Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Explorers

Oregon

California

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Ethan Hawke

Stephen King

The Body

Keanu Reeves

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

Rob Reiner

Utah

Joe Dante

Jason Presson

Portland

Lawrence Kasdan

Devo Nod

Tracey Ullman

Rosalie Boca

Wil Wheaton

Kevin Kline

Corey Feldman

New Mexico

San Francisco

Castle Rock

Star Wars

Joan Plowright

Tacoma

Washington, D.C.

Eugene

Idaho

American Graffiti

George Lucas

Burbank

Sean Connery

William Hurt

Marlon James

Petaluma, California

Venice, Italy

New England

Belize City

Colorado

Star Trek

Spain

Brownsville, Oregon

Jordan

Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites

The Worldwide Guide to Movie Locations

Tony Reeves

Mount Shasta

Moab, Utah

Sevenmile Canyon

Arches National Park
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

The Worldwide Guide to Movie Locations

Le guide mondial des lieux de tournage

de Tony Reeves
Première édition 2001


ISBN 1-84023-207-2 (couv. souple, 416 pages)

Imaginez Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites (La mort et les lieux scandaleux à Hollywood) en plus délicat, une version qui ne fasse rien pour encourager la traque, l'intrusion ou tout autre comportement trop souvent adopté par les membres les plus agités de notre société, dès qu'il s'agit de célébrités et de cinéma. Le résultat ressemblerait probablement au livre que nous présentons ici, un ouvrage de référence établi méticuleusement, écrit spécifiquement pour apporter des faits et des chiffres indispensables au passe-temps de plus en plus en vogue que constitue le «tourisme cinématographique».

Illustré généreusement de centaines de photographies et donnant de nombreux détails sur les lieux de tournage de plus de 1500 films, ce livre propose des informations touristiques cruciales et des détails sur ce que le lecteur peut espérer trouver aujourd'hui sur les lieux, des années après que les compagnies de production les ont quittés. Ainsi par exemple, vous souhaitez visiter «les mondes reculés» de Star Wars ou de Star Trek ou vous voulez savoir quel film a été tourné là où vous vous trouvez, ce livre vous apportera certainement la réponse.

EXPLORERS
(1985, réal.: Joe Dante)
Ethan Hawke, River Phoenix, Jason Presson.
* CALIFORNIE
Le film de science-fiction de Joe Dante, amusant et satirique, montre Hawke, Phoenix (dans son premier film) et Presson dans les rôles de trois écoliers qui, dans un vaisseau spatial bricolé, rendent visite à des aliens qui ne connaissent la Terre qu'au travers d'ondes télévisées égarées. La petite ville américaine d'où s'envolent les enfants est Petaluma, dans le comté de Sonoma, sur la route 101, à 45 km au nord de San Francisco. Le film commence dans la rue D de Petaluma et la maison où Etan Hawke épie la fille de ses rêves est au 920 de cette rue. Le drive-in, où le vaisseau spatial s'écrase sur le snack-bar, est le Cinéma Drive-In Pickwick dans le Centre de loisirs Pickwick, 1001 West Riverside Drive, Burbank.

STAND BY ME
(1986, réal.: Rob Reiner)
River Phoenix, Will Wheaton, Corey Feldman.
* OREGON; CALIFORNIE
La nouvelle atypique sur l'adolescence écrite par Stephen King, Le Corps, fut tournée à Eugene, sur la Route Nationale n°5, dans l'est de l'Oregon, à 160 kilomètres au sud de Portland. Castle Rock, la ville fictive de la Nouvelle Angleterre, dont le nom a servi à baptiser la société de production de King, est Brownsville, quelques lieues à l'ouest de la route 1-5, au nord d'Eugene. Le pont de chemin de fer traverse la rivière McCloud dans la région du Mont Shasta au nord de la Californie.

Le film The Mosquito Coast fait l'objet d'un article où l'auteur décrit le lieu de tournage le plus reculé et le plus obscur qu'ait connu River - Belize City. De manière surprenante, l'auteur commet des erreurs dans l'article pourtant beaucoup plus évident sur I Love You To Death. Il confond le personnage de Devo Nod joué par River avec ceux de Rosalie et de Marlon, interprètés par Tracey Ullman et Keanu Reeves.

I LOVE YOU TO DEATH
(1990, réal.: Lawrence Kasdan)
Kevin Kline, Tracey Ullman, Joan Plowright.
* ETAT DE WASHINGTON
Petite comédie noire sous-estimée à la distribution brillante, tournée à Tacoma, dans l'Etat de Washington. La pizzeria de Kevin Kline (spécialement créée pour le film) est le Bostwick Building, 764 Broadway, dans le quartier des magasins d'antiquités. Curieusement, l'extraordinaire café en forme de cafetière où Ullman engage William Hurt et River Phoenix pour tuer son mari existe vraiment - il s'agit du Bob's Java Jive, 2102 South Tacoma Way. Le poste de police où sont interrogés les meurtriers ratés, est le Elks Club Building, 565 Broadway. On voit également la Stadium Bowl High School, 111 North E Street, et l'église du Saint Rosaire, 512 South 30th Street.

Quelques pages après The Mosquito Coast, apparaît un article sur My Own Private Idaho dont la brièveté déçoit. D'autres entrées sont cependant plus longues et c'est avec Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade que l'auteur peut consacrer beaucoup plus de temps à l'exploration des multiples sites de tournage de cette superproduction qui se chiffre en millions de dollars.

INDIANA JONES ET LA DERNIERE CROISADE
(1989, réal.:Steven Spielberg)
Harrison Ford, Sean Connery, River Phoenix.
* UTAH ; COLORADO ; VENISE, ITALIE ; JORDANIE ; ESPAGNE ; IDAHO
Le troisième Indiana Jones commence à Moab, dans l'Utah. C'est dans le Sevenmile Canyon, dans le spectaculaire Parc National des Arcs, que River Phoenix, qui joue le jeune Indy, passe le prologue du film. Mais pourquoi les fantastiques formations de pierre sont-elles soudain remplacées par des prairies ordinaires à l'apparition du train ? Tout simplement parce que les scènes du train sont tournées sur la ligne de chemin de fer de Cubras et Toltec dans le Sud du Colorado. C'est une ligne que vous pouvez emprunter vous aussi. Le voyage aller-retour, qui prend la journée, part de Antonito, sur la route 285, au sud d'Alamosa dans le Colorado méridional, 45 kilomètres au sud-ouest à travers les Montagnes de San Juan, jusqu'à Chama, dans le Nord du Nouveau-Mexique.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Explorers

Oregon

California

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Ethan Hawke

Stephen King

The Body

Keanu Reeves

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

Rob Reiner

Utah

Joe Dante

Jason Presson

Portland

Lawrence Kasdan

Devo Nod

Tracey Ullman

Rosalie Boca

Wil Wheaton

Kevin Kline

Corey Feldman

New Mexico

San Francisco

Castle Rock

Star Wars

Joan Plowright

Tacoma

Washington, D.C.

Eugene

Idaho

American Graffiti

George Lucas

Burbank

Sean Connery

William Hurt

Marlon James

Petaluma, California

Venice, Italy

New England

Belize City

Colorado

Star Trek

Spain

Brownsville, Oregon

Jordan

Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites

The Worldwide Guide to Movie Locations

Tony Reeves

Mount Shasta

Moab, Utah

Sevenmile Canyon

Arches National Park
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

The Worldwide Guide to Movie Locations

by Tony Reeves
First published in 2001


ISBN 1-84023-207-2 (Paperback, 416 Pages)

Imagine, if you will, a much more tasteful version of the Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites book and a book that does nothing to encourage stalking, trespassing or any other type of behavior often exhibited by some of the more disturbed members of our society when it comes to celebrities and the film industry. The result might very well be a book such as this one, a meticulously researched reference work, especially written to supply much needed facts and figures for the increasingly popular pasttime of "movie tourism."

Generously illustrated with hundreds of photographs and with location details for over 1500 movies, the prospective traveller is provided with crucial journey information and details of exactly what they may expect to find there now in the present day, many years after the movie production company has left town. So, if you want to visit the "remote worlds" of Star Wars or Star Trek for example, or just happen to find yourself in a particular part of the world and would like to know which movies were shot in the area, this book may very well be able to provide the answers.

EXPLORERS
(1985, dir: Joe Dante)
Ethan Hawke, River Phoenix, Jason Presson.
* CALIFORNIA
Dante's enjoyable, satirical sci-fi has Hawke, Phoenix (in his first movie) and Presson as three schoolkids who visit, in their homemade spacecraft, aliens whose knowledge of Earth derives entirely from stray TV signals. The small US town the kids take off from is Petaluma, in Sonoma County, Route 101, 30 miles north of San Francisco, and also the location for George Lucas' American Graffiti. The movie opens on Petaluma's D Street, and the house where Ethan Hawke spies on his dream girl is 920 D Street. The drive-in, where the spacecraft crashes into the snack bar, is the Pickwick Drive-In Theater in the Pickwick Recreation Center, 1001 West Riverside Drive, Burbank.

STAND BY ME
(1986, dir: Rob Reiner)
River Phoenix, Will Wheaton, Corey Feldman.
* OREGON; CALIFORNIA
Stephen King's untypical coming-of-age-story, The Body, was shot at Eugene, on Highway 5, eastern Oregon, about 100 miles south of Portland. The fictional New England town of Castle Rock, after which King named his production company, is Brownsville, a couple of miles west of 1-5 to the north of Eugene. The railway viaduct is over the McCloud River in the Mount Shasta area of northern California.

The movie The Mosquito Coast has an entry in which the author talks about the most remote and obscure location that River ever had to work in - Belize City. Surprisingly though, it's the much more mundane entry for I Love You To Death that the author doesn't get quite right. He mixes up River's Devo Nod character with the characters Rosalie and Marlon, played by Tracey Ullman and Keanu Reeves.

I LOVE YOU TO DEATH
(1990, dir: Lawrence Kasdan)
Kevin Kline, Tracey Ullman, Joan Plowright.
* WASHINGTON STATE
Underrated little black comedy with a sparkling cast, shot in Tacoma, Washington State. Kevin Kline's pizzeria (specially created for the movie) is the Bostwick Building, 764 Broadway, on the city's Antique's Row. The fabulous coffee-pot shaped café where Ullman hires doped-out William Hurt and River Phoenix to knock off her husband is, amazingly, for real - it's Bob's Java Jive, 2102 South Tacoma Way. The police station, where the attempted murderers are questioned, is the Elks Club Building, 565 Broadway. Also seen are Stadium Bowl High School, 111 North E Street and the Holy Rosary Church, 512 South 30th Street.

Just a couple of pages after The Mosquito Coast is to be found an entry for My Own Private Idaho which is disappointingly short. Other entries are much longer however, and it's whilst discussing Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade that the author is able to spend much more time exploring the varied locations of that multi-million dollar blockbuster.

INDIANA JONES AND THE LAST CRUSADE
(1989, dir: Steven Spielberg)
Harrison Ford, Sean Connery, River Phoenix.
* UTAH; COLORADO; VENICE, ITALY; JORDAN; SPAIN; IDAHO
The third Indiana Jones film begins in Moab, in Utah. It's Sevenmile Canyon, in the spectacular Arches National Park, where River Phoenix, as the young Indy, spends the movie's prologue. But why are the fantastic rock formations suddenly replaced by featureless grassland the moment the train appears? Well, that's because the railway scenes were filmed on the Cubras and Toltec Railroad in Southern Colorado. And it's a railroad you can travel, too. The return journey, taking a whole day, runs from Antonito, Route 285, south of Alamosa in Southern Colorado, 30 miles southwest though the San Juan Mountains to Chama in northern New Mexico.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page