Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Los Angeles

Florida

Terry Gilliam

Jonathan Pryce

George Sluizer

Dark Blood

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Judy Davis

The Vanishing

New York

Bob Pigeon

Agnieszka Holland

Amsterdam

World Cinema: Diary of a Day

Peter Cowie

Jack and Jill

Robbie Baitz
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

World Cinema : Diary of a Day

Cinéma mondial : Journal d'un Jour

Edité par Peter Cowie
Première édition 1995


ISBN 0-87951-573-2 (broché, 416 pages)

Publié à l'occasion du 100ème anniversaire du cinéma, ce livre promettait d'entrée une lecture intéressante compte tenu de son sujet plutôt inhabituel. Plus de mille personnes impliquées dans l'industrie cinématographique du monde entier ont été invitées à tenir un journal de leurs activités pendant une journée particulière - le jeudi 10 juin 1993. Ce livre se présente donc comme une compilation de plus de quatre cents de ces notes et tous les aspects de la production cinématographique sont représentés grâce à la présence de contributions de professionnels comme les réalisateurs, les scénaristes, les acteurs, les maquilleurs et les costumiers.

Une première référence à River apparaît de manière surprenante dès le début du livre - au troisième article pour être précis, quand Agnieszka Holland, une actrice polonaise qui se trouvait à Los Angeles ce jour-là, raconte une rencontre particulièrement poignante avec River.

Journée terriblement remplie. Los Angeles. Chaleur.

Puis une soirée détendue avec ma soeur et des amis ; nous sommes revenus à l'hôtel à 1 heure du matin (déjà le 10 juin). Je savais que River arriverait tardivement à cause de son avion, après 10 heures du soir. Je pensais qu'il dormirait (en Floride d'où il venait, il était déjà 4 heures du matin) mais un réceptionniste m'a donné un tas de messages de sa part et on m'a dit qu'il était toujours debout. Je l'ai appelé ; il demande à me voir immédiatement. Il était en nage, ivre, fatigué, très beau. J'ai soupçonné qu'il venait de lire Jack and Jill, un scénario de Robbie Baitz qui doit être mon prochain film. Il veut vraiment jouer Adam. Il a joué Adam pendant une heure. Il a réussi ce qu'il voulait ; je me suis échappé de sa chambre, morte de fatigue, mais j'étais convaincue que parmi les autres merveilleux acteurs que j'avais rencontrés pour ce rôle, personne d'autre que River n'aurait une telle vérité, un tel courage et une telle conscience d'autodestruction.

En face de cet article on peut voir la première des deux photographies qui montrent River. Celle-ci se trouve être la photo faite pour la publicité de My Own Private IdahoMike Waters tient une fleur à l'enterrement de Bob Pigeon. Il n'y a pas d'article de River dans le livre, mais il est cité dans plusieurs autres contributions.

Par exemple, le réalisateur Terry Gilliam se réfère brièvement à lui quand il raconte sa rencontre avec l'acteur Jonathan Pryce. Son ami vient le voir pour recueillir son avis sur le choix à faire entre deux films antagonistes - un film hollywoodien à gros budget ou un film bien plus modeste et sombre d'un réalisateur néerlandais. Il s'agit en fait de Dark Blood et l'une des contributions les plus fascinantes est apportée par le réalisateur du film, George Sluizer. Il est particulièrement intéressant de noter que les germes du conflit étaient déjà en place à ce stade du projet, plusieurs mois avant le début du tournage.

George Sluizer, un Hollandais au flair cosmopolite, réussit à atteindre une place au soleil méritée avec The Vanishing (La Disparue -1988). En 1993, il était en plein milieu du tournage de Dark Blood quand River Phoenix, une des stars principales, s'écroula et mourut devant un night-club de Los Angeles le 31 octobre. Le film dut s'interrompre puis fut abandonné. Bien sûr l'article a été écrit avant cette catastrophe :

Décalage horaire. Juste descendu de l'avion [à New York] en provenance d'Amsterdam pour la pré-production de Dark Blood. On m'appelle parce qu'on souhaite modifier ou amender mon contrat déjà signé pour qu'il puisse y avoir une version sexy, plus sexy et très sexy du film selon les règles nationales de censure. Ça me donne l'impression d'être un souteneur vendant du sexe, au lieu de filmer d'après des émotions.

6 heures du soir. Longue conversation avec Judy Davis sur sa profession dans Dark Blood et certaines des motivations de son personnage. On a beaucoup parlé d'implants mammaires ! Rétrospectivement - après avoir raccroché - je suis irrité par notre échange en partie frivole. Certains d'entre nous font des films car ils sont incapables de communiquer. En exagérant un peu, je pourrais ajouter que j'aime faire des films pour éviter le téléphone.

Malgré tout cela, j'ai commencé, il y a deux jours, à travailler sur un nouveau scénario que j'avais mis de côté pour quelques temps. Le film se rattache à tous les massacres qu'on trouve partout sans distinction - et le Moyen Orient en a été le terrain le plus fertile...


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Los Angeles

Florida

Terry Gilliam

Jonathan Pryce

George Sluizer

Dark Blood

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Judy Davis

The Vanishing

New York

Bob Pigeon

Agnieszka Holland

Amsterdam

World Cinema: Diary of a Day

Peter Cowie

Jack and Jill

Robbie Baitz
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

World Cinema: Diary of a Day

Edited by Peter Cowie.
First Published in 1995.


ISBN 0-87951-573-2 (Hardback, 416 Pages)

Published to coincide with the 100th anniversary of movie-making, this book immediately promised to be an intriguing read given that it was the result of such an unusual idea. More than one thousand individuals involved in the film industry from all over the world were invited to write a journal about what they were doing on just one specific day - Thursday, June 10, 1993. This book, is an edited compilation of over four hundred of those written logs with all aspects of film production carefully represented by the inclusion of contributions from such professionals as directors, screen-writers, actors, make-up artists and costume designers.

River is first referred to surprisingly early on in the book - the third entry to be precise, as Agnieszka Holland, a Polish actress who was in Los Angeles on that day recalls a particularly poignant encounter with River.

Awfully busy day. Los Angeles. Hot.

Then a loose evening with my sister and friends; we came back to the hotel at 1 A.M. (already June 10). I knew that River was late for his plane and that he arrived after 10 P.M. I thought he would be asleep (in Florida, where he came from, it was already 4 A.M.) but a receptionist gave me a bunch of messages from him, and I am told that he's still awake. I called him; he demands to meet me immediately. He was sweating, drunk, tired, very beautiful. I suspected that he had just read Jack and Jill, a screenplay by Robbie Baitz which is supposed to be my next movie. He very much wants to play Adam. He played Adam for an hour. He achieved what he wanted; I escaped from his room, I was dying of fatigue, but I was sure that none of the other wonderful actors I had met for this role would have such truthfulness, would have such courage and self-awareness of auto-destruction as River does.

Opposite this entry is the first of two photographs in which River is depicted. This one being the well-known My Own Private Idaho publicity shot featuring Mike Waters holding the flower at Bob Pigeon's funeral. There's no entry from River to be found within the book, but he is talked of in the journals of several other contributors.

For example, director Terry Gilliam briefly refers to River as he recounts the meeting he had with actor Jonathan Pryce. His friend stopped by that day to seek advice as to which of two conflicting film offers he should accept - a big budget Hollywood movie or an all-together much smaller and low-key film by a Dutch director. That movie was in fact Dark Blood and one intriguing submission comes from the director of that film, George Sluizer. It's particularly interesting to note that the seeds of conflict were already evident even at this early stage of planning, several months before filming of the movie had even begun.

George Sluizer, a Dutchman with a cosmopolitan flair, reached a sudden and wholly deserved place in the sun with The Vanishing (1988). This year he was in the midst of shooting Dark Blood when River Phoenix, one of the principal stars, collapsed and died outside a Los Angeles nightclub on October 31. The film had to be shut down and abandoned. This entry was of course written before the disaster:

Jetlag. Just flown in [to New York] from Amsterdam for pre-production on Dark Blood. I am called regarding the wish to alter or amend my already signed contract, so that there can be a sexy, sexier, sexiest version of the movie depending on national and censorship rules. It makes me feel like a pimp selling sex, instead of filming according to emotion.

6 P.M. Long phone conversation with Judy Davis about her profession in Dark Blood, and some of her character's motivations. Talked a lot about breast implants! In retrospect - this is after hanging up - I was irritated by our partly frivolous talk. Some of us make movies because we are unable to communicate. With a bit of exaggeration, I might add that I like filming in order to avoid the telephone.

Despite all that, I started, two days ago, to work on a new scenario I had put off for some time. The film relates to all the widespread massacres in the world - and the Middle East has been their most fertile ground...


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page