Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Silent Tongue

Sam Shepard

Talbot Roe

Carolyn Pfeiffer

Academy Awards

Awbonnie Roe

Prescott Roe

Eamon McCree

States of Shock

Far North

The Right Stuff

John Malkovich

Jessica Lange

Patricia Arquette

States of Shock, Far North, Silent Tongue
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

States of Shock
Far North
Silent Tongue

de Sam Shepard
Première édition 1993


ISBN 0-679-74218-2 (couv. souple, 202 pages)

A ce jour, Sam Shepard a écrit plus de quarante pièces pour le théâtre ou le cinéma. Il a reçu le Prix Pulitzer d'art dramatique en 1979. En tant qu'acteur, Shepard a reçu une nomination à l'Oscar en 1984 pour sa performance dans le film L'Etoffe des Héros (The Right Stuff). Ce fut dans la même catégorie que celle où fut nommé River cinq ans plus tard - celle du meilleur second rôle.

La première partie de ce livre est consacrée à States of Shock : A Vaudeville-Nightmare (Etat de choc : Un Cauchemar-Vaudeville, une pièce de théâtre représentée pour la première fois à l' «American Place Theatre» de New York en 1991. John Malkovich faisait partie de la première distribution où il jouait le Colonel.

Shepard écrivit et dirigea le film Far North en 1988. Les vedettes en étaient Jessica Lange et Patricia Arquette. Il fut produit par Carolyn Pfeiffer qui travailla étroitement avec River en 1992 sur le plateau d'un autre film de Shepard - Silent Tongue.

Le script de Silent Tongue est reproduit dans la troisième et dernière partie du livre.

PRESCOTT trouve un siège sur un tonneau mais semble raide et mal à l'aise, essayant laborieusement d'avoir l'air normal. Ils se regardent un moment, PRESCOTT ayant du mal à parler. Pause.

EAMON : Comment va la fille alors ? Est-ce qu'elle sert correctement ton attardé de fils ?

PRESCOTT : Elle est... elle est morte.

Pause. EAMON le regarde sans aucun signe de remord mais il est néanmoins surpris par la nouvelle. PRESCOTT est pris par le chagrin mais il essaie de se contrôler.

EAMON : Bon - Un accord est un accord après tout. Elle était en bonne santé quand on a fait l'échange. En bien meilleure santé que ton fils, à tout prendre. Je ne peux te rendre les chevaux maintenant, de toute façon. Ça fait un an ou plus. Mauvaise excuse pour des chevaux d'abord.

PRESCOTT : Je ne veux pas des chevaux. Ce n'est pas de sa faute si elle est morte. Ça lui est arrivé pendant l'accouchement. Et l'enfant est parti avec elle.

EAMON : Je vois. Bon, on ne peut se rendre compte du traumatisme de la naissance, n'est-ce pas, maintenant. Moi-même, je n'ai jamais pu m'en remettre.

Pause. PRESCOTT incapable de parler.

PRESCOTT : C'est mon fils. Il en a conçu un terrible chagrin. Il s'enfonce en lui-même de plus en plus profondément. Depuis des semaines. Il refuse de manger, de parler. Il reste juste... Il reste juste près de son cadavre comme une âme perdue. Rien qu'à veiller. A dire des choses. A garder. Comme si elle était toujours de ce monde.

«Si ce n'est pas dans le texte, ce n'est pas sur la scène» recommande un adage bien connu au théâtre. Dans le texte du livre, l'auteur justifie chaque mot, chaque pensée et chaque motivation qui seront utilisés dans Silent Tongue, le film à venir. D'une certaine manière, l'étude du livre peut se comparer à la lecture d'une recette de livre de cuisine. On y apprend en détail les ingrédients nécessaires à la réalisation finale. Sont listées en séquences les actions et les méthodes dont on a besoin, les étapes pour produire le résultat final. Bien sûr, chacun sait qu'il n'est pas possible de goûter le produit fini en lisant les pages d'un livre de cuisine. Seul un «chef» peut prendre ce qui est écrit sur chaque page et le transformer en une réalité, en en faisant quelque chose de merveilleux, quelque chose de substantiel.

Que nous vivions dans une époque de famine est évident pour n'importe quel lecteur de ce livre. Il n'y aura plus de performances étourdissantes, plus de film à apprécier. Plus jamais nous ne verrons un jeune homme venir face aux caméras et, à sa façon unique, sans égale, projeter des émotions venant des profondeurs de son âme vers son public pour qu'il s'en rassasie.

EXTERIEUR. SITE DE L'ARBRE FUNERAIRE - LA NUIT.

LA CAMERA PASSE EN PANORAMIQUE DU FEU A UNE VUE RAPPROCHEE DU FANTOME. On voit TALBOT assis de l'autre côté, son visage illuminé par la lueur du feu. Il s'agrippe à la carabine.

LE FANTOME : Tu me tournes le dos ? Tu penses que tu peux m'ignorer ?

TALBOT : Je me souviens de toi.

LE FANTOME : J'ai été vendue comme une esclave. Et maintenant tu veux que je continue d'être une esclave dans la mort ! Je suis morte en accouchant de ton enfant ! Un enfant dont je n'ai jamais voulu !

TALBOT craque. Il commence à pleurer ouvertement.

TALBOT : Je tiens - à toi.

LE FANTOME : Et tu pensais que je t'aimerais pour ça ?

TALBOT : Emmène-moi avec toi.

LE FANTOME : Tu n'as pas le droit de me demander ça ! Tu appartiens à ce monde, pas au mien.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Silent Tongue

Sam Shepard

Talbot Roe

Carolyn Pfeiffer

Academy Awards

Awbonnie Roe

Prescott Roe

Eamon McCree

States of Shock

Far North

The Right Stuff

John Malkovich

Jessica Lange

Patricia Arquette

States of Shock, Far North, Silent Tongue
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

States of Shock
Far North
Silent Tongue

by Sam Shepard.
First published in 1993.


ISBN 0-679-74218-2 (Paperback, 202 Pages)

To date, Sam Shepard has written more than forty plays for both stage and screen. He was awarded the Pulitzer Prize for Drama in 1979. Also an actor, Shepard received an Oscar nomination in 1984 for his performance in the movie The Right Stuff. The category was in fact Best Supporting Actor - the same award that River would be nominated for five years later.

Section one of this book is the script for States of Shock: A Vaudeville Nightmare, a stage play first performed at The American Place Theatre, New York in 1991. John Malkovich was amongst the original cast of the production playing the character of the Colonel.

Shepard wrote and directed the movie Far North in 1988. It starred Jessica Lange, Patricia Arquette and was produced by Carolyn Pfeiffer who worked closely with River in 1992 on the set of another of Shepard's movies - Silent Tongue.

The script from Silent Tongue is reproduced for the third and final section of this book.

PRESCOTT finds a seat on a barrel but seems stiff and awkward, painfully formal. They stare at each other a moment with PRESCOTT finding it difficult to speak. Pause.

EAMON: How's the daughter, then? Did she serve yer backward son well?

PRESCOTT: She's.... She's passed.

Pause. EAMON stares at him with no sign of remorse but nevertheless surprised at the news. PRESCOTT is seized with grief but tries to control it.

EAMON: Well - A deal's a deal after all. She was healthy when we made the swap. Far healthier than yer son, by all accounts. Can't very well return the horses now, anyway. It's been a year or more. Poor excuse for horseflesh in the first place.

PRESCOTT: I don't want the horses. It's not yer fault she died. It happened in childbirth. And the child went with her.

EAMON: I see. Well, there's no way to account for the trauma of birth, is there, now. That's one I've never got over, myself.

Pause. PRESCOTT unable to speak.

PRESCOTT: It's my son. He's taken a terrible grief over her. He's fallen even deeper inside himself. Weeks now. He refuses to eat, speak. He just.... He just stands over her corpse like a lost soul. Just watching. Speaking tongues. Guarding. As though she were still in the world.

"If it ain't on the page, it ain't on the stage," advises a well-known theatrical adage. In the pages of this book, the author documents every word, thought and motivation to be used in his forthcoming movie Silent Tongue. Perhaps the studying of this book can be likened to reading a recipe from a large kitchen cookbook. One learns in the finest of detail, the ingredients that go to make up the finished product. Listed sequentially are the actions and methods needed, the steps to be taken to produce the final result. Yet, everyone knows it is not possible to taste the finished product by reading from the page of a cookbook. It takes a master-chef to take what is written on the page and convert it into something real, turning it into something wonderful, something of substance.

That we now live in a time of famine is brought home to anyone who reads this book. There will be no more stunning performances, no more movies to enjoy. Never again will we see a young man step in front of a camera and, in his unmatched and unique way, project emotions from the depths of his soul for his audience to feast upon.

EXTERIOR. BURIAL TREE SITE - NIGHT.

CAMERA PANS OFF FIRE TO CLOSE ON THE GHOST. TALBOT is seen sitting across from her with the glow from the bonfire illuminating his face. He clutches the shotgun.

GHOST: You turn your back on me? You think you can refuse me?

TALBOT: I remember you.

GHOST: I was sold like a slave! And now you want to keep me a slave in death! I died giving birth to your child! A child I never wanted!

TALBOT breaks down. He begins to weep openly.

TALBOT: I hold - on to you.

GHOST: Did you think I would love you for that?

TALBOT: Take me with you.

GHOST: You have no right to ask me that! You belong in this world, not mine.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page