Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

Sneakers

Sidney Poitier

Universal Pictures/Studios

Phil Alden Robinson

Walter Parkes

Lawrence Lasker

Carl Arbogast

Dan Aykroyd

Back to the Future

Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand By Me

The Making of Sneakers
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Sneakers Collector's Edition - Region 1 Sneakers Collector's Edition - Region 2 Sneakers Collector's Edition - Region 4

Zone DVD
Availability:

Amérique du Nord
Canada

Europe, Proche Orient
Japon

Amérique du sud et centrale
Australie, Nouvelle Zélande
Langue ENGLISH, FRANÇAIS, ESPAÑOL ENGLISH, DEUTSCH, FRANÇAIS, ITALIANO, CASTELLANO
Sous-titres ENGLISH, ESPAÑOL ENGLISH, FRANÇAIS, PORTUGUÊS, DANSK, SUOMI, CESKY, SVENSKA, NORSK, DEUTSCH, NEDERLANDS, POLSKI
Format Image Ecran large anamorphique
Son Dolby Digital Surround Sound

"C'est pas trop tard pour la refaire, n'est-ce pas ?"

Main Menu

Le film Sneakers de 1992 paraît pour la seconde fois en DVD, cette fois-ci dans une «Edition de Collection» et accompagné d'informations supplémentaires sur le tournage.

On ne retrouve pas ici les rares bonus du premier DVD sauf la bande-annonce incluse une fois encore. A la place, nous est offert un commentaire du film avec le réalisateur de Sneakers Phil Alden Robinson, auquel se sont joints les deux producteurs Lawrence Lasker et Walter F. Parkes. Tous les trois ont aussi écrit le script du film et, tout au long du commentaire, ils en démontent la mécanique et les problèmes rencontrés pendant son écriture qui prit plusieurs années. S'agissant d'un film qui traite de la révélation de secrets, eux-mêmes nous révèlent tout, depuis les subtils indices dissimulés exprès dans le script pour être découverts par les spectateurs jusqu'à l'aveu qu'une séquence du film fut tournée sur le plateau d'un autre grand succès d'Universal, Retour vers le Futur.

Bonus Materials Le nom de River n'est mentionné que deux fois au cours du commentaire mais ces deux occurrences sont de simples références sans importance particulière. La première occasion survient quand on raconte comment on utilisa dans l'histoire la stature identique de River et de Dan Aykroyd. L'autre mention concerne la relation entre River et Sidney Poitier, qui méritait assurément un commentaire, mais en fait il est seulement question du rapport entre les deux personnages de Sneakers.

On trouve également dans cette Edition de Collection le Making of de Sneakers qui, après un début poussif où les trois auteurs se rappellent les piles de scripts et de notes de production poussiéreuses, se révèle être le joyau des bonus offerts ici. Des séquences tournées sur le plateau en marge de la production sont d'abord présentées puis on en vient à des interviews originales données par les acteurs et l'équipe de tournage lors de la sortie du film.

Tous les acteurs parlent de leur personnage et quand c'est le tour de River, il décrit l'enthousiasme de Carl pour son travail peu orthodoxe et sa manière de rechercher des conseils auprès des membres de l'équipe. River explique ensuite, avec un embarras non dissimulé, que Carl, «les filles le rendent dingue».

A la différence du documentaire inclus dans le DVD de Stand By Me, En suivant la piste : l'Eté de Stand By Me, l'émotion n'a aucune part dans le Making of de Sneakers. Sans aucun doute, la partie la plus poignante de tout le documentaire &eachute;chappera à la plupart des spectateurs. Elle apparaît au milieu du générique de fin.

D'une certaine façon, même aujourd'hui, cela ne semble pas juste. Le plus jeune membre d'une distribution, celui-ci encore moins qu'un autre, ne devrait pas avoir besoin d'une «succession».


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix Numérique Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

Sneakers

Sidney Poitier

Universal Pictures/Studios

Phil Alden Robinson

Walter Parkes

Lawrence Lasker

Carl Arbogast

Dan Aykroyd

Back to the Future

Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand By Me

The Making of Sneakers
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Sneakers Collector's Edition - Region 1 Sneakers Collector's Edition - Region 2 Sneakers Collector's Edition - Region 4

DVD Region
Availability:

North America,
Canada

Europe, Middle East,
Japan

Central & South America,
Australia, New Zealand
Spoken Languages: ENGLISH, FRANÇAIS, ESPAÑOL ENGLISH, DEUTSCH, FRANÇAIS, ITALIANO, CASTELLANO
Subtitles: ENGLISH, ESPAÑOL ENGLISH, FRANÇAIS, PORTUGUÊS, DANSK, SUOMI, CESKY, SVENSKA, NORSK, DEUTSCH, NEDERLANDS, POLSKI
Picture Format: Anamorphic Widescreen format
Sound Format: Dolby Digital Surround Sound

"It's not too late to re-shoot, is it?"

Main Menu

Now released for the second time on DVD format under the guise of a "Collector's Edition," further information behind the 1992 movie Sneakers is revealed.

The sparse bonus materials of the first DVD release of the movie are not repeated again on this disk, except that is, for the movie's trailer which is once again included. Instead, we get a movie commentary track with director of Sneakers Phil Alden Robinson along with producers Lawrence Lasker and Walter F. Parkes. The three are also credited with writing the film and throughout the commentary, they all talk about some of the mechanics at play and the problems they experienced whilst writing the script - a process that lasted for a great many years. In a movie that deals with the exposing of secrets, they themselves also reveal everything from the subtle clues purposely inserted into the script for the audience to pick up on through to admitting that there is a sequence in the film that was actually filmed on the set of another Universal block-buster Back To The Future.

Bonus Materials River is mentioned by name only twice during the commentary and both occassions are just throw-away references of no particular importance. The first occasion being when the writers comment on how a similarity in body sizes between River and Dan Aykroyd was made use of in the telling of the story. There's also a comment about the relationship between River and Sidney Poitier, one certainly worthy of comment, but in fact the commentators are merely referring to the rapport between the two fictional characters in Sneakers.

Also present in this Collector's Edition is The Making of Sneakers documentary which, after a slow start where the three writers reminisce over piles of dusty scripts and production notes, eventually turns out to be the gem of all the bonus features. Candid sequences shot on-set during the production of the movie start to appear which then leads on to original interviews that the cast and crew gave during the movies initial release being seamlessly edited in as well.

All of the cast talk about their characters, and when it gets to River's turn, he describes the enthusiasm Carl has for his somewhat unorthodox job and how he is always looking to the other team-members for guidance. Whilst his character might very well be enthusiastic, it should be remembered that this was a movie that River would urge his own friends not to go and see and he would say that he had "trashed himself" by taking on this role. The foundation of this deep regret can be seen even here, as River then goes on to explain, with a great deal of barely disguised embarrassment, that Carl is "girl crazy."

Unlike the Stand By Me documentary, Walking the Tracks: The Summer of Stand By Me, poignancy plays no part in The Making of Sneakers. Without doubt though, what is the most poignant part of all in this documentary will be something that is missed by most viewers. It takes place during the middle of the closing credits.

Somehow, even now, it seems wrong. The youngest member of any ensemble movie cast, much less this one, should have no need for an an estate.


Previous Page

Next Page
Digital Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page