Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

My Own Private Idaho (The Criterion Collection) - Region 1 My Own Private Idaho - Region 2

Région DVD
Amérique du Nord,
Canada

Europe, Proche Orient,
Japon
Langues ANGLAIS
Sous-titres ANGLAIS
Format Image Format écran large (16:9 amélioré)
Format Son Dolby Digital 5.1 et Dolby Digital 2.0

Main Menu - Region 1 La Collection Criterion rassemble des DVD de films classiques ou de films plus récents dont chaque nouvelle production est réalisée avec un très haut niveau de qualité technique et toute une documentation digne d'éloges. Depuis dix sept ans, Criterion a ainsi offert aux collectionneurs les meilleures oeuvres cinématographiques.

Ont déjà été publiés dans cette collection des films de plus de trente-cinq réalisateurs renommés comme Federico Fellini, Alfred Hitchcock et Stanley Kubrick. Chaque film est présenté comme le souhaitait son réalisateur - non coupé et dans son format original. En outre, Criterion travaille quand c'est possible avec les auteurs pour obtenir un résultat final qui rende justice au travail effectué sur le tournage original. Les bonus, aussi bien sur les DVD eux-mêmes comme les commentaires, les documentaires et les scènes coupées que dans le matériau imprimé généreusement fourni, permettent au spectateur d'apprécier le film dans son contexte précis.


Gus Van Sant, River, Keanu Reeves et William Richert
profitent de la lumière du jour pour préparer la scène du vol de My Own Private Idaho.

Main Menu - Region 2 My Own Private Idaho de Gus Van Sant prend sa place dans la Collection Criterion sous forme d'un coffret de deux disques. Le premier DVD, qui contient le film, soigneusement présenté, en version complète, en stéréo et son Dolby surround 5.1, a été clairement édité selon les meilleurs standards et l'excellente réputation de la collection. A ne pas manquer, on trouve aussi la bande annonce d'origine de My Own Private Idaho.

Bonus Material - Region 1 Placez ensuite dans le lecteur l'autre disque et il devient tout de suite évident que la réputation de Criterion n'est pas usurpée. Pas d'erreur, nous avons décidément entre nos mains un classique du genre. Au total, six programmes différents sont présentés en bonus, sur une durée totale de sept heures.

Cette nouvelle production commence par une exclusivité où le réalisateur Todd Haynes discute avec Van Sant des techniques de réalisation de celui-ci et notamment de My Own Private Idaho.

Quatre membres de l'équipe de production de My Own Private Idaho - le monteur Curtiss Clayton, les directeurs de la photographie John Campbell et Eric Alan Edwards ainsi que le décorateur David Brisbin - présentent alors en exclusivité un nouveau documentaire " Le making-of de My Own Private Idaho " qui constitue un des joyaux de ce disque. Un grand nombre d'informations passionnantes et inédites sur le tournage du film sont illustrées par de nombreuses séquences jamais vues et irrésistibles.

Bonus Material - Region 2 Nous voyons également avec un plaisir particulier des scènes, au nombre de sept, qui ont été coupées. Et c'est du sérieux - une scène dure à elle seule presque huit minutes. On trouve aussi la scène finale avortée du film, souvent mentionnée mais jamais vue auparavant, dans laquelle Richard, le frère de Mike Waters se révèle être le mystérieux conducteur qui embarque son jeune frère/fils dans sa voiture.


Une des scènes filmées puis coupées de la version finale de My Own Private Idaho.

Dans une autre scène coupée, le personnage de River revient à Portland après son séjour infructueux en Italie et recherche ses anciens amis. Là, il retrouve Gary, joué par l'acteur Rodney Harvey aujourd'hui disparu, qui gagne maintenant sa vie d'une manière un peu plus respectable derrière un comptoir de fast-food. La scène, visiblement improvisée, est jouissive à regarder. «Tu veux un hot-dog, mec ?» demande Gary. «Ouais, je prendrais bien un peu de dead pig !» (cochon mort) improvise River en haussant les épaules.

Dans le plus inattendus des compléments, le producteur de My Own Private Idaho, Laurie Parker, parle de façon intime avec Rain Phoenix, la soeur de River, à propos de l'intérêt que son frère manifestait pendant le tournage du film. «Je pense,» raconte Rain, «que mon frère était capable de traduire cela pour les gens - les sentiments qu'il avait, la tristesse qu'il ressentait, rencontrer ces gens, savoir que ce genre de vie existait - ces enfants qui sont abandonnés, qui n'ont pas de famille et qui n'ont pas de conscience de soi - c'était très important pour lui de raconter leur histoire.»

Outre ces deux disques, cette parution de la Collection Criterion offre également un petit livre de soixante-quatre pages. Son contenu et sa présentation sont d'une telle qualité que nous avons pensé qu'il méritait un compte-rendu séparé dans la section Bibliothèque Phoenix.

Sachez cependant que le coffret de la région 1 est le seul à paraître sous la bannière de Criterion alors que le produit vendu dans les autres régions du monde est certes présenté dans le même coffret de deux disques et avec le même contenu, encore que les menus soient révisés et redessinés, mais sans le petit livre qui n'est inclus que dans la version de la région 1.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
Phoenix Numérique Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

My Own Private Idaho (The Criterion Collection) - Region 1 My Own Private Idaho - Region 2

DVD Region
Availability:

North America,
Canada

Europe, Middle East,
Japan
Spoken Languages: ENGLISH
Subtitles: ENGLISH
Picture Format: Widescreen format (16:9 Enhanced)
Sound Format: Dolby Digital 5.1 and Dolby Digital 2.0

Main Menu - Region 1 The Criterion Collection is a series of DVD's of both classic and more modern-day films, and each new release of the collection is published with a high level of technical quality and bundled with award-winning supplementary material. It is in this manner that, over the last seventeen years, Criterion has been making the very best movies from world cinema available to collectors.

Various pieces of the work by more than thirty-five renowned directors have been published as part of this collectable series including films by Federico Fellini, Alfred Hitchcock and Stanley Kubrick. Each film is presented as those directors intended - uncut and in its original size and aspect ratio. Furthermore, Criterion work wherever possible with the original directors and cinematographers in order to obtain a finished result that does justice to the work carried out on the original movie shoot. The bonus material they provide, both on the DVDs themselves such as audio commentaries, documentaries and deleted scenes, along with generous extra printed material enables the viewer to appreciate the film in its full context.


With the benefit of daylight, Gus Van Sant, River, Keanu Reeves and William Richert
plan and prepare the robbery scene from My Own Private Idaho.

Main Menu - Region 2 Gus Van Sant's My Own Private Idaho takes its place among the Criterion Collection in the form of a two-disk set. The first DVD contains a carefully crafted presentation of the film, complete with both stereo and Dolby 5.1 surround sound and has clearly been mastered and published to the high standards and reputation as the rest of the collection. Also presented, and not to be missed, is the original My Own Private Idaho promotional trailer.

Bonus Material - Region 1 Put the other disk into your player, however, and it soon becomes apparent that Criterion's reputation is well-deserved. We have an absolutely classic DVD release on our hands here and no mistake. A total of six separate items are presented as bonus material, stretching to several hours of additional material.

This material begins with fellow director Todd Haynes who talks, exclusively for this DVD release, with Van Sant about his film-making techniques and about My Own Private Idaho in particular.

Four members of the production team behind My Own Private Idaho - editor Curtiss Clayton, directors of photography John Campbell and Eric Alan Edwards along with production designer David Brisbin - present one of the gems of the disk, an all-new and exclusive documentary, "The Making Of My Own Private Idaho." Countless fascinating and hitherto unknown facts about the movie's production are recalled along with a great deal of previously unseen footage, which makes for some compelling viewing.

Bonus Material - Region 2 A particular treat is our first glimpse of seven scenes that were cut from the movie. There's some serious stuff here - one scene alone runs to nearly eight minutes in length. Also included is the often mentioned, but never before seen, aborted final scene of the movie in which Mike Waters' brother Richard is revealed to be the mysterious driver who bundles his younger brother/son into his car.


One of the scenes that was filmed but eventually excluded from the finished release of My Own Private Idaho.

In another cut scene, River's character returns to Portland after his failed sojourn to Italy and looks up his former friends. There, he finds Gary, played by the late Rodney Harvey, now earning something of a more respectable living working behind a fast food stand. The scene, clearly ad-libbed throughout, is a delight to watch. "Do you want a hot-dog, man?" asks Gary. "Sure, I'll take some dead pig, yeah!" adlibs River as he shrugs in return.

In the most unexpected of all the pieces of supplementary material, My Own Private Idaho producer, Laurie Parker talks intimately with River's sister Rain Phoenix about the commitment her brother showed during the film's production. "I think for my brother," recalls Rain, "to be able to translate that to people - the feelings he had, the sadness he felt, meeting these people, knowing these lives existed - these children that were abandoned and didn't have family and didn't have a sense of 'self' - it was important to him, to tell their story."

In addition to the two disks, the Criterion Collection release also includes a sixty-four page printed booklet. The content and presentation of this booklet is of such a high standard that we felt it deserved a separate review of its own in our Phoenix Bookshelf section.

Do be aware though that it is only the region 1 release that is marketed under the Criterion banner so while the product released in region 2 areas of the world has the same two-disk set and content, albeit with revised and reworked menus, the booklet is only included in the region 1 version.


Previous Page

Next Page
Digital Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page