Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Terry Gilliam

Keanu Reeves

Tim Burton

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism

Animal Rights

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Johnny Depp

Winona Ryder

Kate Moss

Sunset Boulevard

Johnny Depp: The Biography

Nigel Goodall

Sleepy Hollow

Fear and Lothing in Las Vegas
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Johnny Depp: The Biography

de Nigel Goodall
Première édition 1999


ISBN 1-85782-341-9 (couverture souple, 270 Pages)

Dans cette biographie qui inclut des films récents comme Las Vegas Parano (Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas) de Terry Gilliam et Sleepy Hollow de Tim Burton, son auteur Nigel Goodall consacre au total huit pages à la mort de River dans un chapitre intitulé «A Nightmare On Sunset Boulevard» («Cauchemar sur Sunset Boulevard»).

Malgré tout, il passe aussi peu de temps que possible à Hollywood. Comme ses amis Keanu Reeves et Winona Ryder qui font de leur mieux pour échapper à l'apparence de la ville clinquante, ainsi fait River Phoenix. Il déplore simplement ce qu'il appelle «sa mauvaise influence et ses valeurs superficielles».
Les fans comme les spécialistes d'Hollywood ont essayé depuis de trouver une explication à la mort de l'acteur. Même un observateur ordinaire de la première page des tabloïds n'aurait pas mis River Phoenix en tête de liste des personnes à problèmes.
Cela défie tout simplement l'entendement de penser que le fils de parents hippies - quelqu'un avec des idéaux utopiques, qui refuse de manger de la viande, des produits laitiers et du poisson, qui fait campagne pour l'écologie, le sauvetage de la forêt tropicale et le traitement humain des animaux, qui refuse de porter du cuir et choisit expressément de fuir les projecteurs de la célébrité - puisse mourir d'une overdose. Ce n'est simplement pas possible.

Toutes les rumeurs et les histoires de cette nuit-là reviennent à nouveau sur le tapis et l'auteur les associe à des citations du héros de l'ouvrage. Depp est cité régulièrement tout au long de cette biographie et, pour cette raison, le livre a recours à un langage cru.

«Je savais que les mois qui suivraient allaient être un festival de voyeurisme, rempli de badauds et de touristes, du genre «le Tour des tombes» et toute cette merde. Je n'y suis pas allé pendant un moment. On a désherbé la place de ces badauds, maintenant c'est à nouveau un endroit correct.»

Le «tout est bien qui finit bien» de Johnny Depp signifie la fin de ce sujet particulier au sein de l'ouvrage et l'auteur passe à la liaison de Depp avec le mannequin Kate Moss. Ce qui laisse sans réponse la question sur ce qu'entendait exactement Johnny Depp par «désherber».


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Terry Gilliam

Keanu Reeves

Tim Burton

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism

Animal Rights

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Johnny Depp

Winona Ryder

Kate Moss

Sunset Boulevard

Johnny Depp: The Biography

Nigel Goodall

Sleepy Hollow

Fear and Lothing in Las Vegas
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Johnny Depp: The Biography

by Nigel Goodall.
First published in 1999.


ISBN 1-85782-341-9 (Paperback, 270 Pages)

In a biography that includes looking at such recent films as Tim Burton's Sleepy Hollow and Terry Gilliam's Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas, author Nigel Goodall, spends a total of eight pages talking about River's death in a chapter he calls "A Nightmare On Sunset Boulevard."

All the same, he spent as little time as he could in Hollywood. As much as his friends Keanu Reeves and Winona Ryder did their best to retreat from the hype of tinsel town, so did Phoenix. He simply deplored what he called its "bad influences and superficial values."
Indeed, both fans and the Hollywood insiders themselves have since struggled to make sense of the actor's death. Even a casual observer of tabloid headlines would not have put Phoenix down as the one likely to run into trouble.
It simply beggared belief that the child of hippie parents - someone with such Utopian ideals, who refused meat, dairy and fish products, campaigned for environmental issues such as saving the rainforests and the humane treatment of animals, refused to wear leather, and characteristically chose to hide away from the celebrity spotlight - could have died of a drug overdose. It just wasn't possible.

All of the rumours and stories of that night come out for yet another airing and the author mixes them with a number of quotations from the book's subject. Depp is regularly quoted in this way throughout the entire length of the biography and, because of this, the book features very strong language.

"I knew for the next month or so it was just gonna be a gawk feast, just filled with gawkers and tourists, Grave-line Tours, all that shit. I just didn't go around for a while. We've weeded out the gawkers, now it's back to being a good place."

Depp's "all's well that ends well" comment signifies the end of this particular subject in the book and the author moves on to look at his relationship with model Kate Moss. This leaves the question of exactly what Depp meant by "weeded out" as unanswered.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page