Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Elvis Presley

Samantha Mathis

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

Keanu Reeves

Martha Plimpton

Dan Aykroyd

Marilyn Monroe

Woody Allen

Marlon Brando

Idaho

Johnny Depp

Jupiter

William Shakespeare

Leonardo DiCaprio

Sean Penn

Paul Peterson

Movie Stars Do the Dumbest Things

Margaret Moser

Michael Bertin

Bill Crawford

Rock Stars Do the Dumbest Things

Sharon Stone

Sophia Loren

Houseboat

Los Angeles Times
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Movie Stars Do The Dumbest Things

Les Stars du Cinéma font n'importe quoi

de Margaret Moser, Michael Bertin et Bill Crawford
Première édition 1999


ISBN 1-58063-107-X (couv. souple, 316 pages)

Pour écrire la suite de leur oeuvre précédente Rock Stars Do The Dumbest Things, les auteurs Margaret Moser et Bill Crawford se sont adjoints l'auteur freelance Michael Bertin et ils nous présentent cette fois des révélations sur le comportement stupide et parfois indigne des stars du cinéma. C'est pourquoi la dédicace du livre se lit ainsi : «Aux équipes de tournage, aux serveurs et serveuses, portiers, fans, amants et tous ceux qui nettoient derrière.»

Johnny Depp. Marilyn Monroe. Marlon Brando. Leonardo DiCaprio. Woody Allen. Sharon Stone. Qu'ont en commun tous ces acteurs ? Ils sont excessifs, ils reçoivent des salaires énormes, ont un ego surdimensionné et ils ont bien trop de temps libre. Leur mode de vie sans contrôle prouve, comme un observateur l'a noté, qu' «Hollywood est une visite des égouts dans un bateau à fond de verre».

Peu importe l'aversion que vous pouvez avoir pour ce livre, ce sentiment s'envole vite à la lecture d'histoires aussi choquantes. C'est également un ouvrage complet dont la partie principale est constituée d'une section alphabétique des faits et des chiffres relatifs à plus de soixante stars. Beaucoup d'autres personnes et d'incidents sont brièvement mentionnés, dont une altercation entre Sophia Loren et Paul Peterson sur le plateau de Houseboat ainsi que des références à Martha Plimpton, Samantha Mathis et le partenaire de River dans Sneakers, Dan Aykroyd.

KEANU REEVES
FAIT N'IMPORTE QUOI

Quand on lui parle de son rôle sexuellement ambigu dans My Own Private Idaho (1991), Reeves se lance dans l'analyse. «J'ai pensé que c'était un script extraordinaire. Rien qu'en terme de narration, mon vieux, il y a des vaches, bang ! bang ! bang ! des boutiques pornos, des saumons, des pipes, de l'argent qui change de mains et alors je me retrouve dans l'Idaho, paf ! et alors, Shakespeare...»

En une autre occasion, au bout de presque une heure avec un reporter du Los Angeles Time, Reeves se leva, alla sur le balcon de sa chambre d'hôtel et commença à faire des moulinets avec les bras en criant et en s'injuriant lui-même. Il revint dans la suite, s'assit, appuya sur le bouton du magnétophone et continua l'interview. Son explication : «Je suis taré, mon vieux. Regardez-moi, mon vieux. Je suis taré.»

Bien sûr, entre Sean Penn et Elvis Presley , une section est consacrée à River. Cependant, quand on replace dans leur contexte les actes de cette star particulière et qu'on les compare aux exploits d'autres stars, River est finalement traité sans excès par les auteurs.

RIVER PHOENIX
FAIT N'IMPORTE QUOI

Une fois, Phoenix se fâcha contre une journaliste qui laissait une demi-page vierge sur son cahier et lui fit la leçon sur le terrible gâchis de papier dans les bureaux en Amérique. «Je veux dire, s'ils peuvent mettre un générateur au plutonium en orbite autour de Jupiter pour quarante trois ans» observa-t-il «ils pourraient sûrement faire un ticket de caisse qui épargne le papier.»

Quand il est l'objet des sarcasmes d'un groupe de skinheads au cours d'une soirée, River leur dit : «Si vous voulez me rentrer dans le lard, allez-y mais expliquez-moi pourquoi.» L'un d'entre eux répondit : «Bah ! tu n'en vaux pas la peine.» River dit alors : «On en vaut tous la peine, mec, on vaut tous des millions de planètes, d'étoiles, de galaxies et d'univers.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Elvis Presley

Samantha Mathis

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

Keanu Reeves

Martha Plimpton

Dan Aykroyd

Marilyn Monroe

Woody Allen

Marlon Brando

Idaho

Johnny Depp

Jupiter

William Shakespeare

Leonardo DiCaprio

Sean Penn

Paul Peterson

Movie Stars Do the Dumbest Things

Margaret Moser

Michael Bertin

Bill Crawford

Rock Stars Do the Dumbest Things

Sharon Stone

Sophia Loren

Houseboat

Los Angeles Times
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Movie Stars Do The Dumbest Things

by Margaret Moser, Michael Bertin and Bill Crawford.
First Published in 1999.


ISBN 1-58063-107-X (Paperback, 316 Pages)

Following on from their earlier work, Rock Stars Do the Dumbest Things, authors Margaret Moser and Bill Crawford were joined by freelance author Michael Bertin to produce this exposé of movie-star madness and outrageous behavior. As such, the book's dedication reads "To the film crews, maids waiters, janitors, fans, lovers, and others who clean up the mess."

Johnny Depp. Marilyn Monroe. Marlon Brando. Leonardo DiCaprio. Woody Allen. Sharon Stone. What do all of these actors have in common? They're outrageous, receive huge salaries, have enormous egos, and have way too much spare time. Their out-of-control lifestyles prove that, as one Hollywood observer noted, "Hollywood is a trip through a sewer in a glass-bottomed boat."

No matter how hard you try to dislike this book, such feelings quickly evaporate when the one is presented with such shocking stories. And very comprehensive the book is too, the bulk of which is taken up by an alphabetically arranged section featuring detailed pages of facts and figures for more than sixty stars. A great many other people and incidents are also briefly mentioned including an altercation between Sophia Loren and Paul Peterson on the set of Houseboat as well as references to Martha Plimpton, Samantha Mathis and River's Sneakers co-star, Dan Aykroyd.

KEANU REEVES
DOES THE DUMBEST THINGS

When speaking of his sexually ambiguous role in the feature My Own Private Idaho (1991), Reeves waxed analytic. "I thought it was an amazing script. Just in terms of narrative, man, there's cows, bang! bang! bang!, porno shops, salmon swimming, blow jobs, money-exchanging, and then I burst out in Idaho, smash! And then Shakespeare..."

On another occasion, after almost an hour with a reporter from the Los Angeles Times, Reeves got up, walked out to his hotel room balcony, and began windmilling his arms while screaming and swearing at himself. He walked back into the suite, sat back down, rewound the tape recorder, then continued with the interview. His explanation? "I'm a basket case, man. Look at me, man. I'm a basket case."

Sure enough, to be found between Sean Penn and Elvis Presley is a section about River. However, when the actions of this particular movie star are put into context and compared with the exploits of other stars, River actually ends up being treated quite lightly by the authors.

RIVER PHOENIX
DOES THE DUMBEST THINGS

At one point Phoenix got angry with a journalist for leaving half a page blank in her notebook, and lectured her about the terrible waste of paper in American offices. "I mean if they can make a plutonium generator which will orbit Jupiter and stay there for forty-three years," he observed, "surely they can make a receipt that will save paper."

When a bunch of skinheads taunted him at a party, River said, "If you really wanted to kick my a**, go ahead, just explain to me why you're doing it." One said, "Ah, you wouldn't be worth it." River said, "We're all worth it, man, we're all worth millions of planets and stars and galaxies and universes."


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page