Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Harrison Ford

Indiana Jones

Belize

Christian Slater

Star Wars

Allie Fox

Dead Heat on a Merry-go-round

Air Force One

The Films of Harrison Ford

Lee Pfeiffer

Michael Lewis

Joe Pesci

Jeronimo

Hollywood Reporter

Six Days, Seven Nights

Jimmy Hollywood

Patricia McQueeney
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

The Films of Harrison Ford

de Lee Pfeiffer et Michael Lewis.
Première édition 1996


ISBN 0-8065-1998-3 (couverture souple, 256 pages)

Récemment publié à nouveau, après une révision et une mise à jour pour inclure des films comme Air Force One et Six Days, Seven Nights (Six Jours, Sept Nuits), cet ouvrage constitue plus que jamais une extraordinaire encyclopédie de la carrière d'Harrison Ford.

Depuis Dead Heat on a Merry-Go-Round en passant par l'Edition spéciale de la Trilogie de la Guerre des Etoiles, les auteurs examinent avec minutie la vie et les films de Ford. Même le film Jimmy Hollywood de 1994 avec Joe Pesci et Christian Slater a droit à cinq pages de matériel passionnant, en raison du passage éclair de Ford à la scène finale du film, bien qu'il ne figure pas au générique.

Trésor de connaissances, ce livre n'est pas réservé aux fans d'Harrison Ford et mérite une place dans la collection de tout cinéphile. Même les films les moins connus de Ford reçoivent une attention particulière. Par exemple l'histoire intrigante de la genèse de The Mosquito Coast est racontée avec beaucoup de détails en sept pages de textes et de photographies.

Une personne ne partage pas l'enthousiasme de Ford pour le rôle. Patricia McQueeney est depuis fort longtemps son agent. Elle dira en 1994 dans une interview au Hollywood Reporter : «[Ford] disait : «Je ferai ces autres films mais pour une fois j'en ferai un aussi pour moi.» Il adorait ce que Allie Fox, son personnage, avait à dire. Harrison est vraiment concerné par l'environnement et la lutte contre la pollution et toutes les nobles causes défendues par Allie Fox. Mais ce que je n'aimais pas, c'était la torture à laquelle il soumettait sa femme et ses gosses. Alors je lui ai dit : «Les spectateurs pensent que tu es un héros. Ils ne vont pas vouloir que tu sois ce sale type qui traîne ces gens dans la jungle.» On a souvent des discussions et des disputes amicales mais pour celui-là, ça a vraiment été la bagarre !»

Le village fictif de Jeronimo qu'Allie transforme, à partir de quelques cabanes, en une communauté prospère sera construit ex nihilo. Curieusement, à cette occasion, l'équipe déterre un temple Maya non répertorié dont Indiana Jones aurait tiré quelque fierté. Les 7 millions de dollars que les producteurs investissent dans l'économie locale font de la société de cinéma la troisième industrie du Belize cette année-là (après le sucre et la marijuana !). Près de trois cents habitants sont embauchés pour construire des routes, porter les provisions et transporter le nécessaire quotidien.

Pratiquement chaque page est illustrée de photos en couleurs ou en noir et blanc - une collection de clichés officiels mais également des photos plus rares prises dans les coulisses des différents plateaux. River lui-même apparaît dans son costume de Boy-Scout quand le livre en vient au film Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade.

Le film offre aussi à River Phoenix le rôle vedette d'Indy adolescent dans une superbe séquence d'ouverture. Les scènes qui montrent Indy en Boy-Scout essayant d'empêcher le vol d'un objet sacré par des charognards dans une mine d'or abandonnée est une pure merveille d'écriture, de direction et de montage. La bagarre d'Indy avec les voleurs le conduit de l'intérieur de la mine à une poursuite à cheval puis à un jeu du chat et de la souris dans un train qui transporte un cirque avec de dangereux animaux. En quelques précieuses minutes, la scène permet d'expliquer les origines de toute chose chez Indy, depuis sa phobie des serpents jusqu'à l'acquisition de son Stetson reconnaissable entre tous. La séquence se projette de manière très réussie vingt six ans plus tard quand Indy adulte est à nouveau pris dans un combat à mort pour sauver le même objet d'art.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

The Mosquito Coast

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

Harrison Ford

Indiana Jones

Belize

Christian Slater

Star Wars

Allie Fox

Dead Heat on a Merry-go-round

Air Force One

The Films of Harrison Ford

Lee Pfeiffer

Michael Lewis

Joe Pesci

Jeronimo

Hollywood Reporter

Six Days, Seven Nights

Jimmy Hollywood

Patricia McQueeney
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

The Films of Harrison Ford

by Lee Pfeiffer and Michael Lewis.
First published in 1996.


ISBN 0-8065-1998-3 (Paperback, 256 Pages)

Recently republished after being revised and updated to include films such as Air Force One and Six Days, Seven Nights, this book now represents, more than ever, an extraordinary encyclopedia of the works of Harrison Ford.

From Dead Heat on a Merry-Go-Round through to the enhanced Star Wars Trilogy Special Editions, the authors examine Ford's life and movies in minute detail. Even the 1994 Joe Pesci/Christian Slater movie Jimmy Hollywood has five pages of fascinating material due to Ford's unbilled cameo during the movie's conclusion.

A treasure chest of knowledge, the book should not be limited to Harrison Ford fans and deserves a place in any movie-goer's collection. Even Ford's lesser known films receive in-depth attention. The intriguing story of the making of The Mosquito Coast for example is told in much detail over seven pages of text and photographs.

One person who did not share Ford's enthusiasm for the role was his longtime agent Patricia McQueeney. She told the Hollywood Reporter in a 1994 interview, "[Ford] says, 'I'll do these other films, but once in a while I've got to do one for me.' He loved what his character, Allie Fox, had to say. Harrison is very much into the environment and antipollution and all of those good things that Allie Fox was also into. But what I didn't like was the torture that he puts his wife and his kids through. And I said, 'The audience thinks you're a hero. They aren't going to want you to be this mean guy who drags these people through the jungle.' We often have friendly fights, friendly arguments, but with that one we really had a knock-down-drag-out!"

The fictitious town of Jeronimo, which Allie Fox develops from a few shacks into a thriving community, had to be constructed from scratch. Interestingly, in the course of doing so, the crew unearthed an unrecorded Mayan temple - a discovery that would have made Indiana Jones proud. The $7 million which the producers invested in the local economy made the film company the third biggest industry that year in Belize (following sugar and marijuana!). Over three hundred citizens were hired to build roads, carry supplies, and transport the all-important dailies.

Practically every page is generously illustrated with both color and back-and-white photographs - a collection of both official publicity shots in addition to rare, behind-the-scenes photos from the various movie sets. River himself is featured in his Boy Scout outfit when the book documents the movie Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade.

The film also features River Phoenix as the teenaged Indy in a superb opening sequence. The scenes, which feature Indy as a boy-scout trying to prevent the theft of a sacred artifact by scavengers in a deserted gold mine, is a marvel of flawless screenwriting, directing, and editing. Indy's battle with the thieves takes him from inside the mine, to a chase on horseback, to a cat-and-mouse game aboard a circus train loaded with deadly animals. Within a few precious minutes, the scene manages to explain the origins of everything from Indy's fear of snakes to his acquisition of his trademark Stetson hat. The sequence beautifully segues to twenty-six years later, when we see a grown Indy once again caught in a life-and-death struggle to save the same artifact.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page