Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Los Angeles

Explorers

Oregon

Peter Bogdanovich

Silent Tongue

Stand By Me

Running on Empty

My Own Private Idaho

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

Rob Reiner

Portland

Sidney Poitier

Sidney Lumet

Academy Awards

Vietnam

Sandra Bullock

William Hurt

Speed

The Movie Book

Manuel Avarado

Ed Buscombe

Tanya Krzywinska

Michael Newton

Alan Stowbrook

Alan Stevens

Catherine Surowiec

Emma Widdis
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

The Movie Book

Le Musée du Cinéma

de Manuel Avarado, Ed Buscombe, Tanya Krzywinska,
Michael Newton, Alan Stowbrook, Alan Stevens,
Catherine Surowiec et Emma Widdis
Première édition 1999


ISBN 0-7148-3847-0 (broché, 512 Pages)

Un des jeux à la mode avec l'arrivée du nouveau millénaire consiste à faire la liste des «dix meilleurs» ou des «cent meilleurs» dans toutes les catégories possibles. Ce livre va même un peu plus loin car il donne les «cinq cents meilleurs» de l'industrie du cinéma depuis le premier «cinématographe» des frères Lumière.

Il s'agit d'un livre de grande taille, fort pesant, plutôt cher, mais très beau, le genre de livre qu'on aime ouvrir au hasard. Un livre où le lecteur aime à vérifier si les auteurs partageaient ses choix personnels.

Le Musée du Cinéma rassemble quelque 500 personnalités venues de tous les horizons, et qui ont marqué l'histoire du septième art. Des précurseurs aux stars d'aujourd'hui, c'est l'industrie du cinéma dans son ensemble qui est réunie sous nos yeux, acteurs, réalisateurs, costumiers, maquilleurs, petits génies des effets spéciaux, animateurs, producteurs et autres nababs.

Les 500 sont présentés par ordre alphabétique et à la fin du livre figure un glossaire des termes techniques, des mouvements et des genres ainsi qu'un annuaire des festivals et des musées du cinéma. Une photographie ou un extrait de film illustre chaque page. Un court texte rappelle les informations biographiques essentielles. Avec un tel nombre de 500, il est presque aussi intéressant de découvrir les noms des absents et, bien sûr, certains n'y sont pas. Mais les principaux astres du septième art brillent dans ce livre.

Ceux qu'intéresse l'histoire de River trouveront beaucoup d'acteurs et de réalisateurs qui ont croisé son chemin pendant sa courte vie, tels que Peter Bogdanovich, Harrison Ford, William Hurt, Sidney Lumet, Sidney Poitier, Rob Reiner et Steven Spielberg bien que River lui-même ne soit mentionné dans aucune de ces pages.

Cependant, on trouve son nom dans deux autres pages, la première dédiée à Keanu Reeves, que l'on voit ici dans le célèbre bus de Speed avec Sandra Bullock. La seconde mention du nom de River est faite sur la page consacrée à Gus Van Sant où le texte suivant introduit une grande photo de River et de Keanu Reeves sur leur moto dans les rues de Portland, dans l'Oregon.

River Phoenix, dans le rôle d'un jeune prostitué homosexuel, et Keanu Reeves, le riche paumé qu'il vient de retrouver : scène de My Own Private Idaho (1991). Le film de Gus Van Sant est original, brillant et déconcertant, à la fois road-movie, drame shakespearien (le film offre même une transposition de Henry IV) et saga homosexuelle.

Mais ce n'est pas tout. Il est toujours agréable de découvrir que d'autres personnes partagent ses goûts. Mais, surtout, c'est aussi une grande joie de voir River recevoir parmi ses pairs la reconnaissance qu'il mérite.

Phoenix River - Acteur

Sur fond de feuillage, un jeune garçon qui sanglote est réconforté par son ami. Dans le film de Rob Reiner, Stand By Me (1986), quatre écoliers en randonnée dans la campagne découvrent, sur une voie ferrée, le cadavre d'un homme. La signification de cet événement est donnée au cours d'une narration faite en flash-back. Phoenix commença sa carrière très tôt, jouant et chantant dès l'âge de 10 ans et il fit ses débuts à l'écran dans Explorers (1985). Il obtint une nomination aux oscars pour sa prestation dans A Bout de Course (1988) de Sidney Lumet, où il joue le rôle d'un adolescent dont les parents fuient après avoir milité contre la guerre du Vietnam. Dans My Own Private Idaho (1991), il excelle dans le personnage d'un gigolo homosexuel qui tombe en narcolepsie alors qu'il se trouve en situation de stress. Phoenix tint le second rôle dans son dernier film, Silent Tongue (1994). Il mourut subitement en 1993 devant un club de Los Angeles.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Los Angeles

Explorers

Oregon

Peter Bogdanovich

Silent Tongue

Stand By Me

Running on Empty

My Own Private Idaho

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

Rob Reiner

Portland

Sidney Poitier

Sidney Lumet

Academy Awards

Vietnam

Sandra Bullock

William Hurt

Speed

The Movie Book

Manuel Avarado

Ed Buscombe

Tanya Krzywinska

Michael Newton

Alan Stowbrook

Alan Stevens

Catherine Surowiec

Emma Widdis
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

The Movie Book

by Manuel Avarado, Ed Buscombe, Tanya Krzywinska,
Michael Newton, Alan Stowbrook, Alan Stevens,
Catherine Surowiec and Emma Widdis.
First published in 1999.


ISBN 0-7148-3847-0 (Hardback, 512 Pages)

One of the favourite games with the arrival of the new millennium is to list the "top ten" or the "top one hundred" in every category possible. This book goes a little further as it lists the "top five hundred" in the cinema industry since the first "cinématographe" of the Lumière brothers.

It is a large size, very heavy, rather expensive but beautiful book, the kind of book one likes to open at random. A book where the reader likes to check if the authors shared his/her personal choices.

The Movie Book brings together 500 people from around the world that have made a landmark contribution to the medium of film. From the earliest pioneers to the stars of today, the entries cover the entire industry, including actors and directors, costume designers and make-up artists, special effects wizards and animators, producers, and major movie moguls.

The five hundred are listed in alphabetical order and at the end of the book there is a glossary of technical terms, movements and genres and a directory of film festivals and museums. A film still, photograph or cinematic sequence illustrates each page. A short text reminds the reader of essential biographical information. With such a figure like 500, it is almost as interesting to discover the names of the absent, and of course some are missing. But the main movie luminaries shine in this book.

Those interested by River's story will find many actors and directors who crossed his way during his short life like Peter Bogdanovich, Harrison Ford, William Hurt, Sidney Lumet, Sidney Poitier, Rob Reiner and Steven Spielberg though there is no mention of River in any of these entries.

However, such a reference is to be found on two other pages, the first one dedicated to Keanu Reeves who appears here in the famous Speed bus with Sandra Bullock. The second mention of River's name is made on Gus Van Sant's page where the following text introduces a large-sized picture of River and Keanu Reeves on their motorbike in Portland, Oregon.

River Phoenix as the young hustler and Keanu Reeves as the rich young drifter he meets up with in My Own Private Idaho (1991). Gus Van Sant's film is strange, original and brilliant - part road movie, part Shakespearean drama (at one point the film offers a rendering of Henry IV), part gay odyssey.

But that's not all. It is always satisfying to discover that other people share one's own preferences. And, above all, it is also a great joy to see River receiving the recognition he deserves among his peers.

Phoenix River - Actor

Against a leafy background, a weeping boy is comforted by his friend. In Rob Reiner's Stand By Me (1986), four schoolboys on a cross-country trek discover a dead body by a railtrack. The significance of the event is told in retrospective narration. Phoenix began to perform very early, acting and singing by the age of ten, and making his screen debut in Explorers (1985). He was nominated for an Oscar for his performance in Sidney Lumet's Running on Empty (1988) in which he played a teenager whose parents are on the run after participating in terrorist action against America's napalm bombing of Vietnam. In My Own Private Idaho (1991), he excelled as a gay hustler who, as a narcoleptic, falls asleep at stressful moments. Phoenix had a supporting role in his last film, Silent Tongue (1994). In 1993, his highly promising career came to an end when he collapsed and died outside a Los Angeles club.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page