Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Surviving: A Family in Crisis

Explorers

Peter Bogdanovich

The Thing Called Love

The Mosquito Coast

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Keanu Reeves

Harrison Ford

Joe Dante

Wolfgang Muller

Toronto Film Festival

William Hurt

Mollie Ringwald

First Films

Jami Bernard

New York Post

Total Exposure: The Movie Buff's Guide to Celebrity Nude Scenes
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

First Films

Illustrious, Obscure and
Embarassing Movie Debuts

Premiers Films

Débuts cinématographiques illustres,
obscures et embarrassants

de Jami Bernard
Première édition 1993


ISBN 0-8065-1402-7 (couv. souple, 320 pages)

Jami Bernard, le critique de cinéma du New York Post, a écrit plus récemment des livres plutôt insolites comme le contestable Total Exposure : The Movie Buff's Guide to Celebrity Nude Scenes (Indécence Totale : le Guide des scènes de nu de célébrités pour les mordus du cinéma). En 1993 cependant, l'auteur publia le présent livre dans lequel il raconte une série d'anecdotes survenues dans les coulisses, des photos d'alors et d'aujourd'hui et, avant tout, les débuts pas toujours très réussis de plus d'une centaine acteurs et de réalisateurs dans des films.

Souvent il apparaît que le but recherché est d'embarrasser au maximum les personnes présentées. C'est pourquoi on a quelquefois la surprise de voir dans la liste un film parfaitement respectable. Explorers est un de ces films.

«Je suis allé à un "appel à bestiaux" ordinaire pour quatre auditions» dit Phoenix d'une manière très sérieuse et résolue qui explique sans doute pourquoi Dante en a fait le scientifique du groupe. «A l'époque, j'avais un plâtre à la suite d'un accident de moto et j'étais plutôt enveloppé. J'ai dit à Dante je peux faire ce rôle, je sais que je peux. Je l'ai intéressé et il a voulu que je sois dans ce projet d'une façon ou d'une autre.

Le livre est certainement fidèle à son titre en ce qu'il ne prend en considération que les films. Aussi dans la section consacrée à River, par exemple, on ne mentionne ni Seven Brides for Seven Brothers ni aucun des téléfilms de la carrière novice de River.

Ses partenaires de I Love You To Death, William Hurt et Keanu Reeves, apparaissent également de même que celle de Surviving, Molly Ringwald. L'auteur parle aussi des débuts de la carrière du réalisateur de The Thing Called Love, Peter Bogdanovich.

«Je pense que The Mosquito Coast est la chose la plus audacieuse que j'ai faite, car c'était bien en avance pour mon âge», disait Phoenix pendant un dîner au cours du Festival des Festivals 1991 de Toronto. Dans The Mosquito Coast, il joue le fils d'un inventeur (Harrison Ford) dont les obsessions détruisent sa famille.

The Mosquito Coast est loin d'être aussi audacieux que le rôle de prostitué narcoleptique à la recherche d'un foyer de My Own Private Idaho, le film que Phoenix était venu défendre au festival.

En privé, Phoenix peut être aussi appliqué que Wolfgang Müller ; à la conférence de presse, le jour suivant, cependant, il semblait hostile et incohérent. «C'est difficile, le processus effectif de communication» explique-t-il en hésitant. Des amis mettent cela sur le compte de la timidité.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Seven Brides for Seven Brothers

Surviving: A Family in Crisis

Explorers

Peter Bogdanovich

The Thing Called Love

The Mosquito Coast

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Keanu Reeves

Harrison Ford

Joe Dante

Wolfgang Muller

Toronto Film Festival

William Hurt

Mollie Ringwald

First Films

Jami Bernard

New York Post

Total Exposure: The Movie Buff's Guide to Celebrity Nude Scenes
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

First Films

Illustrious, Obscure and
Embarassing Movie Debuts

by Jami Bernard.
First Published in 1993.


ISBN 0-8065-1402-7 (Paperback, 320 Pages)

More recently, the film critic for the New York Post, Jami Bernard, has writen such unusual books such as the questionable Total Exposure : The Movie Buff's Guide to Celebrity Nude Scenes. Back in mid-1993 however, this book was published in which the author presents a collection of behind-the-scenes anecdotes, then-and-now photographs but most importantly, the not-always-pretty film debuts of more than one hundred actors and directors.

Often, it appears that the aim is for maximum embarrassment for the people being featured. Because of this, it is sometimes surprising to occasionally see a perfectly respectable movie listed. One of them is Explorers.

"I went out on a standard cattle call for four auditions," says Phoenix in a very serious, intent way, which must have been why Dante made him the scientist of the group. "At the time I had a cast on from a motorcycle accident, and I had plumped out pretty good. I told Dante I can do this part, I know I can. He cared for me and wanted me to be in the project somehow."

The book is certainly true to its title and considers only debut movies. So in River's section for example, there is no mention of Seven Brides for Seven Brothers or any of the TV-movies of River's early, fledgling career.

River's co-stars from I Love You To Death, William Hurt and Keanu Reeves are also featured as is River's co-star from Surviving, Molly Ringwald. The author also talks about the early career of the director of The Thing Called Love, Peter Bogdanovich.

"I think The Mosquito Coast was the most daring thing I've done, because it was advanced for my age," said Phoenix over dinner during the 1991 Toronto Festival of Festivals. In The Mosquito Coast, he is the son of an inventor (Harrison Ford) whose obsessions are destroying the family.

The Mosquito Coast is not nearly as daring as the role of a narcoleptic hustler searching for home in My Own Private Idaho, the film for which Phoenix had traveled to the festival.

Privately, Phoenix can be as studious as Wolfgang Muller; at a press conference the next day, however, he seemed hostile and incoherent. "It's difficult, the actual process of communicating," he explains haltingly. Friends chalk it up to shyness.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page