Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Silent Tongue

The Mosquito Coast

My Own Private Idaho

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Sam Shepard

Richard Harris

John Belushi

Marlon Brando

Butterfly McQueen

Ma Kennywick

I was a Fugitive from a Hollywood Trivia Factory

Aubrey Dillon-Malone

Charlie Chaplin

Federico Fellini
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

I was a Fugitive from a
Hollywood Trivia Factory

(Je me suis évadé d'une
usine de banalités d'Hollywood)

de Aubrey Dillon-Malone
Première édition 1999


ISBN 1-85375-326-2 (broché, 320 pages)

Lire que Charlie Chaplin participa une fois à un concours de sosie de Charlie Chaplin et finit troisième ou que le passeport de Marlon Brando porte comme profession «berger» plutôt qu'acteur est quelque peu divertissant. Le livre prend la forme d'un recueil de très nombreuses «listes des dix meilleurs...» sur toutes sortes de sujets. On y trouve parmi d'autres Keanu Reeves et Gus Van Sant de My Own Private Idaho qui bénéficièrent d'une nomination dans différentes catégories comme Richard Harris et Sam Shepard de Silent Tongue.

Malheureusement, il apparaît très vite qu'il n'y a pas de profondeur où ce livre ne soit prêt à descendre pour trouver du matériel adéquat, ou plutôt inadéquat. La mort terrible et horrible de l'actrice Butterfly McQueen (Ma Kennywick dans The Mosquito Coast) est tournée en plaisanterie dans une liste déplaisante des «10 célébrités mortes dans un accident». Cependant peu d'individus sont traités d'une manière aussi choquante qu'un jeune acteur qui mérite pourtant mieux que ce qu'il reçoit dans ces pages.

En fait, le nom de River apparaît trois fois. D'abord, on le trouve avec le réalisateur Federico Fellini dans une section donnant la liste des stars qui décédèrent le même jour. Tournez la page et le lecteur tombe sur une liste «Ils sont morts avec leurs chaussures aux pieds - 10 stars qui décédèrent au milieu du tournage». Ce n'est déjà pas terrible mais rien ne vous prépare à ce qui suit : «La seringue et le mal est fait - 10 stars qui se droguaient» :

RIVER PHOENIX
Paya le péage suprême pour avoir emprunté la route de John Belushi en avalant des speedballs de cocaïne/héroïne pour devenir un autre de ces Lancelot de vitrine de Clinquantville, vomissant ses tripes dans un caniveau avant d'être emporté dans un body-bag.

Comme tel, le livre se révèle être aussi inexact que de mauvais goût. On en a assez parlé, vraiment.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Silent Tongue

The Mosquito Coast

My Own Private Idaho

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Sam Shepard

Richard Harris

John Belushi

Marlon Brando

Butterfly McQueen

Ma Kennywick

I was a Fugitive from a Hollywood Trivia Factory

Aubrey Dillon-Malone

Charlie Chaplin

Federico Fellini
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

I was a Fugitive from a
Hollywood Trivia Factory

by Aubrey Dillon-Malone.
First published in 1999.


ISBN 1-85375-326-2 (Hardback, 320 Pages)

Reading that Charlie Chaplin once entered a Charlie Chaplin lookalike contest, and came third, or that Marlon Brando's passport lists his profession as "shepherd" rather than "actor" makes for some light-hearted entertainment. The book takes the form of countless "Top Ten Lists" across numerous different subjects. Relevant people that are listed include My Own Private Idaho's Keanu Reeves and Gus Van Sant who both receive nominations in various categories as does Silent Tongue's Richard Harris and Sam Shepard amongst others.

Unfortunately though, it quickly becomes apparent that there are no depths to which this book is not prepared to sink to in search of suitable, or rather, unsuitable material. Acclaimed actress Butterfly McQueen's (Ma Kennywick in The Mosquito Coast) terrible and gruesome death in 1995 is made light of in a distasteful "10 celebrities who died in accidents" list. However, few individuals are treated quite so shockingly as a young actor who deserves rather better than what he receives between the covers of this book.

In fact, River's name is used three times. Firstly, it is to be found alongside director Federico Fellini in a section listing stars who passed away on the same day. Flip the page and the reader is presented with the "They Died With Their Boots On - 10 stars who died in mid-shoot" list. This is bad enough but nothing prepares you for what soon follows - "The Needle and the Damage Done - 10 stars who had drug problems":

RIVER PHOENIX
Paid the ultimate price for going the John Belushi road of ingesting cocaine/heroin speedballs, becoming yet another one of Tinseltown's shop-soiled Lancelots vomiting his innards into the gutter before being carted away in a bodybag.

As such, the book would appear to be as inaccurate as it is tasteless. Enough said, really.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page