Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Rain Phoenix

Summer Phoenix

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Running on Empty

Viper Room

William Richert

Nick Richert

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Eddie Birdlace

Martha Plimpton

Arthur Rimbaud

Volker Schlondorff

Lorna Phillips

Animal Rights

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Romeo and Julliet

Running on Empty (Biography)

John Barker

Linda McCartney

Leonardo DiCaprio

The Man in the Iron Mask

Timothy Bottoms

Agnieszka Holland

Total Eclipse
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

«River Phoenix était un jeune homme généreux et compatissant qui aurait fait n'importe quoi, n'importe quand, pour n'importe qui.»

- John L. Barker


Running on Empty

(A bout de course)

de John L. Barker
Première édition 1998


ISBN 0-9665612-0-1 (couv. souple, 288 pages)

Au cours des années, Hollywood a produit des stars sans nombre, des visages familiers gravés d'abord sur les écrans puis dans le coeur des fans du monde entier. Les médias ainsi que la machine publicitaire hollywoodienne se démènent pour répondre à la demande d'information sur ces stars - leur oeuvre, leur histoire, les détails personnels et leurs idées sur la vie par exemple. Cela dit, peu de célébrités d'Hollywood ont eu des fans qui se sentent si profondément concernés par elles qu'ils investissent eux-mêmes beaucoup de leur temps et de leur argent pour écrire et publier un livre sur leur idole. River Phoenix a inspiré un tel homme qui a fait exactement cela, et cet homme se nomme John Barker.

Sans doute trouverez-vous des circonstances où j'éditorialise, où même je pontifie et où je semble parfois placer River Phoenix sur un piédestal. Franchement, c'est exactement ce que je fais. Je m'en excuse à l'avance. C'est simplement ma manière de réhabiliter son image ternie, en lui accordant la reconnaissance qu'il mérite, puisque j'admets être un de ses fans les plus dévoués.

Très averti de son sujet, Barker débute son livre en comparant et en opposant certains des parallèles les plus intéressants de la carrière de River, en identifiant avec succès un nombre étonnant de liens entre ce qui semble initialement des films plutôt différents. L'auteur poursuit en examinant les thèmes récurrents de la carrière de River comme ceux du «fils aîné» ou de «la figure paternelle». Est également soulignée avec justesse et subtilité la capacité de River à exprimer la sensibilité de ses personnages en utilisant simplement son extraordinaire jeu d'acteur plutôt qu'en se reposant sur le script.

Le livre comprend un profil biographique de River hors du champ des caméras ainsi qu'une section incluant un résumé et un synopsis de chacun de ses films. On trouve également une série de poèmes et d'histoires.

Alors Eddie joue de tous ses charmes pour s'assurer du rendez-vous. Il invente le nom d'un chanteur, Jim Swain, et fait des compliments sur la manière de chanter des folksongs qui n'en mérite pas tant. Il jure et s'excuse immédiatement : «Je n'ai pas l'habitude d'être avec des dames.» Pas de blagues, Eddie. Il continue de ne pas y aller avec le dos de la cuillère, mais en vain, pense-t-il.

Avec succès l'auteur emmène ses lecteurs faire une balade agréable dans la courte vie ainsi que la carrière de River. Le voyage est en fait si agréable que ce n'est qu'au bout de quelque temps qu'on réalise qu'il y a malheureusement quelque chose qui ne va pas.

Tout au long du livre, il est un sujet qui revient sans arrêt. Le lecteur pourrait supposer que c'est un sujet très important étant donné qu'il est mentionné, selon notre propre décompte, pas moins de soixante cinq fois. Mais ce n'est pas l'intérêt de River pour les animaux ou pour l'environnement qui est évoqué aussi souvent. Il ne s'agit pas de ses performances magiques face aux caméras ou bien de l'amour et de la générosité infinis que River offrit à sa famille et à ses amis.

Le 31 octobre 1993, un jeune acteur et chanteur, River Phoenix, s'effondra devant une boite de nuit d'Hollywood, le Viper Room, à la suite d'une overdose prise dans ce night-club. Le 16 janvier 1995, un jeune acteur et chanteur, Jason Donovan, s'effondra devant une boîte de nuit d'Hollywood, le Viper Room, à la suite d'une overdose prise dans ce night-club. Tous les deux furent conduits rapidement à l'hôpital du lieu, Cedars-Sinaï.

Un concours de circonstances identiques jusqu'à ce point, mais les ressemblances s'arrêtent là, car l'un des deux survécut et l'autre mourut.

Aujourd'hui, lorsque les médias parlent de ces deux acteurs, leur entrée en matière est toujours la même. Ils commencent toujours par décrire l'un des deux comme un «acteur et chanteur» puis décrivent l'autre comme un «toxicomane». Dans la mesure où l'on peut prétendre qu'un des deux acteurs-chanteurs est bien meilleur que l'autre à l'un et l'autre titre, nous pensons qu'il y a là quelque injustice.

Peut-être la promesse de «rétablir l'image ternie de River» nous a donné trop d'espoir, néanmoins en plusieurs occasions nous sommes restés perplexes. La drogue est un sujet qui doit bien sûr être abordé dans une telle biographie, mais le faire dans une page sur deux est, au mieux, hors de proportion avec la personne exceptionnelle dont il est question. On ne se souvient pas de Linda McCartney pour son cancer du sein, mais plutôt en raison de la passion qu'elle mettait dans ses campagnes en faveur du mode de vie végétarien ou de son soutien désintéressé pour le bien-être des animaux. Il devrait en être de même avec le Prince de l'écran.

Néanmoins, si on laisse de côté cette unique raison de manifester son mécontentement, c'est avec soulagement qu'on constate que la description de l'attitude de River envers autrui est tout simplement parfaite...

Quand une de ses amies de Gainesville ne peut rembourser une dette après un accident avec sa voiture, River donne un concert à son bénéfice avec Aleka's Attic. Alors qu'il aurait pu facilement lui donner directement l'argent, il pense d'abord à la dignité de son amie et fait un autre choix. Cela en dit long sur la générosité et la compassion si typique du jeune acteur millionnaire.

Le livre s'emploie à témoigner de tels faits et donne une juste impression de la manière dont River traitait ses amis et ceux qui l'entouraient. Avec la même justesse, il montre aussi comment River fut lui-même traité.

L'incident qui survient à la maison funéraire, le jour précédant la crémation, en dit long sur la corruption rampante dans le show business. Un photographe de bas-étage se glisse dans la place, arrange la dépouille de River dans le cercueil et la photographie pour vendre ensuite la photo au tabloïd National Enquirer, qui l'étale dans sa double page centrale. Cet acte de profanation prouve clairement que des monstres viennent toujours rôder sur Terre.

En effet les monstres rôdent toujours sur Terre et ils prennent des formes et des déguisements variés. Des prétendus fans essaient par exemple de faire sortir des films ou des chansons pourtant inachevés, prêts à tout pour se saisir du dernier morceau de River, avec peu sinon aucune considération pour River et sa famille. Au cours de sa vie, River Phoenix eut une existence tourmentée et il vit son énergie vitale aspirée au sens propre. Même dans la mort, il ne lui a pas été permis, et cela reste vrai, de trouver la paix et l'intimité qu'il a tant désirées.

Qu'il y ait à l'autre bout du spectre de l'éthique des êtres humains prêts à créer une oeuvre telle que cet ouvrage fait des merveilles pour restaurer l'opinion que l'on peut avoir de la race humaine.

River renforce aussi son idylle avec Martha Plimpton dans la vie réelle comme à l'écran. Elle a un rôle plus important dans Running on Empty où elle joue la fille du professeur de musique. La chimie entre les deux jeunes vedettes ressemble à un scénario de Roméo et Juliette, sauf qu'il est bien réel. A la longue cependant, même si leur relation est la plus longue des trois qu'aura River, elle ne se poursuivra pas plus de deux années. Des amis ont dit qu'avec sa forte personnalité anti-drogue, Martha Plimpton aurait pu l'aider à éviter l'abus de substances qui occupe les deux dernières années de la vie de River. Mais comme il arrive pour les plans les mieux préparés, ils ont rompu et River n'a pas eu le filet de sécurité dont il avait besoin pour se concentrer dans la bonne direction. Le résultat sera tragiquement évident.


Liste des Bourdes

Page 33
Très désireuse de faire son apparition, la soeur de River, Rain, est née six jours plus tôt que prévu le 31 mars 1973 et non le 25 février. Une erreur identique se reproduit à la page 37 avec Summer dont la date de naissance est erronée à une semaine près.

 

Page 101

Leonardo DiCaprio est effectivement devenu l'héritier apparent de River, faisant deux films, Total Eclipse et The Man in the Iron Mask (L'Homme au Masque de Fer), que River s'était engagé à tourner, ainsi que The Basketball Diaries qu'il souhaitait faire.

L'idée selon laquelle Leonardo DiCapRio succéderait, pour ainsi dire, à River est une théorie populaire mais qui ne résiste pas à l'analyse. Le film L'Homme au Masque de Fer dans lequel joue DiCaprio n'a absolument rien à voir avec la version de William Richert, avec en vedette Timothy Bottoms et Nick Richert, le fils de Richert et l'ami de River. Celui-ci avait accepté d'y apparaître pour faire plaisir à son proche ami et réalisateur . De la même manière il n'est pas clair que la biographie de Rimbaud, qu'avait en projet Volker Schlondorff et qui intéressait River, soit bien devenue finalement le film d'Agnieszka Holland Total Eclipse.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Rain Phoenix

Summer Phoenix

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Running on Empty

Viper Room

William Richert

Nick Richert

Gainesville

Aleka's Attic

Eddie Birdlace

Martha Plimpton

Arthur Rimbaud

Volker Schlondorff

Lorna Phillips

Animal Rights

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Cedars-Sinai Medical Center

Romeo and Julliet

Running on Empty (Biography)

John Barker

Linda McCartney

Leonardo DiCaprio

The Man in the Iron Mask

Timothy Bottoms

Agnieszka Holland

Total Eclipse
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

"River Phoenix was a generous, compassionate young man who would do anything at any time for anybody."

- John L. Barker


Running on Empty

by John L. Barker.
First published in 1998.


ISBN 0-9665612-0-1 (Paperback, 288 Pages)

Hollywood has produced countless stars over the years, familiar faces etched first onto the silver screen and then into the hearts of fans the world over. Both the media and Hollywood's very own publicity machines will strive to supply the demand for information about these stars - their work, their history, their personal details and their outlook on life for example. Yet, not many Hollywood celebrities have fans who care so deeply for them that they themselves will invest considerable amounts of their own time and money writing and then publishing a book about their idol. River Phoenix has inspired one such individual to do exactly that, and his name is John Barker.

You will no doubt find instances where I will editorialize, possibly even "pontificate" and at times appear to put River Phoenix on a pedestal. Quite simply, that is exactly what I am doing. For this I apologize in advance. It is simply my way of restoring his tarnished image by giving him the caring recognition that he deserves, as I am admittedly one of his most devoted fans.

Most knowledgeable about his subject, Barker begins his book by comparing and contrasting some of the more interesting parallels of River's career, successfully identifying a number fascinating links between what initially appear to be quite separate movies. The author continues by examining the recurring themes of River's career such as "the elder son" and "the strong father-figure." Also, quite rightly pointed out is the always subtle indication of his character's sensitivity that River was able to make apparent simply by the use of outstanding acting rather than relying on the script itself.

The book includes a biographical profile of River's life away from the camera as well as a section containing the story-lines and plot details for each of River's films. Also present is a collection of poetry and stories.

Now Eddie absolutely oozes charm in his efforts to secure the date. He makes up a singer's name, Jim Swain, and compliments the folksinging that is not that great. He cusses and immediately apologizes. "I'm not used to being around ladies." No kidding, Eddie. He continues to lay it on with a trowel, but for naught, he thinks.

The author successfully takes his readers on an enjoyable tour of River's short life and career. So enjoyable is this journey in fact that it is quite someway into it before one realizes that there is regrettably something not quite right with this book.

Throughout the book, one subject is repeatedly returned to time and time again. The reader might assume that it is a subject that must be very important given that it is mentioned, by our count, an extraordinary total of sixty-five times. Yet, it is not River's concerns for animals or the environment that is written about so often. It is not the magical performances he gave in front of a camera or the infinite amounts of love and generosity that River gave to his family and friends.

On October 31, 1993, a young actor and singer, River Phoenix, collapsed outside Hollywood nightclub the Viper Room - the result of a drug overdose taken inside the club. On January 16, 1995, a young actor and singer, Jason Donovan, collapsed outside Hollywood nightclub the Viper Room - the result of a drug overdose taken inside the club. Both were rushed to the local Cedars-Sinai hospital.

An identical set of circumstances up until that point, but it is there that the similarities end, because one of them lived and one of them died.

Today, when the media talks of these actors, their introductions are always the same. They will always begin by describing one of them as an "actor and singer" and yet describe the other as a "drug addict". Given that one of these actor-singer's arguably betters the other on both counts, we believe this to be something of an injustice.

Maybe promises of "restoring River's tarnished image" raised our hopes too highly but we were nevertheless left somewhat puzzled on several occasions. The subject of narcotics should be addressed in a biography such as this, but to do so on almost every other page is, at best, out of proportion with the unique person that is being discussed. Linda McCartney is not remembered for breast cancer, but rather her wholehearted promotion of the vegetarian lifestyle as well as her selfless support for the welfare of animals. So should it be with the Prince of the silver-screen.

Nevertheless, putting this one (and only) gripe to one side, it was something of a relief to see that the author's description of River's attitude to others is quite simply, spot-on....

When a friend of his in Gainesville could not afford to pay a debt after an accident with her vehicle, River had Aleka's Attic play a benefit to raise money for her. Even though he could have easily afforded to just give her the money, he thought first of her self-esteem and took the other route. This shows a generosity and compassion so typical of the millionaire teen actor.

The book goes some way to demonstrate incidents such as this and gives an accurate impression of just how River treated his friends and those around him. It also shows, equally accurately, just how River was himself treated by others.

The incident in the funeral home the day before his cremation tells as much as anything about the corruption running rampant in show business. A low-life photographer sneaked into the place, rearranged River's body in the casket and photographed it, selling the photo to the tabloid National Enquirer, who splashed it across their center spread. This act of desecration clearly illustrates the fact that there are still monsters roaming the Earth.

Monsters still roam the earth, and they take on many varied forms and disguises. So called fans for example, who selfishly attempt to get unfinished movies released and songs published, desperate to get hold of every last piece of River with little if any consideration given to either River or his family. In life, River Phoenix spent a tormented existence having the very life sucked right out of him. It appears that even in death, River was not, and is still not, allowed to find the peace and privacy he so longed for.

That there are other human beings at the opposite end of this ethical spectrum selflessly prepared to create works such as this does wonders for restoring ones' opinion of the human race.

River also solidified his off-screen romance with Martha Plimpton by romancing her on-screen as well. She had a meatier role in Running on Empty as the daughter of the music teacher. The chemistry between the two young stars is much like a Romeo-and-Juliet scenario, except it was genuine. In the long run, however, their relationship, even though it was the longest of the three River would have, did not last more than a couple of more years. Friends have indicated that with Martha Plimpton's strong anti-drug personality, she might have helped him avoid the substance abuse that claimed the last two years of his life. As the story goes about the best-laid plans, they broke up and River did not have the safety net he needed to keep him focused in the right direction. The result is tragically obvious.


Blunder List

Page 33
Keen to make her appearance River's sister Rain was born six days earlier than planned on March 31, 1973 not February 25. A similar error occurs on page 37 with Summer's stated date of birth being a week out.

 

Page 101

Leonardo DiCaprio has effectively become River's heir apparent, doing two films, Total Eclipse and The Man in the Iron Mask that River had been signed to do, plus The Basketball Diaries that he wanted to do.

The idea of Leonardo DiCapRio "taking over" from River so to speak is a popular theory but one that doesn't stand up to much investigation. The movie The Man in the Iron Mask that DiCaprio starred in has absolutely nothing to do with William Richert's version, starring Timothy Bottoms and Richert's son/River's friend Nick Richert, which River had agreed to appear in as a favor to his director and close friend. Likewise, whether or not Volker Schlondorff's Rimbaud biography project that River was interested in ultimately became Agnieszka Holland's Total Eclipse, is also unclear.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page