Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Little Nikita

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Sneakers

Gus Van Sant

Harrison Ford

Kiefer Sutherland

Sidney Poitier

Danny Pope

108 Portraits

Timothy White

Portraits
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Portraits

de Timothy White
1ère édition 2001


ISBN 0-8478-2398-9 (relié, 144 Pages)

Semblant d'abord suivre la même ligne que le livre 108 PortraitsGus Van Sant présente une collection de polaroïds en noir et blanc pris pour établir la distribution de ses films, l'oeuvre du photographe Timothy White, intitulée simplement Portraits, est une collection pittoresque d'images de personnalités issues des milieux du cinéma, du spectacle et de la musique.

On remarque notamment la préface du partenaire de River dans Mosquito Coast et la Dernière Croisade, Harrison Ford.

Après environ quinze années j'ai enfin eu de la chance et désormais je peux donner mon avis sur les photos de film (quelquefois). Souvent je peux participer au choix du photographe avec qui je dois travailler pour les faire.

Je choisis régulièrement Tim White depuis presque vingt ans. Nous avons fait des douzaines de photos pour des magazines et des affiches de films. Son travail vient soutenir mes ambitions et celles de ceux que nous nous sommes engagés à servir. Cette série de portraits est un témoignage du talent de Tim pour créer des images mémorables et durables. Elles sont pleines de couleurs. Elles donnent un point de vue unique. Elles sont magnétiques, elles vous attirent et elles vous retiennent.

White est engagé pour prendre des photographies de célébrités depuis plus de vingt ans. Outre plusieurs photos de Harrison Ford, les pièces de collection proposées ici incluent des photos du partenaire de River dans Stand By Me, Kiefer Sutherland, prises au Nouveau Mexique en 1991, ainsi qu'une photo des jours heureux de 1987 de Sidney Poitier, vedette avec River de Little Nikita et de Sneakers.

River lui-même apparaît dans une belle photographie. C'est celle où il est assis sur le sol près d'un tabouret de bar servant de miroir tenant un téléphone. Les carreaux du mur derrière lui atténuent une pose dans le style classique de Danny Pope. Ses yeux, mystérieux et sombres comme son pantalon de jean noir, qui trahissent à la fois un air de malice et une énergie débordante, sont pleins de vie. Le livre nous précise que cette photo a été prise à New York en mai 1988.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Little Nikita

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Sneakers

Gus Van Sant

Harrison Ford

Kiefer Sutherland

Sidney Poitier

Danny Pope

108 Portraits

Timothy White

Portraits
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Portraits

by Timothy White
First published in 2001


ISBN 0-8478-2398-9 (Hardback, 144 Pages)

Initially appearing to follow very much along the same lines as the book 108 Portraits in which Gus Van Sant presents a collection of black and white polaroids used to cast the films he has made, photographer Timothy White's collection, simply entitled Portraits, is a colourful collection of vivid imagery depicting personalities from the film, entertainment and music industries.

Most impressively, the book features a foreword written by River's Mosquito Coast and Last Crusade co-star, Harrison Ford.

After about fifteen years I got lucky and now I get stills approval (sometimes). Often I have a chance to participate in the choice of the photographer I am to work with for an assignment.

I've been choosing Tim White for almost twenty years. We've done dozens of magazine shoots and movie posters. The work that he does supports my ambitions and of those that we are both engaged in serving. This collection of portraits is a testimony to Tim's talent for creating memorable, enduring images with a distinct purpose. They're rich in color. They have a unique point of view. They're magnetic, drawing you in and holding you there.

White has been taking commissioned celebrity photographs for more than twenty years. In addition to several shots of Harrison Ford, the collectible archive presented here includes photos of River's Stand By Me co-star, Kiefer Sutherland, taken in New Mexico in 1991 and also River's Little Nikita and Sneakers co-star, Sidney Poitier, in a photograph which depicts happy times back in 1987.

River himself is featured in a lovely photograph. It's the one where he sits on the floor next to that reflective silver bar stool holding a telephone. The tiled wall behind him extenuates a classic Danny Pope style pose. His eyes, as dark and mysterious as the black jeans that he wears, both betray a sense of mischief as well as exuding limitless energy and are full of life. The book tells us that it was taken in New York City in May 1988.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page