Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Portland

My Own Private Idaho & Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

Graham Fuller

Sharon Waters

Bob Pigeon

Falstaff
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

My Own Private Idaho

de Gus Van Sant
Première édition 1993


ISBN 0-571-20259-4 (poche, 148 pages)

Cet ouvrage est en fait la quasi-réimpression au format de poche d'un premier livre consacré aux scénarios de My Own Private Idaho & Even Cowgirls Get the Blues. S'agissant du film My Own Private Idaho, il n'y a pratiquement aucune différence entre les deux versions. Elles comportent l'une et l'autre une longue introduction de Graham Fuller intitulée « Gus Van Sant : à contre courant » ainsi que les mêmes photos en noir et blanc prises sur le plateau ou en coulisses.

Pour davantage d'information reportez-vous à notre page sur My Own Private Idaho & Even Cowgirls Get the Blues.

Mike Waters est un jeune homme fragile qui se prostitue dans les rues de Portland dans l'Oregon, en vivant au jour le jour. Outre sa vulnérabilité, Mike est atteint de l'extraordinaire syndrome de la narcolepsie qui le fait sombrer dans un profond sommeil aux moments les moins favorables. Il bénéficie du moins du soutien d'une bande de vagabonds de la rue qui gravitent autour de Bob Pigeon, personnage bâti sur le modèle du Falstaff de Shakespeare.

Dans ce monde hostile, le plus grand désir de Mike est de retrouver sa mère depuis longtemps perdue ; et pendant cette quête, il espère approfondir l'intimité qui le lie à son ami Scott Favor, rejeton fortuné qui tue le temps parmi les prostitués avant de récupérer ce qui lui revient de par sa naissance.

L'oeuvre profonde et attachante de Gus Van Sant, drame de la vie qui s'écoule en pure perte, a fourni le texte de ce qui fut probablement le plus beau rôle de River Phoenix (Mike) aux côtés de Keanu Reeves (Scott).


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

My Own Private Idaho

Mike Waters

Gus Van Sant

Scott Favor

Keanu Reeves

Portland

My Own Private Idaho & Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

Graham Fuller

Sharon Waters

Bob Pigeon

Falstaff
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

My Own Private Idaho

by Gus Van Sant
First published in 1993


ISBN 0-571-20259-4 (Paperback, 148 Pages)

Here's an almost pocked-sized reprint of one half of another script book My Own Private Idaho & Even Cowgirls Get the Blues. With regards to the movie My Own Private Idaho, there's little if any difference between the two books. Both feature an extensive introduction by Graham Fuller entitled "Gus Van Sant: Swimming Against the Current" and both share the same numerous black-and-white candid photographs taken from both on and off the film set.

See our review of My Own Private Idaho & Even Cowgirls Get the Blues for more information.

Mike Waters is a fragile young hustler who lives hand-to-mouth in the city of Portland, Oregon. To compound his vulnerability, Mike suffers from the extraordinary condition of narcolepsy and is prone to swoon into sleep at unfortunate moments. At least he has the support of a street-gang of vagabonds, arrayed around the Falstaffian figure of Bob Pigeon.

But in this harsh world, Mike's dearest wish is to find his long-lost mother; and in the course of his pilgrimage he also hopes for a deeper intimacy with his friend Scott Favor, a wealthy scion who is killing time among the hustlers before taking up his birthright.

Gus Van Sant's lovely, wistful drama of life running to waste provided the text for what was probably the finest performance of the late River Phoenix as Mike, alongside Keanu Reeves in the role of Scott.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page