Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Oregon

Peter Bogdanovich

The Thing Called Love

Stand By Me

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

James Dean

Stephen King

LucasFilm

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

Indiana Jones

The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles

Rob Reiner

Utah

Peter Weir

The Mosquito Coast (Novel)

Paul Theroux

Richard Dreyfuss

E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial

John Baxter

Sean Connery

What's Up, Doc?

Back to the Future

Orson Welles

Targets

Steven Spielberg: The Unauthorised Biography

Roy Neary

Close Encounters of the Third Kind

Marty McFly

Spain
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Steven Spielberg
The Unauthorised Biography

de John Baxter
Première édition 1996


ISBN 0-00-638444-7 (couv. souple, 480 pages)

En commençant cette longue et extraordinaire biographie, le croirez-vous, par une citation de River, l'auteur révèle comment Steven Spielberg a incorporé un grand nombre d'expériences de sa prime enfance dans beaucoup de ses films. Parmi ceux-là, on trouve E.T. où Gertie représente sa propre soeur et Rencontres du Troisième Type où Richard Dreyfus, la vedette de Stand By Me, joue le personnage de Ray Neary, une parodie peu affectueuse de son père. Dans chaque film de Spielberg on voit aussi une étoile filante, rappel d'une pluie de météores particulièrement spectaculaire dont, enfant, il fut le témoin.

De telles anecdotes sont amusantes mais constituent les premiers exemples des digressions faciles qu'aime faire l'auteur. Par exemple, en plein milieu de la présentation de Retour vers le Futur, l'auteur prend une tangente inattendue pour déplorer le rythme des changements sociaux et sexuels dans l'Amérique des années quatre-vingt. Pour une raison mystérieuse, il attire l'attention sur un exemple quelque peu déplacé :

En 1986, River Phoenix, âgé de quinze ans, se trouve dans l'Oregon pour Stand by Me, l'adaptation par Rob Reiner de l'histoire de Stephen King sur des amitiés d'enfance, et il perd là sa virginité avec une amie de sa famille hippie. Plutôt que de se glisser dans un motel, comme le firent Spielberg et beaucoup de jeunes de sa génération, le couple vient trouver les parents de River, John et Arlyn (qui s'est elle-même rebaptisée «Heart» -Coeur-) et leur demande : «Avons-nous votre bénédiction ?» Une tente est dressée spécialement pour l'occasion et décorée comme pour une fête. Heart décrira cette unique représentation comme «une magnifique expérience». Sa complaisance fait écho à celle des parents de Marty dans Retour vers le Futur, qui sourient avec indulgence devant l'intention de leur fils de passer le week-end dans la nature avec sa petite amie ; la liberté sexuelle sans culpabilité dont rêve tout adolescent.

Phoenix, qui jouera le jeune Indiana Jones dans Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade, peut être considéré comme l'emblème du nouvel Hollywood auquel tous les réalisateurs doivent s'habituer. Il ne partage aucune de leurs valeurs ou de leurs enthousiasmes. Il n'a jamais vu un film de James Dean, sans parler de ceux d'Orson Welles, et quand Peter Bogdanovich lui offre ce qui deviendra le dernier film achevé de l'acteur, The Thing Called Love, le réalisateur de Targets et What's Up, Doc ? doit lui expliquer qui il est : Phoenix n'a jamais entendu parler de lui.

Après s'être perdu dans d'autres impasses semblables, l'auteur en arrive finalement au film Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade, à la production et la réalisation duquel il consacre au total seize pages.

Harrison Ford vit mal son échec dans l'adaptation par Peter Weir du roman de Paul Theroux, The Mosquito Coast, dans un rôle sérieux qui, espérait-il, le délivrerait enfin des films d'action. Il veut alors faire un autre film de la série pour restaurer sa position au box-office.

Depuis sa maison espagnole, Sean Connery se plaint avec véhémence du trop long délai pour obtenir un script. Lucas hésite. Il veut notamment que le film débute avec un flash-back élaboré de l'enfance d'Indy dans l'Utah en 1912. Pour jouer le jeune Indy, Lucas et Spielberg engagent avec circonspection River Phoenix, le jeune acteur le plus en vue d'Hollywood, qui a déjà reçu maints éloges pour son rôle dans The Mosquito Coast face à Harrison Ford. Sa prise de rôle doit garantir l'intérêt du jeune public qui commence à trouver que Ford s'approche dangereusement de la retraite. C'est le secret le mieux gardé du film. Pour atténuer ses craintes sur le fait que Phoenix pourrait lui voler la vedette, ainsi qu'il l'avait déjà presque fait dans The Mosquito Coast, on avertit le jeune acteur de ne jamais imiter les manières de Ford à l'écran, ni de suggérer qu'il a la moindre envie de reprendre le rôle d'Indy. Le succès du personnage est tel, cependant, que Lucasfilm lancera une série pour la télévision décrivant la suite de ses aventures.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Heart Phoenix

John Phoenix

Oregon

Peter Bogdanovich

The Thing Called Love

Stand By Me

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

James Dean

Stephen King

LucasFilm

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

Indiana Jones

The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles

Rob Reiner

Utah

Peter Weir

The Mosquito Coast (Novel)

Paul Theroux

Richard Dreyfuss

E.T. the Extra-Terrestrial

John Baxter

Sean Connery

What's Up, Doc?

Back to the Future

Orson Welles

Targets

Steven Spielberg: The Unauthorised Biography

Roy Neary

Close Encounters of the Third Kind

Marty McFly

Spain
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Steven Spielberg
The Unauthorised Biography

by John Baxter.
First published in 1996.


ISBN 0-00-638444-7 (Paperback, 480 Pages)

Beginning this extraordinarily lengthy biography with, of all things, a quote from River, the author reveals how Steven Spielberg has incorporated a great number of his early childhood experiences into many of his movies. These include Gertie from the movie E.T. being his sister and Stand By Me star Richard Dreyfuss's character of Roy Neary in Close Encounters of the Third Kind being a less than affectionate parody of his father. Also to be found somewhere in every single Spielberg movie is a shooting star, the result of a particularly spectacular meteor shower that he witnessed as a small child.

Such anecdotes are entertaining but are the first examples of how easily the author becomes distracted. Whilst right in the middle of discussing Back to the Future for example, the author suddenly lurches off on an unexpected tangent, bemoaning the pace of social and sexual change in eighties America. For no apparent reason, one somewhat misplaced example is cited in particular:

In 1986, fifteen-year-old River Phoenix, on location in Oregon for Stand By Me, Rob Reiner's adaptation of Stephen King's story about childhood friendships, would abandon his virginity with a friend of his hippy family. Rather than sneak into a motel, as Spielberg and many of his generation had done, the couple approached River's parents John and Arlyn (who'd re-christened herself "Heart") and asked, "Can we have your good wishes?" A special tent was pitched for them, festively decorated. Heart called their one-night stand "a beautiful experience". Her complaisance echoes that of Marty's parents in Back to the Future, who smile indulgently about his intention to spend a weekend in the wilderness with his girlfriend; the guiltless sexual freedom every teenager dreamed of.

Phoenix, who would play young Indiana Jones in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade, could stand as an emblem of the emerging Hollywood to which all film-makers needed to accustom themselves. He shared none of their values or enthusiasms. He'd never seen a James Dean film, let alone one by Orson Welles, and when Peter Bogdanovich offered him what turned out to be the actor's last completed film, The Thing Called Love, the director of Targets and What's Up, Doc? had to explain who he was: Phoenix had never heard of him.

Despite travelling up further dead-ends in much the same way, the author eventually arrives at Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade devoting a total of sixteen pages to the history of the production and making of this movie.

Harrison Ford, smarting from his failure in Peter Weir's adaptation of Paul Theroux's novel The Mosquito Coast, a serious role which he'd hoped would release him permanently from action films, was willing to do another in the series to restore his box-office standing.

From his house in Spain, Sean Connery complained violently about the long delay in getting a script. Lucas stalled. He particularly wanted the film to open with an elaborate flashback to Indy's childhood in Utah in 1912. Cannily, Lucas and Spielberg hired River Phoenix, Hollywood's hottest young actor who'd already won praise for his role opposite Harrison Ford in Mosquito Coast, to play young Indy. His casting, which would guarantee the teen audience who had begun to think of Ford as dangerously superannuated, was the production's best-kept secret. To allay Ford's fears that Phoenix might steal the movie, as he had almost done on The Mosquito Coast, the young actor was warned never to imitate Ford's mannerisms on screen, nor suggest he had any interest in taking over the Indy role. Such was the success of the character, however, that Lucasfilm launched a TV series about his adventures.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page