Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

John Phoenix

Samantha Mathis

Seattle

Sting

Kurt Cobain

Bruce Springsteen

Nirvana

Frank Zappa

Kurt Cobain

Christopher Sandford

Mick Jagger

Douglas Coupland

Fred Gwynne

Herman Munster

Dixie Lee Ray

Mike Collier

David Bowie

Eric Clapton
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Kurt Cobain

de Christopher Sandford
Première édition 1995


ISBN 0-75284-456-3 (broché, 407 pages)

Publié pour la première fois en 1995 et ayant bénéficié de rééditions régulières, ce livre du journaliste musical, romancier et biographe Christopher Sandford contient quelques références épisodiques à River. Sandford a écrit de nombreuses biographies sur les icônes les plus célèbres du monde de la musique comme Bruce Springteen, Mick Jagger et l'une des idoles de River, Sting. Dans cet ouvrage, l'auteur étudie la vie et la mort du leader du groupe rock Nirvana, Kurt Cobain. Celui-ci est généralement considéré comme le fondateur de l'une des manifestations les plus énigmatiques de l'expression musicale qui intéressait de plus en plus River lui-même - le mouvement grunge.

Quand la dernière vague de punk moderne se brisa en 1980, elle fut suivie par un mouvement «hardcore» où les groupes jouaient sur des guitares électriques fortement distordues avec des paroles qui essayaient d'avoir du sens.

Ses disciples seront la Génération X, aussi appelés les Vingt et quelques ou plus tard les flemmards, et stigmatisés par Douglas Coupland comme «42 millions de râleurs», si écoeurés par la vie et leurs perspectives personnelles qu'ils en devenaient aigris et désabusés. Selon Coupland, «ils avaient pour hymne le rock sombre de Seattle» et leur uniforme était un morne costume composé d'une chemise de flanelle et d'un jean râpé. Des milliers de flemmards se sont fait faire des piercings comme symbole de désillusion destructrice : agressivement anti-sociaux et contre la société. Leurs héros étaient Cobain et River Phoenix, qui moururent tous deux tragiquement, jeunes et incapables apparemment de faire avec.

De façon surprenante, bien qu'ayant des passions musicales très similaires et beaucoup de points communs dans la vie, River et son contemporain ne se rencontrèrent jamais . Néanmoins Cobain prit très difficilement la nouvelle du décès de River.

Lors d'une party cette nuit-là, Cobain parla de la mort. Pas de la sienne mais de celle de quatre modèles récemment disparus : Frank Zappa, les acteurs River Phoenix et Fred Gwynne (Herman Munster dans Les Munster) et le gouverneur radical de Washington des années 70, Dixie Lee Roy. 'Il n'y avait rien de morbide dans ce qu'il disait' raconte Mike Collier. 'Kurt était triste qu'ils soient partis mais il ne parlait pas de les rejoindre.'

Juste six mois après le décès de River, la mort de Kurt Cobain provoqua une frénésie médiatique presque comparable. Le père de Kurt Cobain avait décrit son fils comme quelqu'un qui «devait désespérément se sauver de lui-même», une remarque qui fait écho de manière obsédante à l'inquiétude manifestée par John Phoenix. Les similitudes entre les deux idoles se poursuivaient de façon encore plus évidente en la personne de Samantha Mathis qui fut tr&eagrave; touchée par la nouvelle de la mort de Cobain qui lui rappelait une tragédie survenue quelques mois auparavant. Deux membres de cette soi-disant Génération X étaient maintenant disparus, deux jeunes hommes de vingt ans à la vie brisée. Ces deux êtres avaient sans aucun doute beaucoup plus en commun qu'ils ne le savaient eux-mêmes.

Parmi la génération précédente, David Bowie déclara que 'la mort de Kurt fut vraiment un des coups les plus durs de ma vie'. 'Je m'identifie entièrement à certaines des choses qu'il a pu dire' ajouta Eric Clapton. 'Comme d'être dans les coulisses, d'entendre la foule de l'autre côté et de penser «Je ne mérite pas ça, je ne vaux rien. Ils sont fous, s'ils connaissaient la vérité sur moi, ils ne m'aimeraient pas comme ça». Je me suis identifié mille fois à ces paroles.'


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

John Phoenix

Samantha Mathis

Seattle

Sting

Kurt Cobain

Bruce Springsteen

Nirvana

Frank Zappa

Kurt Cobain

Christopher Sandford

Mick Jagger

Douglas Coupland

Fred Gwynne

Herman Munster

Dixie Lee Ray

Mike Collier

David Bowie

Eric Clapton
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Kurt Cobain

by Christopher Sandford
First published in 1995


ISBN 0-75284-456-3 (Paperback, 407 Pages)

First published in 1995 and enjoying regular reprinting runs ever since, this book, by music journalist, novelist and biographer Christopher Sandford, contains a couple of throw-away references to River. Sandford has written numerous biographies about the music industry's most successful icons including Bruce Springsteen, Mick Jagger and one of River's own personal music idols, Sting. For this book, the author examines the life and death of the front-man of rock band Nirvana, Kurt Cobain. Cobain is generally regarded as the founder of one of music's most enigmatic outlets of expression and one that River found himself more and more interested in - the grunge movement.

When the last wave of modern punk broke in 1980 it was followed by a 'hardcore' movement in which groups played wildly distorted electric guitars over lyrics that tried to be meaningful.

It's disciples would be Generation X, also dubbed twenty-somethings or later slackers, and stigmatized by Douglas Coupland as '42 million gripers' so dismayed with life and the prospects for self-improvement that they grew angry and disaffected. According to Coupland, 'their anthem was dark rock from Seattle' and their uniform a dismal costume of plaid flannel shirts and ripped jeans. Thousands of slackers pierced their bodies as a destructive symbol of disaffection: belligerently anti-social and anti-society. Their heroes were Cobain and River Phoenix, both of who died tragically young, unable, apparently, to cope.

Most surprisingly, despite having very similar musical interests and sharing many aspects of their lives in common, including many of the same friends, River never actually met his musical contemporary. Nevertheless, Cobain took the news of River's death extremely hard.

At a party that night Cobain spoke about death. Not his own, but those of four just-departed role models: Frank Zappa, the actors River Phoenix and Fred Gwynne (Herman Munster of The Munsters), and the radical, seventies governor of Washington, Dixie Lee Ray. 'There was nothing morbid about it,' says Mike Collier. 'Kurt was rueful they'd gone, not aiming to join them.'

Just six months after River's passing, Kurt Cobain's death would create an almost identical media frenzy. Kurt Cobain's father had described his son as someone who "desperately needed saving from himself", a statement that hauntingly echoed the concerns of John Phoenix. The similarities between the two icons continued to become more apparent than ever with Samantha Mathis taking the news of Cobain's death particularly hard, reminding her as it did, of a previous tragedy only a few months before. Two members of so-called Generation X were now gone, two young men in their twenties with their lives cut short. These were, without doubt, two people who had more in common than even the two of them ever knew.

Among the elder generation, David Bowie calls 'Kurt's death one of [the] really crushing blows in my life'. 'He was quoted as saying things that I totally identify with,' said Eric Clapton. 'Like being backstage and hearing the crowd out there, and thinking, "I'm not worth it. I'm a piece of garbage. And they're fools, if they knew what the truth was about me, they wouldn't like me." I've identified with that a million times.'


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page