Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Diet For A New America

John Robbins

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Diet For A New America

(Un régime alimentaire pour une nouvelle Amérique)

by John Robbins.

Troisième partie


ISBN 0-913299-54-5 (couv. souple, 423 pages)

Après avoir traité du bien-être animal dans la première section et des besoins alimentaires dans la seconde, l'auteur se tourne maintenant vers des sujets plus diversifiés pour la section finale et en premier lieu, la pollution. Il s'agit certes d'une question importante mais elle ne semble pas au premier abord pertinente pour un livre qui traite de régime alimentaire. Sans perdre de temps, l'auteur met immédiatement le lecteur sur la voie.

Des études récentes indiquent que, de tous les résidus chimiques toxiques présents dans le régime alimentaire des Américains, 95 à 99 % proviennent de la viande, du poisson, des produits laitiers et des oeufs.20 Si vous voulez mettre des pesticides dans votre nourriture, c'est ce qu'il faut manger. Heureusement, vous pouvez réduire énormément votre consommation de ces poisons en mangeant plus en amont de la chaîne alimentaire.

Choisir un mode d'alimentation plutôt qu'un autre est une décision relativement facile à prendre. Cependant, il ne semble pas y avoir de solution aussi rapide et aussi facile avec la pollution. En fait, en tant qu'espèce qui a empoisonné l'environnement où elle vit, on peut se demander si nous ne sommes pas au delà du point de non-retour et si notre situation n'est pas maintenant vraiment désespérée.

De manière sinistre, une étude gouvernementale récente a trouvé du PCB dans 100 % des échantillons de sperme humain testés.75 Elle a aussi trouvé une corrélation entre des niveaux élevés de PCB et la diminution de la quantité de sperme.76 Les PCB sont tenus pour une des raisons principales du fait atterrant que le sperme moyen de l'homme américain n'est aujourd'hui que 70 % de celui d'il y a 30 ans.77

Des tests réalisés dans plusieurs grandes universités ont permis de découvrir que presque 25 % des étudiants d'aujourd'hui sont stériles.78 C'est une tendance terrifiante. Il y a seulement trente cinq ans, le taux de stérilité était inférieur à un pour cent.79

Les ultimes sujets traités comprennent l'énergie et la logistique. Nous apprenons qu'il faut en moyenne cinq kilos de céréales pour faire une livre de viande. Si on mangeait une livre de céréales à la place d'une livre de viande, on économiserait donc les neuf autres livres de céréales qui pourraient nourrir d'autres hommes. Il est difficile de prendre en défaut ce calcul très simple. Et c'est en gardant ce calcul à l'esprit qu'on doit se rappeler que quarante mille enfants meurent de faim sur cette planète chaque jour.

Aujourd'hui aux Etats-Unis, le bétail consomme assez de grain et de soja pour nourrir cinq fois la population entière du pays.1 Nous nourrissons des animaux avec plus de 80 % du maïs et plus de 95 % de l'avoine que nous produisons.2

Lester Brown , du Conseil pour le Développement de l'Outremer, a estimé que si les Américains réduisaient leur consommation de viande de seulement 10 %, plus de 12 millions de tonnes de céréales seraient économisées annuellement pour la consommation humaine. Cela suffirait en soi pour nourrir correctement chacun des 60 millions d'êtres humains qui mourront de faim cette année dans le monde.6

Selon les statistiques du ministère de l'Agriculture, un demi-hectare de terre peut produire 10 tonnes de pommes de terre. Le même demi-hectare, utilisé pour faire pousser de la nourriture pour le bétail, produira moins de 80 kilos de viande de boeuf.9

Dans un monde où un enfant meurt de faim toutes les deux secondes, un système agricole organisé pour nourrir nos habitudes de consommateurs de viande est un blasphème. Pourtant il continue parce que nous l'encourageons. Ceux qui profitent de ce système n'ont pas besoin de nous pour leur trouver des excuses. Le seul soutien qu'ils attendent de notre part est financier. Aussi longtemps qu'assez de gens continueront à acheter leurs produits, ils auront les ressources pour combattre les réformes, ils injecteront des millions de dollars de propagande «éducative» dans nos écoles et ils pourront se défendre eux-mêmes contre les vérités médicales et éthiques.

Plus de la moitié du total de l'eau consommée aux Etats-Unis va à l'irrigation de la terre où poussent la nourriture et le fourrage du bétail.39 D'énormes quantités d'eau sont utilisées pour nettoyer les excréments des animaux. S'agissant de l'eau il serait difficile de mettre au point un régime moins efficace que celui que nous pensons être normal.

Produire une simple livre de viande nécessite en moyenne plus de 10 000 litres d'eau - autant que ce qu'utilise une famille moyenne pour tous ses besoins ménagers mensuels.40

Maintes et maintes fois, considérant les possibilités qui découleraient d'une nouvelle orientation du régime alimentaire américain, j'ai été frappé par les conséquences positives d'un tel changement. Je vois comme cela aiderait à réduire la faim dans le monde ainsi que la peur qui engendre les guerres, à préserver l'humus et les forêts, à sauver de l'extinction des milliers d'espèces dans les forêts tropicales humides, à rendre sa pureté à l'eau et à la préserver. Je suis ému par ce qu'engendreraient la diminution des souffrances des animaux, l'amélioration de notre santé et la réduction du recours aux produits chimiques toxiques qui menacent sérieusement l'avenir de notre espèce.

On nous demande de nous réveiller. C'est l'heure de remettre en question et de réévaluer une vie entière de préjugés et d'idées toutes faites qu'on tenait pour des faits avérés. Les faits révisés et mis à jour sont maintenant connus et ce sont des livres comme celui-ci qui assurent l'information du public. Car c'est au public, ou plutôt à chaque individu, qu'il revient maintenant de prendre une décision très importante.

Une fois au courant de l'impact de nos choix alimentaires, nous ne pourrons jamais plus l'oublier. Bien sûr nous pouvons le mettre entre parenthèses et parfois nous ne pouvons pas faire autrement, afin de supporter l'énormité de ce qu'il implique.

Mais la terre elle-même nous rappellera comme nos enfants et les animaux, et la forêt, et le ciel, et les rivières, que nous faisons partie de cette terre et qu'elle fait partie de nous. Toutes les choses sont profondément reliées les unes aux autres, aussi les choix que nous faisons dans notre vie quotidienne ont-ils une énorme influence non seulement sur notre santé et notre vitalité mais encore sur les vies d'autres êtres, et bien sûr, sur le destin de la vie sur Terre.

20 - Harris, S., «Organochlorine Contamination of Breast Milk» (Contamination du lait maternel par l'organochlorine) Environmental Defense Fund, Washington, D.C., Nov 7, 1979
Balbien, J., Harris, S., and Page, T., «Diet as a factor Affecting Organochlorine Contamination of Breast Milk,» (l'alimentation comme facteur de la contamination du lait maternel par l'organochlorine) Environmental Defense Fund, Washington, D.C.

75 - «A Plague...» (Une peste) Cf note 44

76 - Ibid

77 - Richards, B., «Drop in Sperm Count is Attributed to Toxic Environment,» (La diminution du sperme est attribuée à l'environnement toxique) Washington Post, 12 sept. 1979
Brody, J., «Sperm Found Especially Vulnerable to Environment,» (Le sperme spécialement vulnérable à l'environnement) New York Times, 10 mars 1981
«Unplugging the Gene Pool,» Outside, sept. 1980
Jansson, E., «The Impact of Hazardous Substances Upon Infertility Amongst Men in the U.S., and Birth Defects,» (L'impact des substances dangereuses sur l'infertilité chez les hommes aux Etats-Unis) Friends of the Earth, Washington, D.C., 17 nov. 1980

78 - Cf note 77

79 - Ibid

1 - Bralove, Mary, «The Food Crisis: the Shortages May Pit the 'Have Nots' Against the 'Haves,'» (La crise alimentaire : le manque peut opposer les dépourvus aux nantis) Wall Street Journal, 3 octobre 1974 pg 20

2 - Maidenburg, H.J. «The Livestock Population Explosion,» (L'explosion de la population du bétail) New York Times, 1er juillet 1973, page 1 section Finances

6 - Resenberger, Boyce, «Curb on U.S. Waste Urged to Help World's Hungry,» New York Times, 25 octobre 1974

9 - Cf note 5

39 - Lappé, Cf note 5

40 - Borgstrom Georg, présentation à la rencontre annuelle de The American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1981


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Diet For A New America

John Robbins

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Diet For A New America

by John Robbins.

Section Three


ISBN 0-913299-54-5 (Paperback, 423 Pages)

So, having dealt with animal welfare in the first section of his book and nutritional needs in the second, the author now turns to a number of other topics for the closing section of his book, the first being pollution. Always an important issue of course, but not one that is immediately obvious for a book on diet. Wasting no time, the author immediately clues in his readers.

Recent studies indicate that of all the toxic chemical residues in the American diet, almost all, 95% to 99%, comes from meat, fish, dairy products and eggs.20 If you want to include pesticides in your diet, these are the foods to eat. Fortunately, you can overwhelmingly reduce your intake of these poisons by eating lower on the food chain.

Choosing one particular diet or another is a comparitively easy decision to make. With pollution however, there appears to be no such quick, easy answer. In fact, as a species who has poisoned the environment in which it lives, one wonders if we are now beyond the point of no return and are now truly without hope.

Ominously, a recent government study found PCB's present in 100% of the human sperm samples tested.75 They also found a correlation between high PCB levels and low sperm count.76 PCB's are considered one of the chief reasons for the staggering fact that the average sperm of the American male is today only 70% of what it was only 30 years ago.77

Tests done at several major universities have found that nearly 25% of today's college students are sterile.78 This is a terrifying trend. Only thirty-five years ago, the sterility rate was less than one-half of one percent.79

The final subjects to be studied in this book include energy and logistics. We learn that it takes, on average, ten pounds of grain, to make one pound of meat. If the pound of grain were eaten instead of the pound of meat, this would free up nine pounds of grain which could be fed to others. It is somewhat difficult to find error with this simple calculation. And it is with this calculation in mind that it should be noted that forty thousand children starve to death on this planet every day.

The livestock population of the United States today consumes enough grain and soybeans to feed over five times the entire human population of the country.1 We feed animals over 80% of the corn we grow, and over 95% of the oats.2

Lester Brown of the Overseas Development Council has estimated that if Americans were to reduce their meat consumption by only 10 percent, it would free over 12 million tons of grain annually for human consumption. That, all by itself, would be enough to adequately feed every one of the 60 million human beings who will starve to death on the planet this year.6

According to Department of Agriculture statistics, one acre of land can grow 20,000 pounds of potatoes. That same acre of land, if used to grow cattlefeed, can produce less than 165 pounds of beef.9

In a world in which a child dies of starvation every two seconds, an agricultural system designed to feed our meat habit is a blasphemy. Yet it continues, because we continue to support it. Those who profit from this system do not need us to condone what they are doing. The only support they need from us is our money. As long as enough people continue to purchase their products they will have the resources to fight reforms, pump millions of dollars of "educational" propaganda into our schools, and defend themselves against medical and ethical truths.

Over half the total amount of water consumed in the United States goes to irrigate land growing feed and fodder for livestock.39 Enormous additional quantities of water must also be used to wash away the animal's excrement. It would be hard to design a less water-efficient diet-style that the one we have come to think of as normal.

To produce a single pound of meat takes an average of 2,500 gallons of water - as much as a typical family uses for all its combined household purposes in a month.40

Over and over again, as I've envisioned the possibilities ensuing from a new direction for America's diet-style, I've been struck by what might be gained by such a move. I've seen how helpful it could be towards reducing world hunger, towards reducing the fear in the world that leads to wars, towards preserving our precious topsoil and forests, towards saving thousands of species in the tropical rainforests from extinction, towards cleaning up and preserving our water. And I've been moved by how much animal suffering would be alleviated, how our health would improve, and how greatly we could diminish our use and intake of toxic chemicals that threaten so seriously the future of our species.

This is our wake-up call. It is now time to question and reassess a lifetime of prejudices and statements that were once thought of as fact. The new revised and updated facts are now in, and it is books such as this that make sure that these facts are distributed to the public. For it is the public, or rather, the individual, who now needs to make a very important decision.

Once we become aware of the impact of our food choices, we can never really forget. Of course we can push it all to the back of our minds, and we may need to do this, at times, to endure the enormity of what is involved.

But the earth itself will remind us, as will our children, and the animals and the forests and the sky and the rivers, that we are part of this earth, and it is part of us. All things are deeply connected, and so the choices we make in our daily lives have enormous influence, not only on our own health and vitality, but also on the lives of other beings, and indeed on the destiny of life on earth.

20 - Harris, S., "Organochlorine Contamination of Breast Milk," Environmental Defense Fund, Washington, D.C., Nov 7, 1979
Balbien, J., Harris, S., and Page, T., "Diet as a factor Affecting Organochlorine Contamination of Breast Milk," Environmental Defense Fund, Washington, D.C.

75 - "A Plague..." as per note 44

76 - Ibid

77 - Richards, B., "Drop in Sperm Count is Attributed to Toxic Environment," Washington Post, Sept 12, 1979
Brody, J., "Sperm Found Especially Vulnerable to Environment," New York Times, March 10, 1981
"Unplugging the Gene Pool," Outside, Sept 1980
Jansson, E., "The Impact of Hazardous Substances Upon Infertility Amongst Men in the U.S., and Birth Defects," Friends of the Earth, Washington, D.C., Nov 17, 1980

78 - As per note 77

79 - Ibid

1 - Bralove, Mary, "The Food Crisis: the Shortages May Pit the 'Have Nots' Against the 'Haves,'" Wall Street Journal, October 3, 1974, pg 20

2 - Maidenburg, H.J. "The Livestock Population Explosion," New York Times, July 1, 1973, pg 1 Finance section

6 - Resenberger, Boyce, "Curb on U.S. Waste Urged to Help World's Hungry," New York Times, October 25, 1974

9 - As per note 5

39 - Lappé, as per note 5

40 - Borgstrom, Georg, presentation to the Annual Meeting of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1981


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page