Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Los Angeles

Surviving: A Family in Crisis

Oregon

Stand By Me

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Keanu Reeves: An Illustrated Story

David Bassom

Dangerous Liaisons

Crucible, The

Speed 2

River's Edge

Permanent Record

Chevalier Danceny

Patrick Swayze

Point Break

B-52's

Ted "Theodore" Logan

Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Keanu Reeves - An Illustrated Story

(Keanu Reeves - Une histoire illustrée)

de David Bassom
Première édition 1996


ISBN 0-600-58990-0 (couverture souple, 80 pages)

Cet ouvrage, plus grand par sa taille que par le nombre de ses pages, contient une grande collection de nombreuses photographies de la carrière de Keanu Reeves. Commençant par ses débuts dans une production de collège de The Crucible, le livre s'achève en 1996, sans doute quelques mois trop tôt, quand Keanu est en train de réfléchir sur des scripts éventuels de Speed 2.

Il s'agit avant tout d'un ouvrage sur Keanu Reeves et les divers amis et partenaires de l'acteur ne sont mentionnés que brièvement. C'est au moment où il est question du film au titre approprié de River's Edge (Le Fleuve de la Mort) que le nom de River apparaît pour la première fois. Et cela uniquement pour appeler l'attention sur les ressemblances entre Stand By Me et River's Edge (Le Fleuve de la Mort), un autre film sur un groupe d'amis qui en 1986 découvrent le cadavre d'un de leurs camarades de collège au bord de la rivière.

Le plagiat étant chose fort commune à Hollywood, on découvre une autre similitude quelque temps après, lorsque le livre traite du film Permanent Record, en 1988. Keanu y joue un lycéen qui doit se remettre en question à la suite du suicide de son meilleur ami et, encore une fois, les ressemblances avec Surviving sont difficiles à ignorer.

Etant donné la passion de Reeves pour la moto et la conduite risquée, il est peu surprenant que l'acteur ait eu à faire face à de nombreuses arrestations et à plusieurs accidents. Il a une cicatrice qui va du nombril à la poitrine et une autre au mollet. Aussi admet-il avec fatalisme : «Mon corps est une épave». Ironiquement, l'acteur est à l'hôpital en convalescence après un de ses nombreux accidents quand il apprend qu'il a décroché le rôle du Chevalier Danceny dans Dangerous Liaisons.

Malgré des passe-temps et des sujets d'intérêt d'adulte, Keanu joue toujours à ce point de sa carrière des personnages beaucoup plus jeunes à l'écran. Ne voulant pas de rôle stéréotypé, Keanu souhaite alors redonner son sens à l'expression «avoir des rôles de son âge» et il jouera bientôt avec Patrick Swayze dans le thriller plein d'action Point Break. Sans prendre le moindre repos, il part dans l'Oregon pour commencer My Own Private Idaho le jour où s'achève le tournage de ce film épuisant.

«Je n'avais plus de force. Je ne croyais pas pouvoir y arriver. Mais l'énergie de Gus Van Sant et de River Phoenix, un réalisateur et un acteur brillant, m'a remis en selle.»

Le livre présente quatre clichés officiels du film ainsi qu'une double page où River, Keanu et Gus Van Sant profitent d'une pause pendant le tournage. Il ne faut toutefois pas longtemps pour qu'apparaisse l'aversion de l'auteur pour My Own Private Idaho.

Intitulé ainsi d'après une chanson du groupe B-52, My Own Private Idaho est un road-movie expérimental loin d'être réussi. Gus Van Sant offre un visuel intéressant mais il est dépassé par son propre scénario, très lent et sans issue. Il n'est pas surprenant que le film soit éreinté par la critique et les spectateurs ne se bousculent pas. Même ses admirateurs le critiquent pour son irresponsabilité parce que, sans qu'il soit question d'aborder le sujet, il ne mentionne pas la menace du SIDA.

Alors que Phoenix suscite de grands éloges pour son portrait de Mike, Reeves reçoit un accueil mitigé. L'acteur concède lui-même qu'il est déçu par sa contribution et qu'il aurait pu mieux faire s'il n'avait pas été en train de récupérer après Point Break. Néanmoins Reeves est une fois encore absolument convaincant dans la scène où il est aux prises avec sa moto en panne.

Tout à fait. C'est le meilleur moment du film.

Après l'achèvement de My Own Private Idaho, Keanu rentre à Los Angeles pour reprendre son personnage de Ted «Theodore» Logan dans Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey. River n'est pas mentionné davantage dans le reste de l'ouvrage.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Los Angeles

Surviving: A Family in Crisis

Oregon

Stand By Me

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Keanu Reeves: An Illustrated Story

David Bassom

Dangerous Liaisons

Crucible, The

Speed 2

River's Edge

Permanent Record

Chevalier Danceny

Patrick Swayze

Point Break

B-52's

Ted "Theodore" Logan

Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Keanu Reeves - An Illustrated Story

by David Bassom.
First published in 1996.


ISBN 0-600-58990-0 (Paperback, 80 Pages)

A large book, in physical size if not in pages, that contains a collection of countless photographs depicting the career of Keanu Reeves. Beginning with his debut in a high school production of The Crucible, the book comes to an end in 1996, perhaps a few months prematurely, with Keanu considering possible scripts for Speed 2.

First and last, this is a Keanu Reeves book and the actor's various friends and co-stars are mentioned only briefly. It is whilst discussing the appropriately named movie River's Edge, that River's name first appears. Even then it is just to highlight the similarities between Stand By Me and River's Edge, another ensemble movie from 1986, in which a group of friends discover the dead body of one of their school friends on the edge of a river bank.

With plagiarism so common in Hollywood, another striking similarity is discovered a short time later when the book looks at the 1988 movie Permanent Record. Keanu stars as a high school student who has to re-evaluate his own life following the suicide of his best friend and the similarities with Surviving are once again hard to ignore.

Given Reeves' love of motorcycling and risky driving, it comes as little surprise that the actor has faced numerous police charges and had several accidents. He has one scar which extends from his navel to his chest and another on his calf, and nonchalantly admitted, "My body's a wreck." Ironically, the actor was in hospital recovering from one of his many accidents when he learned that he had won the role of Chevalier Danceny in Dangerous Liaisons.

Despite his adult hobbies and interests, on screen at least, Keanu, at this point in his career, was always to be found playing much younger characters. Not wanting to be typecast, Keanu was no doubt keen to bring new meaning to the phrase "acting his age" and he would soon be starring alongside Patrick Swayze in the action-packed thriller Point Break. Without taking a break, it would be on the very day that production was completed on this physically exhausting movie that Keanu would leave for Oregon to begin work on My Own Private Idaho.

"I was beat. I didn't think I could get through it. But the spirit of Gus Van Sant, a brilliant director, and River Phoenix, a brilliant actor, drew me back into the fire."

Reproduced in the book are four publicity shots from the movie as well as a huge two-page spread of River, Keanu and Gus Van Sant enjoying a break during filming. It doesn't take long though for the author's strong dislike for My Own Private Idaho to become apparent.

Named after a B-52s song, My Own Private Idaho is an experimental and far from successful road movie. Gus Van Sant occasionally delivers an interesting visual but is let down by his own screenplay, which goes nowhere very slowly. Unsurprisingly, the film was rubbished by reviewers and audiences stayed away. Even its admirers criticised it as being irresponsible for failing to mention, let alone address, the threat of AIDS.

While Phoenix won strong notices for his portrayal of Mike, Reeves received mixed reviews. The actor himself conceded that he was disappointed by his contribution to the film and felt that he could have done a better job if he hadn't been recovering from Point Break. Nevertheless, Reeves is once again absolutely convincing in the scene where he has problems with his broken-down motorbike.

Sure. The highlight of the movie in fact.

After completing My Own Private Idaho, Keanu returned to Los Angeles to reprise his Ted "Theodore" Logan character in Bill and Ted's Bogus Journey. River is mentioned no more throughout the rest of the book.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page