Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Explorers

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

LucasFilm

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles

Rob Reiner

Joe Dante

Peter Weir

Charlie Fox

Helen Mirren

Allie Fox

Garry Jenkins

Harrison Ford: Imperfect Hero

Air Force One

The Virginian

Ironside

Gunsmoke

Melissa Mathison

Frantic

Working Girl

John Baxter
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Harrison Ford: Imperfect Hero

(Harrison Ford : Héros imparfait)

de Garry Jenkins
Première édition 1997


ISBN 0-671-85464-X (couv. souple, 416 pages)

En mars 1994, l'Association nationale des Exploitants de Cinéma américains, lors de sa convention annuelle, décide de décerner une récompense à «La Star du Siècle du Box Office.» Avec une liste de films ayant rapporté à ce jour plus de 2 milliards de dollars, soit plus que tout autre acteur dans l'histoire du cinéma, c'est Harrison Ford qui reçoit le prix. Le livre traite de manière détaillée de la vie de Ford ainsi que de sa carrière mouvementée qui le mène tout droit à cette cérémonie avant de poursuivre jusqu'à son rôle de Président des Etats-Unis dans le grand succès de 1997 Air Force One.

L'ouvrage s'intéresse aux nombreuses apparitions de Ford au théâtre, à l'orée de sa carrière, comme à ses rôles d'acteur invité dans des feuilletons-télé comme Le Virginien, L'Homme de Fer et Gunsmoke. Ce n'est bien sûr que dans la deuxième moitié du livre, de fait au chapitre 18, que l'auteur aborde une des performances les moins connues de Ford, celle d'Allie Fox dans The Mosquito Coast le film de Peter Weir.

Helen Mirren, la talentueuse actrice anglaise, reçoit le rôle de la femme d'Allie tandis que River Phoenix, alors âgé de quinze ans, vedette du film original de science-fiction The Explorers et qui doit bientôt briller dans Stand By Me, est choisi pour être le narrateur de l'histoire, Charlie, le fils d'Allie.

Pour Phoenix, il est la voix du bon sens. Ses avis au jeune acteur - tristement ignorés ainsi qu'il est advenu - sont : «Garde la tête sur les épaules. C'est juste un boulot.» La jeune star dira plus tard : «Il est solide, une vraie figure paternelle. Gardant le contrôle, très concentré.»

La déception amère de Ford face au traitement que reçoit le film de la part de la critique est atténuée par l'annonce de la grossesse de sa seconde femme, Melissa Mathison. Sa nouvelle famille l'accompagne d'ailleurs pendant les trois années qui suivent sur les lieux de tournage de Frantic et de Working Girl. Puis Ford retrouve bientôt son partenaire de Mosquito Coast dans le film de Steven Spielberg, Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade.


ISBN 1-5597-2443-9 (broché, 408 pages)

La performance de River Phoenix dans The Mosquito Coast - sans parler de son étonnante ressemblance physique avec Harrison Ford - lui fait obtenir le rôle du jeune Indiana.

Harrison est finalement enchanté par le choix de Phoenix. Il insiste pour travailler avec lui sur les aspects physiques du rôle. «Je voulais être sûr qu'il fasse les bons gestes» dira-t-il plus tard. Certains cependant interprètent son intérêt pour le jeu de Phoenix comme une légère paranoïa issue de la crainte que sa situation puisse être menacée de façon permanente par le jeune Indy. «Le jeune acteur [Phoenix] est averti de ne jamais imiter les particularités de Ford à l'écran ni de suggérer qu'il ait le moindre intérêt à reprendre le rôle d'Indy» écrit John Baxter, le biographe de Spielberg. A coup sûr le succès de Phoenix est assez marquant pour inspirer une série télévisée à Lucasfilms, Les Chroniques du Jeune Indiana Jones. Le sort, toutefois, ne permettra pas qu'une réponse soit donnée aux rumeurs qui circulent à Hollywood. Six ans plus tard, Phoenix disparaît.

La carrière d'un acteur qui a atteint largement la cinquantaine - un acteur avec environ quarante films sur son nom - se lit avec passion. Juste un instant, on se projette trente ans plus tard. Et quelle joie il y aurait à lire une autre biographie - sur la carrière d'un des partenaires d'Harrison Ford, un autre homme qui aurait aussi atteint la cinquantaine. Alors que son air juvénile s'est enfui depuis longtemps, son visage bien plus vieux, désormais sillonné de rides profondes, marques du temps qui passe, orne la couverture du livre, juste comme sur celui-ci. Quarante ou cinquante films extraordinaires y sont présentés en détail, juste aussi comme dans celui-ci.

Mais bien sûr, désormais, cela n'arrivera pas.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Explorers

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

LucasFilm

Steven Spielberg

Harrison Ford

The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles

Rob Reiner

Joe Dante

Peter Weir

Charlie Fox

Helen Mirren

Allie Fox

Garry Jenkins

Harrison Ford: Imperfect Hero

Air Force One

The Virginian

Ironside

Gunsmoke

Melissa Mathison

Frantic

Working Girl

John Baxter
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Harrison Ford: Imperfect Hero

by Garry Jenkins.
First published in 1997.


ISBN 0-671-85464-X (Paperback, 416 Pages)

In March 1994, at their annual convention, America's National Association of Theatre Owners, decided to present an award entitled, "Box-Office Star of the Century." With a list of films that have, to date, grossed more than $2 billion, more than any other performer in history, they presented the award to Harrison Ford. The book documents, in much detail, Ford's life and his eventful career that led to that ceremony before continuing further right through to Ford's appearance as the President of the United States in the 1997 blockbuster Air Force One.

The book talks about Ford's numerous early appearances in theatre as well as guest-parts he obtained in TV shows such as The Virginian, Ironside and Gunsmoke. Indeed, it is more than halfway through the book, chapter eighteen in fact, before the author examines one of Ford's lesser known performances, that of Allie Fox, in Peter Weir's The Mosquito Coast.

The gifted English actress Helen Mirren had been cast as Allie's wife, while the fifteen-year-old River Phoenix, star of Joe Dante's off-beat space adventure The Explorers and soon to shine in Rob Reiner's Stand By Me, was chosen as the narrator of the story, Allie's son Charlie.

To Phoenix he was the voice of common sense. His advice to the young actor - sadly ignored as it turned out - was: "Keep your head on your shoulders. It's just a job." "He's sturdy, a real father figure. In control, very centred", the young star said later.

Ford's bitter disappointment at the treatment of the movie by the critics was eased when his second wife, Melissa Mathison announced she was pregnant. Ford was accompanied by his new family over the next three years as he worked on the movies Frantic and Working Girl. Ford would then be reunited with his Mosquito Coast co-star in Steven Spielberg's Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.


ISBN 1-5597-2443-9 (Hardback, 408 Pages)

River Phoenix's performance in The Mosquito Coast - not to mention his striking physical resemblance to Harrison - landed him the role of the young Indiana.

Harrison was, on the face of it, delighted by the casting of Phoenix. He insisted on working with him on the physicality of the part. "I wanted to make sure he got the moves right," he said later. Some, however, interpreted his interest in Phoenix's performance as mild paranoia brought on by fears that he might be about to be permanently usurped by Young Indy. "The young actor [Phoenix] was warned never to imitate Ford's mannerisms on-screen, nor to suggest he had any interest in taking over the Indy role", wrote Spielberg biographer John Baxter. Certainly the success of Phoenix's performance was strong enough to inspire a Lucasfilm television series, The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles. Fate, however, would not allow a definitive answer to the rumours that circulated Hollywood. Within six years, Phoenix would be dead.

It is most fascinating to read about the career of an actor now well into his fifties - an actor with around forty movies to his name. Just for a moment we caught ourselves looking forward to, say, thirty years from now, and what a joy it would be to read another biography - a biography about the career of one of Harrison Ford's co-stars, another man who by then would also be in his fifties. His boyish looks long gone, his much older face, now marked with deep lines representing the passing of time, adorns the cover of the book, just like this one. Forty or fifty extraordinary movies are detailed within it, also just like this one.

But of course, that's not going to happen now.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining these titles.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page