Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

Stephen King

The Body

Rob Reiner

Kiefer Sutherland

Wil Wheaton

Corey Feldman

Jerry O'Connell

Richard Dreyfuss

Ray Brower

Stand By Me (Song)

Ben E. King

The Karate Kid

Fly Away Home

Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand By Me
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Stand By Me (Special Edition) - Region 1 Stand By Me (Special Edition) - Region 2 Stand By Me (Special Edition) - Region 4
Zone DVD
Availability:

Amérique du Nord
Canada

Europe, Proche Orient
Japon

Amérique du sud et centrale
Australie, Nouvelle Zélande
Langue ENGLISH FRANÇAIS ESPAÑOL, PORTUGUÊS, MUSIQUE DU FILM SEULE ENGLISH, FRANÇAIS, DEUTSCH, ITALIANO, ESPAÑOL
Sous-titres ENGLISH, ESPAÑOL, FRANÇAIS, PORTUGUÊS, CHINOIS, COREEN, THAI ENGLISH, DEUTSCH, FRANÇAIS, NEDERLANDS, ESPAÑOL, ITALIANO, PORTUGUÊS
Format Image Ecran large (normes 16:9)
Son Mono

Main Menu Il s'agit tout simplement de la meilleure réalisation à ce jour d'une oeuvre de River qui servira de point de comparaison pour tout futur DVD. Cette édition spéciale de Stand By Me regorge de suppléments et la présentation en est très professionnelle. Du moins pour les spectateurs de la zone 1. On triche quelque peu avec ceux des régions 2 et 4 qui perdent au passage quelques unes des meilleures caractéristiques - le menu principal par exemple est plaisamment animé et présente en boucle un fond sonore avec les quatre garçons courant sur le pont de chemin de fer, mais seulement pour la zone 1. Les écrans de chapitrage sont aussi un vrai plaisir et chaque chapitre est présenté avec une image animée - très bien faite, mais encore une fois seulement pour la zone 1.

En outre, comme cela arrive souvent, les spectateurs de la zone 4 sont privés du feuillet de chapitrage, omission significative dans le cas présent car ce feuillet de l'Edition spéciale de Stand By Me offre généreusement, à côté de la liste des chapitres, de nombreuses photos et donne des précisions sur le court roman de Stephen King, Le Corps, ainsi que sur l'histoire du tournage.

Bonus Trailers Les suppléments du DVD sont les mêmes dans toutes les régions, si ce n'est, en zone 1, l'inclusion sans raison apparente de bandes annonces des films Karaté Kid et Fly Away Home. On peut voir également le rare Stand By Me avec Ben E. King et trouver une biographie complète de la distribution et de l'équipe de tournage.

En exclusivité, le DVD présente un documentaire intitulé «En suivant la piste : l'été de Stand By Me» qui à lui seul en justifie l'acquisition. Sont interviewés Stephen King, Rob Reiner, Kiefer Sutherland, Richard Dreyfuss et les trois principales vedettes de la distribution qui sont encore en vie, Wil Wheaton, Corey Feldman and Jerry O'Connell. Vers la fin, le rythme ralentit, l'image passe au noir et blanc et chacun parle du décès de River. Il est presque impossible décrire cette partie et de communiquer l'émotion profonde qui se dégage des propos de ceux qui le connurent. Chacun doit voir ces scènes par lui-même.

Wil Wheaton, Corey Feldman and Jerry O'Connell

Outre les bandes sons en langues étrangères et une inhabituelle bande originale «musicale» du film, on trouve aussi une piste qui présente, au fil des images, le commentaire du réalisateur Rob Reiner. Regarder le film en écoutant ce commentaire est une expérience fascinante qui apporte une vision pénétrante. On y apprend que les cigarettes que fument les garçons dans la cabane de l'arbre sont factices et que, dans les scènes où ils découvrent le corps de Ray Brower, le vent provient de ventilateurs, avec hors caméra les assistants qui secouent les arbres. Le réalisateur souligne avec plaisir les prises où furent utilisées des doublures et les scènes où des gaffes ont survécu au montage final. Aussi soyez sur vos gardes pour apercevoir le micro-récepteur de Jerry O'Connell, dont c'était le premier film, sauter de sa chaussette quand il marche le long des rails. «On avait toujours des problèmes avec Jerry O'Connell» se rappelle Reiner en riant. «Il s'attirait toujours des ennuis pendant le tournage !».

Biography Vers la fin du film, cependant, l'humour fait place à l'émotion quand les garçons se disent au revoir et quand finalement le personnage de River disparaît lentement de l'écran. Reiner doit alors s'éclaircir la voix à plusieurs reprises et de manière évidente il est gagné par l'émotion. Comme d'ailleurs tous les spectateurs.

"Vous pouvez vous rendre compte que River Phoenix, même à cet âge, possédait une maturité étonnante. Il faisait preuve de tant de gravité et de tant de sagesse et ce qui lui est arrivé est tellement triste, car pour certaines choses c'était un esprit éclairé, mais d'un autre côté ce n'était qu'un gamin troublé. Alors ce qui lui est arrivé est une chose vraiment très triste."

- Rob Reiner


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix Numérique Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

Stephen King

The Body

Rob Reiner

Kiefer Sutherland

Wil Wheaton

Corey Feldman

Jerry O'Connell

Richard Dreyfuss

Ray Brower

Stand By Me (Song)

Ben E. King

The Karate Kid

Fly Away Home

Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand By Me
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Stand By Me (Special Edition) - Region 1 Stand By Me (Special Edition) - Region 2 Stand By Me (Special Edition) - Region 4

DVD Region
Availability:

North America,
Canada

Europe, Middle East,
Japan

Central & South America,
Australia, New Zealand
Spoken Languages: ENGLISH, FRANÇAIS, ESPAÑOL, PORTUGUÊS, ISOLATED MUSIC SCORE ENGLISH, FRANÇAIS, DEUTSCH, ITALIANO, ESPAÑOL
Subtitles: ENGLISH, ESPAÑOL, FRANÇAIS, PORTUGUÊS, CHINESE, KOREAN, THAI ENGLISH, DEUTSCH, FRANÇAIS, NEDERLANDS, ESPAÑOL, ITALIANO, PORTUGUÊS
Picture Format: Widescreen format (16:9 Enhanced)
Sound Format: Mono

Main Menu Quite simply, this is the one against which all future DVD releases of River's work will have to beat. This special edition version of Stand By Me is crammed full of extra bonus materials and the whole presentation is done in a very professional manner. At least that is, if you live in DVD region 1. Viewers in regions 2 and 4 get somewhat short-changed and lose out on some nice touches - the main menu for example is pleasantly animated and features a charming background sound loop of the four boys running over the train trestle, but only on the region 1 release. The chapter selection screens are also a delight and each chapter is presented with a moving image - beautifully done, but again, only on the region 1 disc.

Furthermore, as is often the case, Region 4 viewers miss out on the chapter selection sheet, a significant omission in this case as along with the list of chapters, the booklet in the Stand By Me Special Edition is generously illustrated with photos and talks at length about Stephen King's novella The Body and the history of the movie.

Bonus Trailers The extra DVD bonus items are the same across all regions, except that the region 1 release includes, for no apparent reason, trailers for the movies The Karate Kid and Fly Away Home. Ben E. King's rare Stand By Me music video from 1986 is included and there are comprehensive pages with cast and crew biographies.

Exclusive to this DVD release, is a documentary entitled "Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand By Me" and this item is more than worth the cost of the DVD alone. Those interviewed include Stephen King, Rob Reiner, Kiefer Sutherland, Richard Dreyfuss and the three surviving main cast members Wil Wheaton, Corey Feldman and Jerry O'Connell. Towards the end of the program, the footage slows down, fades to black and white and everyone talks about River's passing. It's quite impossible to write about that section and accurately convey the depth of emotion being exhibited by those who knew him. It is simply a collection of scenes that have to be witnessed for one's self.

Wil Wheaton, Corey Feldman and Jerry O'Connell

In addition to the foreign language audio tracks for the movie, and an unusual "music only" soundtrack, there is also a track that includes a commentary by director Rob Reiner recorded over it. Watching the movie whilst listening to this track is a fascinating undertaking and brings a whole new insight to the film. The cigarettes that were smoked in the tree-house, for example, were not real cigarettes and the windy scenes when the boys find the body of Ray Brower had to be achieved with wind machines and film assistants off camera shaking the trees. The director is more than happy to point out shots that used stunt doubles and which scenes contain bloopers that made it into the final cut. So, in what was his first movie, get ready to see Jerry O'Connell's radio-microphone transmitter fall out of his sock as he walks down the railroad tracks. "We always had trouble with Jerry O'Connell," recalls Reiner laughing. "He was always getting into scrapes during the film!"

Biography By the end of the film though, the humor is replaced by poignancy when the boys say their good-byes to each other, and River's character ultimately fades slowly from the screen. By now, Reiner is having to repeatedly clear his throat and is quite obviously overcome with emotion. Much like the audience themselves in fact.

"You can see River Phoenix, even at this young age, had an amazing maturity about him. He had a lot of depth, a lot of wisdom and it's so sad what happened to him because he was a really enlightened soul in some ways, and in other ways he was just a kid who was confused. So it was a very, very sad thing that happened to him."

- Rob Reiner


Previous Page

Next Page
Digital Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page