Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Little Nikita

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Keanu Reeves

Jeff Grant

Parenthood

Gladiator

Keanu Reeves - Unauthorized Journey To Success

Kim Reeves
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Keanu Reeves - Journey To Success

Région DVD Toutes
Langues ANGLAIS
Sous-titres Sans
Format d'image Pour la télévision
Son Mono

Main Menu Le label « Non autorisée » appliqué à une oeuvre biographique a quelque peu changé de sens ces dernières années. A l'origine, il indiquait presque à coup sûr qu'il s'agissait d'une oeuvre plus complète ou qu'on allait lire une version non censurée des événements. Quelque peu affaibli maintenant, le mot recouvre très souvent aujourd'hui du sensationnel, de l'exploitation ou de la recherche du scandale le plus abject. Tout droit sorti d'Hollywood, ce DVD infect tombe hélas dans la deuxième catégorie.

N'apportant que très peu d'éléments nouveaux à tout fan qui se respecte, ce documentaire fait le portrait de Keanu Reeves et le présente comme un oiseau de malheur, portant la poisse et la guigne, indirectement responsable des souffrances ou de l'effondrement de beaucoup de ceux qu'il a approchés au cours des années. Parlant de sa famille, le documentaire insiste sur des faits tels que la leucémie de sa jeune soeur Kim, l'emprisonnement de son père pour trafic de drogue et les nombreux mariages de sa mère. S'agissant de Keanu lui-même, il exploite les circonstances de ses accidents de moto et son arrestation pour conduite en état d'ivresse comme on le ferait pour tout autre aspect de sa carrière.

Ne s'appuyant que sur quelques interviews données à l'occasion de la sortie de ses films, les séquences dans lesquelles apparaît Keanu, nous donnent une image fâcheuse de l'acteur. On l'entend seulement débiter par devoir des phrases toutes faites fournies par les compagnies de cinéma à tous les acteurs - des foutaises telles que leur dernier film contient des situations familières, que c'est une histoire qui plaira à tous ceux qui iront voir le film, que les spectateurs se sentiront proches des personnages qu'ils jouent, que c'est le film le plus intéressant qu'ils ont jamais tourné, qu'on n'a jamais vu quelque chose comme ça avant, et qu'ils sont « emballés d'y être ». A l'opposé, mais cela n'arrange rien, on nous montre Keanu qui parle moins positivement de ses choix de carrière au cours d'une interview vraiment déplacée dans un DVD destiné à plaire à ses fans. « C'est un film d'Hollywood, c'est du spectacle populaire » dit Keanu. « Rien d'autre, vous savez ? Je cherchais seulement à travailler. Voilà mon avis dessus. Pour ma carrière, ce film particulier, euh, n'apporte rien, je ne l'ai pas fait dans cette optique. »

Chapter Selection Présenté comme un acteur qui a joué un rôle très important dans la vie de Keanu, River est mentionné pour la première fois quand le documentaire aborde l'année 1989 et les films Parenthood et I Love You To Death (Je t'aime à te tuer). Puis on en vient à My Own Private Idaho mais sans que soit fairte référence aux mérites artistiques du film. Le documentaire préfère plutôt sauter sur l'occasion de faire écho à des questions et des soupçons inappropriés sur la sexualité de Keanu.

Une scène de Little Nikita, qui montre un gros plan de Jeff Grant en larmes, sert d'arrière plan, ridiculement déplacé et peu délicat, à la première des nombreuses évocations de la mort de River. Sans s'arrêter une seconde sur la vie de River ou son amitié pour Keanu, le film se met soudainement à faire la promotion du film Gladiator. Bien qu'inattendu, le motif de cette intrusion devient tout de suite évident quand, une fois encore, l'appel téléphonique de Joaquin Phoenix aux services des urgences est diffusé à nouveau, rien que pour le spectacle.


Page Précédente
Phoenix Numérique Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Little Nikita

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Keanu Reeves

Jeff Grant

Parenthood

Gladiator

Keanu Reeves - Unauthorized Journey To Success

Kim Reeves
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Keanu Reeves - Journey To Success

DVD Region
Availability:
All
Spoken Languages: ENGLISH
Subtitles: None
Picture Format: Made for television
Sound Format: Mono

Main Menu The labeling of a biographical piece of work as "Unauthorized" has rather changed significance over the last few years. Originally, it might very well have indicated that a more complete piece of work was being presented, and if not quite that, then certainly an "uncensored" version of events could at least be expected. Somewhat watered-down now, these days the term more often can mean exploitative, sensational and in search of nothing more than lurid scandal. Coming straight from Hollywood, this stinker of a DVD sadly falls very much into the second category.

Containing very little that any self-respecting fan won't already know, this documentary portrays Keanu Reeves as a purveyor of bad-luck and a misfortune-imparting jinx, indirectly responsible for the suffering or downfall of many of the people he has come into contact with over the years. Talking about his family, the document dwells repeatedly on such things as his younger sister, Kim, being diagnosed with leukemia, his father's jailing for drug selling, and his mother's many marriages. As for Keanu himself, the circumstances of his several motorcycle accidents and his arrest for drink-driving are explored in just as much detail as any aspect of his career.

With only previous movie promotional interviews to work with, the sequences of this documentary in which Keanu appears paint an unfortunate picture of the actor. He is only ever heard to be dutifully spouting the phrases and sound-bytes spoon-fed to all film stars by the film companies - garbage such as how their latest film contains situations that we're all familiar with, how it's a story that will be enjoyed by everyone who goes to see the movie, how the audience will so easily relate to the character they're playing, how it's the most interesting film they've ever done, how nothing like it has ever been seen before, and how "excited" they are to "be a part of it." To make matters worse, conversely Keanu is also featured talking less favorably about his career choices in an interview that seems very out-of-place for a DVD aimed at his fans to enjoy. "It's a Hollywood picture, it's popular entertainment," says Keanu. "So that's it, you know? I was looking for work. So that's really my point of view with it. As a career move, this particular piece wasn't really, err, sought for, or looked at, in that manner."

Chapter Selection Described as an actor who played an enormous role in Keanu's life, River is first mentioned when the documentary reaches 1989 and discusses the movies Parenthood and I Love You To Death. The documentary then moves on to My Own Private Idaho, but makes no reference to the artistic merit of the movie, preferring instead to just use the opportunity to echo questions and pointless suspicions about Keanu's sexuality.

A scene from Little Nikita, showing a close up shot of Jeff Grant weeping openly, serves as a ridiculously inappropriate and tactless backdrop for the first of many occasions in which River's death is mentioned. With no pause to reflect on River's life, or his friendship with Keanu, the show suddenly jumps to promotional work for the film Gladiator. Whilst initially quite unexpected, the motive for this jump becomes immediately apparent as, yet again, Joaquin Phoenix's telephone call to the emergency services is played again, solely in the name of entertainment.


Previous Page
Digital Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page