Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Dermot Mulroney

Silent Tongue

James Dean

Belbo Films

Alive Films

Sam Shepard

Talbot Roe

Alan Bates

Richard Harris

Carolyn Pfeiffer

Sheila Tousey

Academy Awards

Prescott Roe

Eamon McCree

Far North

Jeri Arredondo

Bright Angel

Thunderheart

Clint Eastwood

Sam Shepard

Don Shewey

Gregory Peck

Albert Finney

Val Kilmer

Unforgiven

The Field
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Sam Shepard

de Don Shewey
Nouvelle édition 1997


ISBN 0-306-80770-X (couv. souple, 282 pages)

La carrière de Sam Shepard s'étend sur plus de trente années consacrées d'une part à l'écriture pour le théâtre et le cinéma et d'autre part à l'écran comme acteur et réalisateur. Publiée pour la première fois en 1985, cette biographie a été mise à jour par son auteur Don Shewey, qui l'a complétée des douze années au cours desquelles la réputation professionnelle de Shepard n'a fait que croître encore davantage.

Silent Tongue est le premier western financé par des Français. Bebo Films fournit les fonds bien que Carolyn Pfeiffer d'Alive Films supervise la production, ainsi qu'elle l'avait déjà fait pour Far North. A l'origine, Silent Tongue devait être tourné avec deux légendes du cinéma, Gregory Peck et Albert Finney, ainsi que Val Kilmer avec qui Shepard a récemment joué dans Thunderheart. Après la longue chasse au financement si commune et si exaspérante pour les producteurs indépendants, le film n'est tourné qu'en 1992. Shepard a alors perdu les acteurs qu'il espérait mais la distribution finale n'est pas si mauvaise. Alan Bates joue Eamon McCree, le propriétaire du «Spectacle Médecine», et Shepard recrute Dermot Mulroney, qui avait joué dans Bright Angel, pour le rôle du fils à moitié Indien. Richard Harris, récemment vu dans Unforgiven (Impitoyable), le Western décalé de Clint Eastwood, et nommé aux Oscars pour The Field, joue Prescott et River Phoenix, le talentueux jeune acteur, sur les traces de James Dean dont il partage l'âme expressive et le calme, est son fils Talbot, que la douleur a rendu fou.

Comme pour tous les autres films et pièces de Shepard, le livre s'emploie à saluer non seulement les vedettes principales mais aussi les seconds rôles, et il inclut ici de manière inattendue mais bienvenue la reconnaissance de l'héritage indien Apache-Mescalero de l'actrice Jeri Arredondo. Malheureusement, le nom de celle-ci est écorché du début à la fin de l'ouvrage.

Bien que l'auteur qualifie Silent Tongue de «splendide», il ne cache pas que les deux premiers films de Shepard, Far North et Silent Tongue, sont des échecs commerciaux. L'ouvrage au final est une biographie équilibrée qui n'est décevante que par le nombre d'erreurs orthographiques.

Le film raconte deux histoires parallèles de pères et de fils. Les seules femmes du film sont deux soeurs métisses, l'une vivante, l'autre un fantôme. Elles sont cependant des figures centrales. Leur mère apparaît aussi brièvement et symboliquement - elle est le personnage-titre, une Indienne qui a eu la langue coupée après avoir été violée par un homme blanc. Quand une des soeurs meurt en accouchant, son jeune époux blanc devient fou de douleur et refuse de donner à son cadavre une sépulture convenable.

River Phoenix passe beaucoup de temps à travailler le rôle de Talbot, dément et fou d'amour, qui ne quitte pas le corps de sa femme métisse. Il fréquente les Indiens Kiowa, se frotte le visage avec de l'écorce brûlée et s'ébouriffe les cheveux avec les poings. Il se jette même à terre pour se rouler dans la poussière.

Le temps que River consacrait à adopter la personnalité jusqu'à devenir vraiment le personnage qu'il allait jouer a été bien étudié et même ridiculisé à l'occasion par des auteurs peu habiles qui cherchaient l'humour à bon marché afin d'améliorer une écriture ennuyeuse. Cependant Shewey préfère inclure dans son ouvrage des histoires fascinantes, des anecdotes intéressantes et des faits inhabituels. Il décrit, en les appréciant, les multiples techniques de jeu qu'utilisent les acteurs. Le résultat vaut d'être lu.

Shepard encourage les efforts intenses de Phoenix pour rentrer dans la peau du personnage. Pour renforcer le lien entre Talbot et sa femme morte, il attache littéralement Phoenix à Sheila Tousey avec de la ficelle pendant les répétitions. «Grotowski a dit une fois une grande chose sur la direction d'acteur. Il a dit que vous deviez séduire les acteurs ; vous devez en fait inviter les acteurs à entrer dans un monde où ils pensent ne jamais être allés. Avant tout, vous devez encourager les acteurs à être courageux. Beaucoup d'entre eux le souhaitent mais ils ont une peur terrible. Presque tout bon acteur que j'ai rencontré est terrifié quelque part à l'intérieur de lui-même. Et vous devez rendre cette terreur moins prégnante en le persuadant d'explorer quelque chose qui peut être dangereux mais qui, au final, paiera.» Malheureusement, quand Silent Tongue sort, River Phoenix est mort, une autre triste disparition due à la drogue. A 23 ans.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Dermot Mulroney

Silent Tongue

James Dean

Belbo Films

Alive Films

Sam Shepard

Talbot Roe

Alan Bates

Richard Harris

Carolyn Pfeiffer

Sheila Tousey

Academy Awards

Prescott Roe

Eamon McCree

Far North

Jeri Arredondo

Bright Angel

Thunderheart

Clint Eastwood

Sam Shepard

Don Shewey

Gregory Peck

Albert Finney

Val Kilmer

Unforgiven

The Field
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Sam Shepard

by Don Shewey.
Updated edition first published in 1997.


ISBN 0-306-80770-X (Paperback, 282 Pages)

Sam Shepard's career now spans more than thirty years writing theatrical plays, screenplays, acting and directing movies. First published in 1985, author Don Shewey has updated this biography recording a further twelve years that has seen Shepard's professional reputation grow from strength to strength.

Silent Tongue was the first ever French-financed Western. Belbo Films put up the money, though Alive Films' Carolyn Pfeiffer oversaw the production, as she did Far North. Originally Silent Tongue was going to star two movie legends, Gregory Peck and Albert Finney, as well as Val Kilmer, with whom Shepard had recently acted in Thunderheart. In the years-long hunt for financing that's maddeningly common for independent filmmaking - the picture finally went into production in 1992 - Shepard lost those actors, but the cast he got was not too shabby, either. Alan Bates played Eamon McCree, the Medicine Show owner, and Shepard cast Dermot Mulroney, who starred in Bright Angel, as his half-Indian son. Richard Harris, who'd recently appeared in Clint Eastwood's downbeat Western Unforgiven and won an Oscar nomination for The Field, played Prescott, and River Phoenix, a talented young actor with traces of James Dean's quiet soulfulness, was his grief-crazed son Talbot.

Just as it does with all of Shepard's movies and stage productions, the book takes time to acknowledge not only the main stars but also the work of the supporting actors as well, including the unexpected but very welcome recognition of Silent Tongue star Jeri Arredondo's full-blooded Mescalero-Apache Indian heritage. Is is unfortunate though this Ms. Arredondo's name is spelt incorrectly throughout the book.

Although describing Silent Tongue as "looking gorgeous," the author is not afraid to admit that unfortunately both of Shepard's first two movies, Far North and Silent Tongue were box office failures. The finished product is a well-balanced biography that is let down only by further numerous spelling mistakes.

The film tells two parallel stories about fathers and sons. The only women who figure in the movie are a pair of half-breed sisters, one who's living and one who's a ghost. They are, however, central figures. Their mother also appears briefly and symbolically - she is the title character, an Indian woman who had her tongue cut out after being raped by a white man. When one sister dies in childbirth, her young white husband goes crazy with grief and refuses to give her body proper burial.

River Phoenix spent a good deal of time working on his performance as the demented, love-crazed Talbot, who won't leave the dead body of his half-breed wife. Phoenix hung around with the Kiowa Indians, wore burnt cork on his face, and rumpled his hair with his fists. Every so often he would throw himself to the ground and writhe in the dirt.

The extraordinary lengths that River went through to first adopt the personality and then truly become whatever character he was about to play have been well documented, even ridiculed on occasion by less adept writers looking for cheap laughs to brighten an otherwise dull piece of writing. Shewey however prefers to fill his work with fascinating stories, interesting anecdotes and unusual facts, and instead spends time recognizing and appreciating the various acting techniques that performers make use of. The result is a most worthy read.

Shepard encouraged Phoenix's intense efforts to get into character. To reinforce the bond Talbot feels to his dead wife, during rehearsals Shepard literally tied Phoenix to Sheila Tousey with a piece of twine. "Grotowski once said a great thing about directing. He said you have to seduce the actors; you actually have to invite actors into a world where they feel they've never been before. More than anything you have to encourage actors to be courageous. Most of them want to be, but there's a tremendous fear. Almost every really good actor I've come across in some part of himself is terrified. And you have to make that terror less prevalent by inviting him to explore something that may be dangerous but in the end is going to pay off." Unfortunately, by the time Silent Tongue opened, River Phoenix was dead, another sad drug casualty, at age 23.


Previous Page
For France, and services rendered....

Click here for advice on obtaining this title.

Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page