Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Leonard Maltin's 2007 Movie Guide

by Leonard Maltin
First published in 2006

(Le Guide Leonard Maltin des Films 2007)

Première édition 2006


ISBN 0-451-21916-3 (couv. souple, 1598 Pages)

La nouvelle édition de ce livre de référence sur le cinéma intègre trois cents nouveaux articles, portant ainsi leur nombre total à un chiffre qui confond l'imagination, soit plus de 17 000. Chaque entrée est suivie de petites icônes très pratiques qui précisent si le film a aussi été publié en DVD ou en vidéo.

Outre les articles sur les films, ont été ajoutées pour la première fois dans l'édition 2007 plusieurs listes qui concernent les DVD et les vidéos, les revendeurs par correspondance ou en ligne ainsi que les acteurs et les réalisateurs les plus importants.

On note en particulier que, si le livre ne donne pas la liste des quelques téléfilms de River, néanmoins tous ses films sont bien présents et reçoivent d'excellentes critiques.

Stand by Me (1986) C-87m. *** D: Rob Reiner. Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix, Corey Feldman, Jerry O'Connell, Kiefer Sutherland, Casey Siemaszko, John Cusack, Richard Dreyfuss. Narration typiquement américaine avec un regard plein de tendresse sur les amitiés et les aventures d'enfance dans les années 1950 (racontée par Dreyfuss, qui personnifie l'écrivain Stephen King, dont le court roman « Le Corps » sert de base au film). Performances irrésistibles et très crédibles des quatre jeunes acteurs principaux. Seul regret : le nombre élevé de jurons, qui n'étaient décidément pas si fréquents dans les années cinquante.

My Own Private Idaho (1991) C-102m. **½ D: Gus Van Sant. River Phoenix, Keanu Reeves, James Russo, William Richert, Rodney Harvey, Flea, Grace Zabriskie, Tom Troupe, Udo Kier. Peinture très spéciale de la prostitution masculine dans le Nord-Ouest américain, avec Phoenix narcoleptique louant ses services et Reeves en fils du maire de Portland - s'avilissant dans le métier. Le début du film est remarquable, promettant même de surpasser un autre film de Van Sant, DRUGSTORE COWBOY - mais il s'enlise ensuite dans une variation gay basée sur la première partie du Henri IV de Shakespeare, ce dont il ne se remet pas vraiment. Beaucoup de scènes puissantes cependant et Phoenix est excellent ; statut de film culte assuré.

La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Leonard Maltin's 2007 Movie Guide

by Leonard Maltin
First published in 2006


ISBN 0-451-21916-3 (Paperback, 1598 Pages)

Three hundred new entries are added to this industry standard reference book for this edition, bringing the total number of reviews within it to a mind-boggling 17,000+. Each review also has some very useful icons at the end of each one which identifies if that movie was ever published on DVD or video.

In addition to the movie reviews, several new listings are present for the first time in this 2007 edition. There are DVD and VHS listings, up-to-date listings of mail-order and online retailers, as well as lists of leading performers and an index of leading directors.

Of particular note is the fact that the handful of River's made-for-television movies are not listed in the book, but nevertheless all his theatrical releases are present and receive good reviews.

Stand by Me (1986) C-87m. *** D: Rob Reiner. Wil Wheaton, River Phoenix, Corey Feldman, Jerry O'Connell, Kiefer Sutherland, Casey Siemaszko, John Cusack, Richard Dreyfuss. Affectionate Americana looking back at boyhood friendship and adventures in the 1950s (and narrated by Dreyfuss, representing author Stephen King, whose novella "The Body" is the basis for this film). Irresistible and wholly believable performances from all four youthful leads. Only complaint: the high volume of four-letter words, decidedly not characteristic of the 1950s.

My Own Private Idaho (1991) C-102m. **½ D: Gus Van Sant. River Phoenix, Keanu Reeves, James Russo, William Richert, Rodney Harvey, Flea, Grace Zabriskie, Tom Troupe, Udo Kier. Uniquely distinctive portrayal of male street-hustling in the American Northwest, with Phoenix as a narcoleptic sex-for-hiree and Reeves as the son of Portland's mayor - slumming in the trade. Film opens terrifically, promising to surpass even Van Sant's DRUGSTORE COWBOY - then gets bogged down in the long, dreadfully conceived gay variation on Shakespeare's Henry IV, Part I, from which it never fully recovers. Many potent scenes, though, and Phoenix is excellent; cult status assured.

Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page