eurent accepté de le faire, c'était toujours dur de trouver le financement.»


Page Précédente

Suite
La Filmographie de Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Iris Burton

Oregon

Florida

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Matt Dillon

William Richert

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Mike Parker

Scott Green

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Drugstore Cowboy

Canada

Portland

Rodney Harvey

Flea

Richard Waters

James Russo

Bob Pigeon

Gary

Chiara Caselli

Budd

Udo Kier

Hans

Santa Monica Boulevard

Carmella






See Phoenix Fiction

Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
Page One
American EnglishEn Français

My Own Private Idaho

Released By:New Line Cinema
Year:1991
Director:Gus Van Sant
Screenplay:Gus Van Sant



River Phoenix
as Mike Waters


Keanu Reeves
as Scott Favor


James Russo
as Richard Waters


William Richert
as Bob Pigeon


Rodney Harvey
as Gary


Chiara Caselli
as Carmella


Mike Parker
as Digger


Flea
as Budd


Udo Kier
as Hans


Scott Patrick Green
as Café Kid & Cover Boy


"This is like a dream. A girl never picks me up, much less a pretty, rich girl."

Documenting the life of abandoned child Mike Waters, the film details his search for his mother whilst selling his body on the streets to survive. The location for the scenes both at the beginning and end of the movie where River stands on a long road were shot a mere fifteen miles from where he was born in Oregon.

Director, Gus Van Sant had recently experienced success with his Matt Dillon film Drugstore Cowboy. This allowed him to become more ambitious when looking for actors to appear in his next piece of work. He had tried to bring the script to River's attention on several occasions but Iris Burton rejected it fearing what effects playing a drug-taking hustler might have on her client's clean image.

So just before Christmas 1989, Keanu Reeves who had already been approached by the director to play the part of Scott Favor, made the journey on his motorcycle from his home in Canada to Florida to present the treatment to River.

The two actors discussed the project for several months, including the time the pair spent together during the filming of I Love You To Death. Recalled River, "We were driving in a car on Santa Monica Boulevard, and were talking really fast about the whole idea. We were excited. It could have been like a bad dream - a dream that never follows through because no one commits, but we just forced ourselves into it. We said, 'Okay, I'll do it if you do it. I won't do it if you won't.' We shook hands. That was it."

Once committed, River was especially interested in doing this movie in the hope that it would rid him of his teen-idol image. Shortly thereafter Van Sant met River and was surprised by the young star's enthusiasm for the project. "He wanted to know everything there was to know about the movie and what we were planning to do", said Van Sant. "I still find it extraordinary that we were able to make the film for so little money. No-one wanted to touch the film because the first scene involves Mike getting a blowjob, and everyone kept saying no to Idaho. Even when Keanu and River had agreed to do it, it was still tough to get the financing in place."


"It sounds so nice. Wouldn't mind living here..."


Previous Page

Official Press Kit

Continued
Phoenix Filmography Rio's Attic Home Page