Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

TV Commercials

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

Viper Room

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Canada

Martha Plimpton

River Phoenix: The Biography

Parenthood

Johnny Depp

Sheila Johnston

Keanu

Platoon

Devil's Advocate

The High School For The Performing Arts

Toronto, Canada

Romeo and Julliet

William Shakespeare

The Tempest

Hamlet

Dangerous Liaisons

Dogstar

Bram Stoker's Dracula

Little Budda

Speed
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Keanu

de Sheila Johnston
Première édition 1996


ISBN 0-330-34382-3 (couv. souple, 274 pages)

Acteur solide mais gentil, détestant les armes à feu et ayant une conduite personnelle non-violente, Keanu Reeves a toujours Hollywood à ses pieds. Pacifiste convaincu, il ne tue presque jamais dans ses films et il permet même que son personnage soit lui-même tué. Il a refusé nombre de films simplement en raison de leur nature déplaisante. Le plus significatif d'entre eux est probablement Platoon, alors que ce film aurait pu donner à sa carrière un élan majeur. Cet ouvrage passe en revue tous les films dans lesquels Reeves est apparu, depuis ses premiers travaux où les Studios le nommait K.C. Reeves pour cacher ses origines sino-hawaiennes, jusqu'au film Devil's Advocate (L'Associé du Diable) en 1996.

N'étant pas particulièrement brillant à l'école, Keanu réduit ses choix de carrière à deux options - devenir joueur de hockey sur glace ou bien acteur. A la suite d'une audition réussie à la High School For the Performing Arts (Ecole Supérieure des Arts du Spectacle) en 1980, il prend sa décision. Il entre dans le show-business à la même époque que River alors qu'il a six ans de plus. En fait, dès 1983, le plan de carrière des deux acteurs est semblable. Tous les deux débutent par des publicités qui les poussent vers des rôles d'invités d'appoint dans les différents shows télé de l'époque.

Il est toujours très intense - il prend son travail au sérieux. Il fait déjà montre de sa future obsession pour la recherche et la préparation. Engagé pour une pub de Coca-Cola où il doit jouer le rôle d'un coureur cycliste, il surgit dans le bureau de Moore pour lui montrer fièrement ses jambes rasées : il avait découvert que c'était ce que faisaient les coureurs du Tour d'Italie pour gagner quelques secondes. «Il rentrait vraiment dans chacun de ses rôles, même pour quelque chose d'aussi simple qu'une publicité.»

Bien qu'ils soient semblables et qu'ils partagent la même ambition, un aspect de la carrière de Keanu les sépare. Au printemps de 1985, on peut le rencontrer dans une école de théâtre de Toronto où il joue Mercutio dans une production étudiante de Roméo et Juliette. Keanu trouve que jouer devant des spectateurs est très vivifiant - quelque chose que le timide et réservé River n'aurait jamais fait. Keanu continuera de s'intéresser avec passion à Shakespeare comme on le voit dans My Own Private Idaho et il remontera sur les planches dans une production de La Tempête après avoir achevé I Love You To Death ainsi que dans une production canadienne d'Hamlet en 1995.

Quoiqu'il s'agisse d'une biographie de Keanu Reeves , des références sont faites à la vie de River qui est cité de manière répétée tout au long du livre. Il est regrettable d'apprendre toutefois que la source en est River Phoenix : The Biography. Le résultat en est un peu désespérant quand on retrouve à nouveau les mêmes assertions à propos des «abus sexuels» et des «parents-cupides-poussant-River-dans-le-show-business».

L'auteur consacre du temps à examiner tous les films de Keanu - les premiers succès et les premiers échecs de sa jeune carrière, comme les Bill and Ted, Dangerous Liaisons et Parenthood (Portrait craché d'une famille modèle) où il joue avec Leaf Phoenix et la petite amie de River à l'époque, Martha Plimpton. Est longuement présenté son petit rôle dans I Love You To Death ainsi que, un peu plus loin, celui de Even Cowgirls Get The Blues. Cependant, comme on peut s'y attendre, l'auteur choisit de consacrer un chapitre entier et particulièrement bien documenté à My Own Private Idaho.

C'est l'occasion de consolider la relation qu'ils ont établie sur I Love You To Death. Dans des interviews ultérieures, Keanu dira de River qu'il est son meilleur ami et tous les deux plaisanteront sur un éventuel Roméo et Juliette qu'ils joueraient ensemble (avec River pour Juliette). Van Sant dira : «Ils étaient très proches. Ils avaient beaucoup de points communs. Ils faisaient une bonne paire, ils avaient le même background. Ils avaient plus ou moins le même âge et ils étaient tous les deux des jeunes acteurs de première classe.»

Tous les deux sont des enfants des «flower-children», de familles des années soixante, non conventionnelles, qui bougeaient tout le temps. Mais avec tous ces changements permanents d'adresse, d'école et de beau-père, Keanu vient d'une famille aisée et son enfance ainsi que la série de domiciles bohèmes à la mode sont des modèles de stabilité, comparées à celles des Phoenix. Alors que River Phoenix a à peine dix-sept ans, ils ont déjà déménagé quarante fois, avec deux années comme missionnaires au Venezuela. Une des raisons pour lesquelles sa soeur et lui ont été poussés vers Hollywood est que leur famille avait désespérément besoin d'argent.

La carrière cinématographique de Keanu est alors en bonne voie. Ses nouveaux revenus lui permettent de satisfaire sa passion pour la moto mais celle-ci semble sa seule faiblesse. Comme River, il n'accorde pas de valeur à la richesse ou aux possessions matérielles. S'agissant de l'autre sujet d'intérêt de Keanu - la musique rock - le livre ne le mentionne que brièvement. Ainsi n'est-il presque fait aucune mention de son groupe «Dogstar» avant pratiquement le dernier chapitre. L'auteur se concentre plutôt sur sa carrière cinématographique en examinant la production de six autres films, dont Bram Stocker's Dracula et Little Buddha, avant d'en arriver à ce qui est généralement considéré comme le plus gros succès de Keanu jusqu'à ce jour, Speed.

Mais comme Keanu va le découvrir à son horreur, il n'y a pas qu'un bus qui fonce tout droit vers le précipice. Quelqu'un d'autre va aussi s'écraser sur la voie rapide d'Hollywood. Quelqu'un qui n'aura pas autant de chance.

Le tournage a commencé depuis huit semaines quand River Phoenix meurt d'une overdose après s'être effondré sur le trottoir devant le Viper Room, un night-club de West Hollywood dont un des propriétaires est Johnny Depp. Le rapport d'autopsie du coroner fera état d'un mélange de morphine (sans doute de l'héroïne métabolisée), de cocaïne, de Valium, de traces de marijuana et de médicaments contre le rhume. Il a vingt-trois ans. Keanu subit le choc et est accablé. «Il devint très calme» rapporte De Bont «et ça lui a pris pas mal de temps pour surmonter cela de lui-même et trouver la paix. Ça l'a vraiment épouvanté.» Pourtant le réalisateur ne retarde pas les prises de vues - le coût en aurait été prohibitif et, en outre, il lui semble préférable d'occuper sa star - mais il réorganise le planning de l'acteur. «Il disait que c'était une bonne idée de continuer de travailler mais il avait besoin de beaucoup de temps pour lui-même. Il vagabondait beaucoup.»


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Joaquin Phoenix, Leaf Phoenix

TV Commercials

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Even Cowgirls Get the Blues

Viper Room

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Canada

Martha Plimpton

River Phoenix: The Biography

Parenthood

Johnny Depp

Sheila Johnston

Keanu

Platoon

Devil's Advocate

The High School For The Performing Arts

Toronto, Canada

Romeo and Julliet

William Shakespeare

The Tempest

Hamlet

Dangerous Liaisons

Dogstar

Bram Stoker's Dracula

Little Budda

Speed
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Keanu

by Sheila Johnston.
First published in 1996.


ISBN 0-330-34382-3 (Paperback, 274 Pages)

Keanu Reeves, a strong but gentle actor with a powerful dislike of guns and a consistent policy of non-aggression, continues to hold Hollywood at his feet. A dedicated pacifist, he almost never kills anyone in his movies or likewise allows his own character to be killed and has turned down a number of movies simply because of their graphic nature. The most significant of those would probably be Platoon despite the fact that the film would certainly have given his early career a major kick-start. This book looks at all of the movies Reeves has appeared in, from his earliest works in which the movie studios chose to credit him as K.C. Reeves to hide his Chinese/Hawaiian origins through to the 1996 movie Devil's Advocate.

Not doing particularly well in school Keanu had narrowed his career choices down to two options - he would become either an ice-hockey player or an actor. After a successful audition in 1980 at the High School For The Performing Arts, his mind was made up. Although six years older than River, it so happens that they both entered show business around the same time. In fact, by 1983, the work pattern of both actors was almost indistinguishable. Both began their careers by appearing in commercials that would soon lead to the odd guest-spot on the various TV shows of the time.

He was always extremely intense - he took his work very seriously. He was already displaying his later obsession with research and preparation. Up for a Coca Cola ad in which he would play a racing cyclist, he bounded into Moore's office proudly to show her his shaven legs: he had discovered that this was what Italian Grand Prix racers did to take a few seconds off their time. "He really got into every role, even for something as simple as a commercial."

Very much alike they may have been, sharing the same ambitions, but there was one aspect of Keanu's career that would set them apart. In the spring of 1985, he was to be found at a Toronto acting school playing Mercutio in a senior student production of Romeo and Juliet. Keanu found acting before a live audience most exhilarating - something that a shy and reserved River could never bring himself to do. Keanu continued to have a strong interest in Shakespeare as can be seen in My Own Private Idaho and he has since returned to the theatre in a production of The Tempest after completing I Love You To Death and also in a Canadian production of Hamlet in 1995.

A biography about Keanu Reeves it may be but nevertheless River is mentioned and his life is referred to repeatedly throughout the book. It was with regret though to learn that the source of this material was in fact River Phoenix: The Biography. As a result, it was a little disheartening to see the sexual-abuse/pushed-into-show-business-by-greedy-parents et al claims once again in print.

The author puts time aside to examine all of Keanu's movies - the early hits and misses of his career such as the Bill and Ted movies, Dangerous Liaisons and Parenthood in which he starred alongside Leaf Phoenix and River's girlfriend at the time, Martha Plimpton. Discussed at some length is his cameo in I Love You To Death as is Even Cowgirls Get The Blues, later on in the book. Not surprisingly though, the author chooses to devote almost an entire chapter to My Own Private Idaho which is particularly well researched.

It was an opportunity to cement the relationship they had begun on I Love You To Death. In later interviews, Keanu described River as his best friend, and the two joked about playing Romeo and Juliet together (with Phoenix as Juliet). "They were pretty close," Van Sant said. "They have a lot of things in common. They made a good twosome, they have a shared background. They were of similar ages and they were both champion young actors."

Both were the children of flower-children, from unconventional, Sixties-style families which had been constantly on the move. But, for all his constant changes of address, school and stepfather, Keanu came from a comfortable background and his childhood and fashionably bohemian series of homes were a model of stability compared to the Phoenixes'. They had moved house forty times, including two years spent as missionaries in Venezuela, by the time Phoenix was seventeen. One reason why he and his sister had been pushed towards Hollywood was that the family was desperately short of money.

Keanu's movie career was well and truly taking off by now. His newfound income allowed him to indulge in his passion for motorbikes but that appears to have been his only indulgence to date. Like River, he places no value in wealth or material possessions. As for Keanu's other interest - rock music - it is mentioned only briefly in the book. Indeed, there's absolutely no reference to his band "Dogstar" until almost the last chapter. Instead, the author continues to concentrate on his film career by looking into the production of six more movies, including Bram Stoker's Dracula and Little Buddha before arriving at what is generally regarded as Keanu's biggest blockbuster to date, Speed.

But as Keanu was about to discover to his horror, it was not only a bus that was heading straight over the edge. Someone else was about to crash in the Hollywood fast lane too. Someone that wasn't going to be as lucky.

It was eight weeks into filming when River Phoenix died from a drugs overdose after collapsing on the pavement in front of the Viper Room, a nightclub in West Hollywood co-owned by Johnny Depp. The coroner's report found in his body a cocktail of morphine (thought to have been heroin when it entered his blood), cocaine, Valium, traces of Marijuana and cold medication. He was twenty-three. Keanu was shocked and stricken. "He became very quiet," said De Bont, "and it took him quite a while to work it out by himself and calm down. It scared the hell out of him." The director did not postpone the shoot - that would be prohibitively expensive and besides it seemed best to keep his star busy - but he did reorganize the schedule around the actor. "He said it was a good idea to keep working but he did need a lot of time to himself. He wandered about a lot."


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page