Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Stand By Me

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Sneakers

Viper Room

John Belushi

Marilyn Monroe

Academy Awards

Johnny Depp

Beverly Hills

Sunset Boulevard

Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites

Tallulah Bankhead

E.J. Flemming

Bugsy Siegel

Chateau Marmont Hotel

Irving Thalberg

Brandon Tartikoff

Stan Laurel

Oliver Hardy
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

«Hollywood vous paiera dix mille dollars pour un baiser,
et cinquante cents pour votre âme...
»

- Marilyn Monroe


Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites

Sixteen Driving Tours with Directions
and the Full Story, from Tallulah Bankhead
to River Phoenix

La mort et les lieux scandaleux à Hollywood

Seize visites guidées avec lieux répertoriés
et leur histoire complète, de Tallulah Bankhead
à River Phoenix

de E.J. Flemming
Première édition 2000


ISBN 0-7864-0160-5 (couv. souple, 287 pages)

Le prix inexplicablement élevé de ce livre très léger ne préoccupera pas trop les membres de la race humaine qui trouvent plaisir dans les souffrances d'autrui. Car ici sont présentées seize visites à Hollywood, soigneusement préparées, chacune avec de nombreux points d'arrêt où nous est relatée une histoire sensationnelle comme un suicide, un meurtre, un viol ou une explosion. Avant d'en venir aux visites proprement dites, le livre commence cependant par une relation intéressante de l'histoire des débuts d'Hollywood et de la manière dont certains coins perdus comme Beverly Hills se développèrent à l'origine.

Toutefois, dès que les visites sont en bonne voie, la quantité prévaut sur la qualité, avec nombre d'erreurs factuelles, en tout cas s'agissant d'un endroit particulier sur Sunset Boulevard.

(De Shoreham à Sunset. Directement vers :)

8860 Sunset Boulevard, Viper Room, Lieu du décès de River Phoenix

Dans les années 40, ce bar s'appelait le «Melody Room» et était un des repaires de Bugsey Siegel. En 1993, il était la propriété de Johnny Depp et était un des lieux branchés où se retrouvait les jeunes fêtards d'Hollywood. La nuit d'Halloween 1993, l'acteur River Phoenix fit une overdose fatale à l'intérieur et mourut sur le trottoir devant la porte d'entrée. Agé de 23 ans, il avait joué dans Stand By Me (1986), Sneakers (1987), Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade (1988) et fut nommé pour un oscar pour Running on Empty à 17 ans. Bien qu'il fût un végétarien avoué, Phoenix n'avait pas de scrupules à se droguer. Pendant qu'il se trouvait là, il s'injecta une speedball fatale d'héroïne et de cocaïne et comme son héros John Belushi, il en mourut. Il s'écroula, saisi de convulsions, et après avoir été porté à l'extérieur, il mourut devant la porte d'entrée. Apparemment très conscient de son état, la star dit au portier «Je vais mourir, mec» comme on le transportait. De manière appropriée, «Viper» était, dans l'argot des années 20, un toxicomane.

Outre la divulgation une fois encore de la remarque apocryphe faite au portier, ce passage soulève plusieurs problèmes que ce soit la date du film Sneakers, l'erreur très souvent répétée de la date de la mort de River, ou bien l'affirmation concernant la méthode selon laquelle furent pris cette nuit-là les narcotiques. Ces questions seront sans doute de peu d'importance pour ceux qui prennent part à la visite. Ils sont conduits ensuite sur Sunset Boulevard, non vers l'Hôtel Château-Marmont où mourut John Belushi (c'est en fait le point de départ des visites), mais dans la direction opposée, vers un lieu où survint une fusillade entre gangsters dans les années 40.

Plus de 500 sites sont ainsi présentés et presque toutes les célébrités auxquelles vous pouvez penser sont mentionnées à un endroit ou à un autre. Sont également concernés des gens puissants dans les coulisses comme Irving Thalberg et Brandon Tartikoff.

847 Ocean Avenue, Stan Laurel death site

Après la mort de Hardy en 1957, Laurel refusa toute interview pour le reste de ses jours et après plusieurs attaques, le 23 février 1965, il commença à baisser rapidement. Laurel dit à son infirmière : «Je préfèrerais faire du ski plutôt que faire ça.» Celle-ci lui demanda : «Oh, Mr. Laurel, vous skiez ?» et il répondit : «Non, mais je préfèrerais cela plutôt qu'avoir toutes ces aiguilles enfoncées sur moi». Avec son sens parfait et si typique du timing, comme après une réplique, il mourut à cet instant précis. Il avait 65 ans, le même âge qu'Oliver Hardy quand il mourut en 1957. A son enterrement, fut joué en fond musical pour le cortège funèbre le thème de Laurel et Hardy.

Au fait, qui était Tallulah Bankhead ? Eh bien, il paraît que c'était une actrice bisexuelle des années 30, connue pour faire la roue toute nue pendant les réceptions. Fascinant.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Stand By Me

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Sneakers

Viper Room

John Belushi

Marilyn Monroe

Academy Awards

Johnny Depp

Beverly Hills

Sunset Boulevard

Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites

Tallulah Bankhead

E.J. Flemming

Bugsy Siegel

Chateau Marmont Hotel

Irving Thalberg

Brandon Tartikoff

Stan Laurel

Oliver Hardy
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

"Hollywood will pay you ten thousand for a kiss,
and fifty cents for your soul...
"

- Marilyn Monroe


Hollywood Death and Scandal Sites

Sixteen Driving Tours with Directions
and the Full Story, from Tallulah Bankhead
to River Phoenix

by E.J. Flemming.
First Published in 2000.


ISBN 0-7864-0160-5 (Paperback, 287 Pages)

The unaccountably expensive price of this light paperback book will be of little concern to those members of the human race that find pleasure in the suffering of others. For it is here that sixteen carefully planned Hollywood tours are presented, each one featuring numerous stop-off points whereupon the book relates a sensationalist story of an incident such as suicide, murder, rape or bombing. Before commencing with the actual tours however, the book does start with an interesting account of the history of early Hollywood and how remote outposts like Beverly Hills were originally developed.

Once the tours actually get underway though, it's quantity rather than quality that prevails, with several factual errors for one particular point along Sunset Boulevard, for example.

(Shoreham to Sunset. Right to:)

8860 Sunset Boulevard, Viper Room, River Phoenix death site

In the 1940s this bar was called the "Melody Room" and was a favorite hangout of Bugsey Siegel. In 1993 it was owned by Johnny Depp, and was a favored hangout of the young Hollywood party set. On Halloween night, 1993, actor River Phoenix took a fatal drug overdose inside and died on the sidewalk by the front door. The 23-year-old had starred in Stand By Me (1986), Sneakers (1987), Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1988), and received an Oscar nomination for Running on Empty at 17. Although he was a vocal vegetarian, Phoenix had no qualms about drugs. While visiting here he injected himself with a fatal "speedball" of heroin and cocaine and like his hero John Belushi, was killed by it. He collapsed in convulsions and after being carried outside he died by the front door. The apparently very self-aware star told a doorman, "I'm gonna die, dude" as he was carried past. Appropriately, "viper" was 1920s slang for an opium addict.

Besides yet another airing for the apocryphal comment to the doorman, there are several problems with this passage - everything from the date given for the movie Sneakers, the often-repeated error regarding the date of River's death, through to the claims regarding the method the narcotics were taken that night. Such issues will no doubt be of little concern to those actually taking part in this tour. By now they will driven off along Sunset Boulevard, not to the Chateau Marmont Hotel, where John Belushi died (that was actually the starting point for this tour), but in the opposite direction to the scene of a 1940's gangland drive-by shooting.

Over 500 such sites are featured and just about every celebrity you can think of is mentioned at some point or another. Others that are discussed include powerful people behind the cameras such as Irving Thalberg and Brandon Tartikoff.

847 Ocean Avenue, Stan Laurel death site

After Hardy's 1957 death, Laurel refused interviews for the rest of his life, and after several strokes, on February 23, 1965, he began failing rapidly. Laurel said to his nurse, "I'd rather be skiing than doing this." His nurse asked, "Oh, Mr. Laurel, do you ski?" and he replied, "No, but better be doing that than having these needles stuck into me." With his typically perfect timing, as if on cue he died that very instant. He was 65, the same age as Oliver Hardy when Hardy had died in 1957. At his funeral, the mortuary played the Laurel and Hardy theme song in the background for the mourners.

And just who was Tallulah Bankhead? Well, it seems she was a 1930's bisexual actress, noted for performing naked cartwheels at parties. Fascinating.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page