Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Surviving: A Family in Crisis

The Mosquito Coast (Novel)

Paul Theroux

Sting

Malibu

Christopher Reeve

Glenn Close

Jamie Lee Curtis

Mollie Ringwald

Pierce Brosnan

Starlets - Before They Were Famous

Nancy Ellison

8mm

Nicholas Cage

Charo
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Starlets

Before They Were Famous

(Avant la célébrité)

de Nancy Ellison
Première édition 2002


ISBN 1-84222-512-X (Couv. souple, 128 pages)

Ce livre réunit vingt-cinq ans d'archives, la production de la carrière de la photographe d'Hollywood Nancy Ellison. L'ouvrage débute en outre par une introduction de l'écrivain Paul Theroux, auteur du roman The Mosquito Coast.

L'ouvrage présente une phalange de stars parmi lesquelles Nicholas Cage, partenaire de Joaquin Phoenix dans 8 mm, photographié à Malibu en 1985 et, dans quelques portraits très élégants, Molly Ringwald, partenaire de River dans Surviving. On peut trouver également dans cette collection de plus de soixante artistes des noms comme Christopher Reeve, Pierce Brosnan, Glenn Close et Jamie Lee Curtis.

Il avait quatorze ans quand nous nous sommes rencontrés la première fois. « Je pense changer mon nom de River Phoenix en Rio - comme Sting ». « Ou bien comme Charo » murmurais-je d'un ton ironique. Il a dû changer d'idée.

Nous avons travaillé ensemble fréquemment et chaque séance avait pour résultat une nouvelle réincarnation : River le petit garçon timide, River l'écologiste, River le musicien, River l'enragé, River le prince des ténèbres... mais tous possédaient la même énergie cachée et indomptée. Il était toujours expressif mais se cachait derrière un camouflage - toujours disponible mais capable de bâcler les choses. Sa prise de vue préférée était la plus sombre.

On trouve deux photographies de River dans le livre. L'image principale est celle quelque peu inconvenante d'un River « musclé » et dévoilant un de ses pectoraux, avec sur le visage l'expression inconfortable, on pourrait dire « peinée », aussi claire que jamais. L'autre photo est beaucoup plus impressionnante, non seulement pour ses qualités artistiques mais aussi pour sa réussite technique, car bien qu'utilisant un film photographique et une vitesse d'obturation rapides, River est photographié nerveusement, comme entre ciel et terre, en train de jouer de la guitare.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Surviving: A Family in Crisis

The Mosquito Coast (Novel)

Paul Theroux

Sting

Malibu

Christopher Reeve

Glenn Close

Jamie Lee Curtis

Mollie Ringwald

Pierce Brosnan

Starlets - Before They Were Famous

Nancy Ellison

8mm

Nicholas Cage

Charo
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Starlets

Before They Were Famous

by Nancy Ellison
First published in 2002


ISBN 1-84222-512-X (Paperback, 128 Pages)

Twenty-five years worth of archive material are presented here, the product of the career of Hollywood photographer Nancy Ellison. In addition, the book includes an introduction by the author Paul Theroux who wrote the novel The Mosquito Coast.

The book features a whole host of stars including Joaquin Phoenix's 8mm co-star Nicholas Cage who is photographed in Malibu in 1985 as well as some very elegant photographic portraits of River's Surviving co-star, Molly Ringwald. In addition, Christopher Reeve, Pierce Brosnan, Glenn Close and Jamie Lee Curtis can also be found in this collection of more than sixty artists.

He was fourteen when we first met. "I've been thinking about changing my name from River Phoenix to Rio - like Sting." "Or like Charo," I mused ironically. He must have dropped the idea.

We worked together frequently and each session produced a new reincarnation: River the coy toy boy, River the environmentalist, River the musician, River the maniac, River the dark prince... but they all carried the same untamed covert energy. He was always expressive but camouflaged - always available but capable of bolting. His favorite shot was the darkest.

There are two photographs of River presented in this book. The main image is the ill-fitting "beef-cake" shot of River exposing a nipple, the uncomfortable, some might say "pained," expression on his face still as clear as ever. The other photo is much more impressive, not only for it's artistic merit but also for the technical achievement as, using an obviously very fast photographic film and short camera shutter speed, River is photographed crisply and clearly in mid-air playing his guitar.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page