Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Oregon

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

LucasFilm

Steven Spielberg

Jeffrey Boam

Indiana Jones

The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles

John Baxter

ABC

Steven Spielberg: The Unauthorised Biography

George Lucas: A Biography
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

George Lucas: A Biography

de John Baxter
Première édition 1999


ISBN 0-00-257009-2 (broché, 466 pages)

Dans cette longue et coûteuse biographie, écrite par le même auteur que celle de Steven Spielberg présentée précédemment, la lecture des dernières pages est particulièrement intéressante pour tout fan de River.

Au moment où River s'amuse comme jamais dans l'Oregon sur le tournage de Stand By Me, le scénariste Jeffrey Boam achève la première ébauche d'Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade.

Pour être sûr d'accrocher son public, La Dernière Croisade offre non pas une, mais deux séquences préliminaires. La première montre Indy adolescent, joué par le jeune acteur le plus en vue d'Hollywood, River Phoenix. Son embauche devient un des secrets les mieux gardés de la Dernière Croisade. Dans le script, on le nomme seulement «le Garçon dans le Train» et une fois que les rumeurs commencent à circuler, Lucasfilm répand sa propre fausse information selon laquelle Phoenix joue le jeune frère d'Indy.

River Phoenix mérite une scène d'ouverture majeure, aussi Boam en écrit-il une spéciale à son intention. Le jeune Indy et un groupe de Boy Scouts visitent un village indien dans un canyon où, par hasard, un pilleur de tombes, nommé «Fedora» et habillé comme Indy adulte, vient de découvrir l'ancienne croix de Coronado. Indy, en déclarant vertueusement «ceci devrait être dans un musée», s'en saisit et file vers la ville, poursuivi par Fedora et ses hommes. Récupérant la croix, le shérif la rend à Fedora. «T'as perdu aujourd'hui, gamin» le console Fedora «mais ça ne veut pas dire que tu dois aimer ça». Il lui donne alors son chapeau de feutre souillé.

Le prologue devrait s'achever là, mais Ford proteste que sa propre séquence d'ouverture en professeur de collège fatigué, en costume de tweed, ne rend pas justice à son personnage. Il est irrité de l'espace accordé à Phoenix qui lui avait presque volé sous le nez la vedette de The Mosquito Coast, en jouant son fils. Lucas insère alors une deuxième séquence d'ouverture dans laquelle Indy, vingt-six ans plus tard, est aux prises avec d'autres sous-fifres sur le pont d'un cargo battu par la tempête au large des côtes portugaises.

De manière très détaillée, selon une technique utilisée tout au long de l'ouvrage, l'auteur consacre les quatre pages suivantes à la courte série télévisée Les Chroniques du Jeune Indiana Jones.

Le retour d'Indiana Jones attire les grands réseaux de télévision et ABC ne laisse pas passer l'occasion d'une série hebdomadaire d'une heure sur le jeune Indy.

ABC espère que River Phoenix reprendra son rôle pour la série, mais la carrière du jeune acteur est trop prometteuse pour qu'il joue les globe-trotters pendant trois ou quatre ans.

Spéculer est toujours dangereux. Néanmoins, si River avait accepté de reprendre son rôle pour cette série télévisée, il est probable que les niveaux d'audience qui alors auraient été atteints, auraient certainement évité la suppression du feuilleton après seulement trente-deux épisodes comme il arriva. Si River avait passé les années entre 1991 et 1995 à tourner ce feuilleton, on peut se demander quel tour auraient pris les événements.

Et il est navrant de se poser une telle question.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Oregon

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

LucasFilm

Steven Spielberg

Jeffrey Boam

Indiana Jones

The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles

John Baxter

ABC

Steven Spielberg: The Unauthorised Biography

George Lucas: A Biography
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

George Lucas: A Biography

by John Baxter.
First published in 1999.


ISBN 0-00-257009-2 (Hardback, 466 Pages)

It's the last few pages of this lengthy and expensive biography, written by the same author as the previously featured Steven Spielberg biography, that make particularly interesting reading for any River fan.

At the same time that River was having the time of his life in Oregon filming Stand By Me, screenwriter Jeffrey Boam was finishing the first draft of Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.

To be sure of thoroughly hooking the audience, The Last Crusade offers not one but two preliminary action sequences. The first features a teen Indy, played by Hollywood's hottest young actor, River Phoenix. His hiring became one of the best-kept of Last Crusade's secrets. In the script, he's only referred to as "Boy on Train," and once rumors began circulating, Lucasfilm spread its own misinformation that Phoenix was playing Indy's young brother.

River Phoenix deserved a major opening sequence, so Boam wrote one especially for him. Young Indy and a group of Boy Scouts are visiting an Indian canyon village where, coincidentally, a grave-robber, identified only as "Fedora" and dressed like the adult Indy, has just dug up the ancient Cross of Coronado. Indy, declaring righteously, "This should be in a museum," grabs it and sets off for town, pursued by Fedora and his men. Taking back the cross, the sheriff returns it to Fedora. "You lost today, kid," Fedora consoles him, "but that doesn't mean you have to like it." He gives him his stained felt hat.

The opening should have ended there, but Ford protested that his own introduction as a weary college professor in tweeds hardly did justice to his character. He also resented the space given to Phoenix, who had almost stolen The Mosquito Coast from under his nose, playing his son. Lucas inserted a second opening sequence in which Indy, twenty-six years later battles more minions on the storm-drenched deck of a freighter off the Portuguese coast.

In painstaking detail, a technique applied throughout the length of this biography, the author spends the next four pages of his book looking into the short-lived television series The Young Indiana Jones Chronicles.

The rebirth of Indiana Jones attracted network TV, and ABC rose to the suggestion of an hour-long weekly series about young Indy.

ABC hoped River Phoenix would reprise his role for the series, but the young actor's career was too hot for him to commit himself to three or four years of globetrotting.

Speculation is always a dangerous undertaking. Nevertheless, had River agreed to reprise his role for this television series it would probably be pretty safe to say that the audience levels that would have been generated would have meant that this project would not have been axed after just thirty-two episodes as actually happened. Had River spent 1991 to 1995 filming such a series, just how differently history might have turned out, one can only wonder.

And it's heartbreaking to do so.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page