Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Stand By Me

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Portland

SpaceCamp

William Shakespeare

Edward Scissorhands

Henry IV

The Rough Guide to Cult Movies

Paul Simpson

The Rough Guide to Jazz

The Rough Guide to Opera

Godzilla

Starship Troopers

Jaws 3-D

Gladiator

To Die For

Anders Als Die Anderen
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

The Rough Guide to Cult Movies

Le Rough Guide des films-cultes

sous la direction de Paul Simpson
Première édition 2001


ISBN 1-85828-960-2 (couv. souple, 484 pages)

La série des guides de tourisme du « Rough Guide », qui comprend déjà plus de cent cinquante titres, s'est enrichie récemment de titres sur la musique comme Le Rough Guide du Jazz et Le Rough Guide de l'Opéra. Aujourd'hui le champ de la série s'étend encore davantage avec ce Rough Guide des Films-cultes.

Il s'agit d'un livre de référence assez décalé par rapport aux autres livres de la même catégorie présentés dans la Bibliothèque Phoenix. Il regorge d'anecdotes, de photos en noir et blanc, d'articles et d'histoires passionnantes survenues dans les coulisses. Les films présentés dans ce livre sont regroupés dans quatre-vingt sections allant de « Comédies » à « Arts Martiaux » et « Science Fiction » en passant par des chapitres plus bizarres comme « Godzilla » et « Navets ».

C'est un petit livre de référence très pratique pour une visite au magasin vidéo du coin, mais à la lecture, la notion de « film culte » devient assez obscure. Par exemple, elle inclut Starship Troopers, Edward aux Mains d'Argent et le faible Les Dents de la Mer en 3 D mais pas Stand By Me.

Il est vrai qu'on y trouve les films de Joaquin Phoenix's Gladiator, To Die For et SpaceCamp mais un seul film de River y figure.

My Own Private Idaho 1991
Mike (Phoenix) et Scott (Reeves) sont des prostitués du centre-ville de Portland dans l'Oregon. Mike est narcoleptique et Scott est en réalité le fils bisexuel du maire de la ville, qui s'abaisse à fréquenter des vauriens des rues. L'histoire vagabonde dans une recréation originale quoique assez peu réussie de l'Henry IV de Shakespeare, mais la relation entre les deux jeunes gens est au coeur du film.

Prise en sandwich entre les chapitres « Gangsters » et « Godzilla », la section « Gay » introduit onze films, y compris un obscur film allemand, Anders Als Die Anderen tourné en 1919 dont toutes les copies furent détruites volontairement pendant la Seconde Guerre Mondiale. Le livre raconte toutefois comment une copie abîmée a été redécouverte puis restaurée.

Mike recherche quelqu'un qui l'aimerait et pense l'avoir trouvé en la personne de Scott, mais celui-ci n'en est pas si sûr. Le détachement rêveur de Mike, qui reflète sa vie sans racine comme sa maladie du sommeil, l'empêche de ressentir les choses trop fortement mais son désir d'amour est palpable. Les très belles scènes sur la route et autour du feu de camp sont bouleversantes, aussi bien visuellement qu'émotionnellement, et Van Sant obtient une des meilleures performances (et hélas la dernière) de River Phoenix.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

Stand By Me

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Portland

SpaceCamp

William Shakespeare

Edward Scissorhands

Henry IV

The Rough Guide to Cult Movies

Paul Simpson

The Rough Guide to Jazz

The Rough Guide to Opera

Godzilla

Starship Troopers

Jaws 3-D

Gladiator

To Die For

Anders Als Die Anderen
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

The Rough Guide to Cult Movies

Edited by Paul Simpson
First published in 2001


ISBN 1-85828-960-2 (Paperback, 484 Pages)

The "Rough Guide" series of travel books which already contains more than one hundred and fifty titles, has now been extended, first with music titles such as The Rough Guide to Jazz and The Rough Guide to Opera, and now this edition extends the scope of the series still further with The Rough Guide to Cult Movies.

It's an off-the-wall movie reference, quite unlike any of the other film reference books featured in Phoenix Bookshelf. It's crammed full with countless anecdotes, black-and-white photographs, reviews and many interesting behind-the-scenes stories. The films discussed in the book are grouped together into eighty separate sections featuring everything from "Comedies", "Martial Arts" and "Sci-fi" through to the more bizarre "Godzilla" and "Turkeys" chapters.

It's a handy little reference book to have when visiting a local video rental store, but when working your way through it from cover to cover, it soon becomes very unclear as to just what exactly constitutes a "cult movie." For example, Starship Troopers, Edward Scissorhands and the feeble Jaws 3-D are all included, but Stand By Me isn't.

Indeed, Joaquin Phoenix's Gladiator, To Die For and SpaceCamp are also present but in fact there's only one of River's movies to be found here.

My Own Private Idaho 1991
Mike (Phoenix) and Scott (Reeves) are rent boys in downtown Portland, Oregon. Mike is narcoleptic, and Scott just happens to be the bi-sexual son of the town's mayor, slumming it with deadbeat street characters. The story wanders into an offbeat reworking of Shakespeare's Henry IV which doesn't quite succeed, but the relationship between the two young men is the heart of the film.

Sandwiched between the "Gangster" and "Godzilla" chapters, the "Gay" section features eleven movies altogether including an obscure German film Anders Als Die Anderen from as early as 1919. Almost every copy of this movie was deliberately destroyed during the Second World War, but the book relates how a fragmented print of this work has since been uncovered and restored.

Mike is looking for someone who will love him and he thinks he has found that person in Scott, but Scott isn't so sure. Mike's dreamy detachment, reflecting his rootless life as well as his sleeping sickness, keeps him from feeling things too strongly, but his longing for love is palpable. The beautifully shot scenes on the road and by the campfire are stunning, both visually and emotionally, and Van Sant gets one of the best (and sadly, last) performances out of River Phoenix.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page