Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

My Own Private Idaho

Interview With The Vampire

Mike Waters

Scott Favor

Portland

Christian Slater

Rome

Idaho

Blade Runner

Ridley Scott

Alien

Malloy

Gladiator

Movies of the 90's

Jurgen Muller

Commodus

Hans Zimmer
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Movies of the 90's

Les Films des années 1990

de Jürgen Müller
Première édition 2001


ISBN 3-8228-5878-1 (couv. souple, 804 Pages)

Voici un ouvrage de référence sur le cinéma illustré par de si grandes et si belles photographies en couleur qu'elles en distraient presque l'attention. Epais de plus de cinq centimètres, ce livre est consacré non seulement aux films hollywoodiens mais également à ceux du monde entier.

La présentation sur papier glacé, d'une grande qualité professionnelle, est quelque peu affaiblie par de curieuses erreurs typographiques ainsi que par le choix discutable de l'auteur d'inclure l'année 2000 au sein des années 1990. Cette extension a toutefois l'avantage de prendre en compte le film Gladiator, illustré par six photographies dont trois de Joaquin Phoenix dans le rôle de l'Empereur Commode.

Gladiator est un exemple type de la préférence de Ridley Scott pour des héros imparfaits et des décors extravagants comme dans Blade Runner (1982) et Alien (1979). Bien que beaucoup des conflits exposés dans le film ne trouvent pas de solution, Gladiator est visuellement époustouflant. Scott n'a pas toujours le souci de l'authenticité historique mais ses compositions sensuelles jusqu'à l'étourdissement, le montage fantastique, l'excellente musique du compositeur vedette d'Hollywood Hans Zimmer et le jeu remarquable des acteurs - notamment Joaquin Phoenix dans le rôle du vil et incestueux Commode - font de Gladiator un film historique impressionnant et passionnant.

Le film de 1994 Entrevue avec un Vampire : les Chroniques du Vampire est également cité et illustré de deux photos de Christian Slater dans le rôle de l'intervieweur Malloy, mais le changement de dernière minute n'est pas mentionné.

Cependant, ce sont les quatre pages sur le film de 1991 My Own Private Idaho qui justifient ici la présentation de cet ouvrage. On y voit une fois de plus de nombreuses photographies en couleur, dont celle de Mike Waters en couverture de magazine, celle de la scène du feu de camp dans le désert de l'Idaho et la photo de Mike dans la baignoire regardant d'un air morne dans le grand miroir à côté de lui. Le commentaire indique : « Même dans le miroir, Mike voit un étranger. »

Le style de ces pages est pénétrante et touchante mais la présentation étonnamment erronée de la mort de River « tout seul devant un night-club » conduit le lecteur à se demander si Ridley Scott est vraiment seul à ne faire cas de la vérité historique.

Mike pense qu'il a enfin trouvé le grand amour avec Scott. Ils partent ensemble à la recherche de la mère de Mike, ce qui les conduit jusqu'à Ostie aux portes de Rome. Mais en vérité, d'où qu'il parte, Mike n'arrive nulle part. Scott tombe amoureux d'une jeune Italienne, ce qui bouleverse Mike. Scott retrouve une vie normale mais celle de Mike reste en suspens : il fait le trottoir à Rome, à Portland comme dans l'Idaho. Il ne trouve ni sa mère ni sa place dans la société et, à la différence d'Ulysse, ses errances sont sans fin.

My Own Private Idaho a plusieurs niveaux de lecture venant de la littérature ou du cinéma ; les démêler nous aide à oublier l'absence de happy end.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

My Own Private Idaho

Interview With The Vampire

Mike Waters

Scott Favor

Portland

Christian Slater

Rome

Idaho

Blade Runner

Ridley Scott

Alien

Malloy

Gladiator

Movies of the 90's

Jurgen Muller

Commodus

Hans Zimmer
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Movies of the 90's

by Jürgen Müller
First published in 2001


ISBN 3-8228-5878-1 (Paperback, 804 Pages)

Here's a film reference book that is so well illustrated that the large, beautiful, full color movie-stills almost become a distraction. Nearly two-inches thick, the book features not only movies from Hollywood but from all around the world.

The glossy, high-quality and professional presentation of the finished book is somewhat let down by the odd typographical error and the author's misconception that the year 2000 was part of the 1990's but this oversight at least results in the movie Gladiator being included in the book and the review features six pictures including three of Joaquin Phoenix as Emperor Commodus.

Gladiator is a typical example of Ridley Scott's preference for imperfect heroes and huge extravagant sets, as in Blade Runner (1982) and Alien (1979). Although many of the movie's conflicts are not actually resolved, Gladiator is visually overwhelming. Scott isn't always too particular with historical truth, but his dizzyingly sensual compositions, the fantastic editing, the excellent music of Hollywood's star composer Hans Zimmer and the brilliant acting - particularly from Joaquin Phoenix as the incestuous, evil Commodus - make Gladiator an exciting and impressive historical movie.

The 1994 movie Interview with the Vampire: The Vampire Chronicles is also listed, including a couple of photographs of Christian Slater as the interviewer Malloy, although no mention is made of this last-minute casting change.

However, it is for the four-page review of the 1991 film My Own Private Idaho that we present this book here. Again, there are numerous full-color photographs included which feature, among others, Mike Waters' magazine cover shot, the campfire scene in the Idaho desert, and the picture of him in the bath staring forlornly into the huge wall mirror to the side of him. The caption for that photograph reads "Even in the mirror Mike sees somebody else."

The whole review is an insightful and touching piece of writing, but a surprisingly inaccurate description of River's death as "all alone outside a nightclub" leaves the reader wondering if it's not just Ridley Scott who isn't always concerned with historical truth.

Mike thinks he has finally found the love of his life in Scott. They go off together to find Mike's mother and the search takes them as far as Ostia at the gates of Rome. But wherever he starts out from, Mike never really gets anywhere. An Italian girl wins Scott's heart and Mike is distraught. Scott returns to normal life, but Mike's life remains suspended: he is a streetwalker in Rome, a streetwalker in Portland, on the street in Idaho. He finds neither his mother nor his place in society, and unlike Odysseus, his wanderings are a continuous cycle with no end.

My Own Private Idaho has many layers of stories from literature and film; unravelling them helps us to forget the missing happy end.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page