Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

California

Viper Room

Seattle

New York

Kurt Cobain

R.E.M., REM

Central Park, New York

Monster

Nirvana

Crush With Eyeliner

R.E.M. Inside Out

Craig Rosen

Carol Levy

So Fast, So Numb
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

R.E.M.
Inside Out

R.E.M. dévoilé

de Craig Rosen
Première édition 1997


ISBN 0-56025-177-8 (couv. souple, 176 Pages)

Tentant de réaliser ce que certains fans de R.E.M. jugent impossible, l'auteur Craig Rosen examine l'histoire et l'inspiration de chacune des chansons du groupe R.E.M. dans l'espoir d'en déchiffrer quelques-unes des paroles les plus énigmatiques écrites par le groupe au cours des années.

Pendant que R.E.M. enregistrait Monster, Stipe perdit deux de ses proches amis. Le premier, l'acteur River Phoenix - à qui est dédié l'album - mourut d'une overdose la nuit d'Halloween 1993, au Viper Room à West Hollywood, en Californie. Le second, le leader de Nirvana Kurt Cobain, mit fin à ses jours en se tirant une balle dans la tête dans sa maison de Seattle en avril 1994 après des années de combat contre l'héroïne, la pression de la célébrité et ses démons personnels. Stipe a déclaré qu'il se sentait très lié avec les deux jeunes artistes. Ils lui rappelaient ce qu'il était quand il avait 20 ans et qu'il commençait à être aux prises avec la souffrance qui accompagne souvent la célébrité.

Crush With Eyeliner
A la suite de la mort de Phoenix, Stipe dit qu'il n'écrivit plus de chansons pendant cinq mois. Quand il surmonta finalement cet état de blocage provoqué par la dépression, une des premières chansons qu'il écrivit fut «Crush With Eyeliner».

Ce livre de référence est généreusement illustré de nombreuses photographies qui montrent non seulement le groupe mais aussi différents sujets qui l'ont influencé. Elles comprennent la photographe Carol Levy, la comète Kohoutek et, vers la fin du livre, une photo pleine page de River. Cette photo où il porte ses trainings rouges et une chemise hawaïenne bleue toute ornée de fleurs, provient d'une série faite pendant une session de prises de vue dans Central Park à New York.

So Fast, So Numb
La chanson, un jeu de mot sur le vieux cliché du rock'n'roll «live fast, die young» (vivre vite, mourir jeune) semble être un appel à se réveiller où Stipe prévient quelqu'un «qu'ils bougent avec tant de force, de vitesse, d'insensibilité» qu'ils «n'éprouvent plus rien». Deux des proches amis de Stipe, River Phoenix et Kurt Cobain perdirent la vie après avoir abusé de la drogue et les chansons de Monster sont le reflet ces deux disparitions.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

California

Viper Room

Seattle

New York

Kurt Cobain

R.E.M., REM

Central Park, New York

Monster

Nirvana

Crush With Eyeliner

R.E.M. Inside Out

Craig Rosen

Carol Levy

So Fast, So Numb
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

R.E.M.
Inside Out

By Craig Rosen.
First published in 1997.


ISBN 0-56025-177-8 (Paperback, 176 Pages)

Attempting to do what some R.E.M. fans believe to be impossible, author Craig Rosen examines the stories and inspirations behind each of the songs released by the band R.E.M. in the hope of deciphering some of the more enigmatic lyrics that the band has come up with over the years.

While R.E.M. were recording Monster, Stipe lost two close friends. The first, actor River Phoenix - to whom the album is dedicated - died of a drugs overdose on Halloween night, 1993, at the Viper Room in West Hollywood, California. The second, Nirvana front man Kurt Cobain, took his own life with a shotgun blast to the head in his Seattle home in April 1994 after years of battling with heroin, the pressures of stardom, and personal demons. Stipe has said that he felt a deep connection with both of the young artists. They reminded him of himself when he was in his early 20s and beginning to grapple with the pains that often accompany stardom.

Crush With Eyeliner
Following the death of Phoenix, Stipe said that he didn't write a song for five months. When he finally got over that depression-induced case of writer's block, 'Crush With Eyeliner' was among the first songs he wrote.

This reference book is generously illustrated with numerous photographs, including not only pictures of the band but also subjects who have influenced them. These include photographer Carol Levy, comet Kohoutek and towards the end of the book, a full page photograph of River. Wearing his red sneakers and a blue Hawaiian sheet decorated with countless flowers, it's from a collection of shots taken during a photo-shoot in New York's Central Park.

So Fast, So Numb
The song, a play on the old rock'n'roll cliche "live fast, die young," seems to be a wake-up call, with Stipe warning someone that they're "moving so hard, so fast, so numb" that they "can't even feel." Two of Stipe's close friends, River Phoenix and Kurt Cobain, lost their lives due to drug abuse and their loss was reflected in the songs of Monster.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page