Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Rain Phoenix

Aleka's Attic

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Kurt Cobain

Tame Yourself

R.E.M., REM

Charlotte

Michael Stipe

Indigo Girls

New Orleans

Athens, Georgia

Monster

Nirvana

What's the Frequency, Kenneth?

I Took Your Name

You

Marcus Gray

It Crawled From The South: An R.E.M. Companion

Dr Maralyn Gootman

When A Friend Dies
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

It Crawled From The South
An R.E.M. Companion

Montés du Sud
R.E.M., le manuel

de Marcus Gray
Première édition 1992


ISBN 0-306-80751-3 (couv. souple, 560 pages)

Les quatre années écoulées entre la première et la seconde édition révisée de ce livre ont été extraordinaires et souvent douloureuses pour le groupe de rock'n'roll R.E.M., qui a connu un succès néanmoins éclatant. Ces années ont vu chacun des membres du groupe subir de graves problèmes de santé ainsi que le départ de l'un d'entre eux, mais également la signature du plus gros contrat d'enregistrement de l'histoire de la musique. C'est aussi pendant cette période que R.E.M. a connu des drames d'une nature plus personnelle.

River est mentionné une demi-douzaine de fois environ dans le livre. La première occasion se trouve au chapitre quatre lorsque l'auteur donne la liste chronologique des compositions de ce groupe talentueux. C'est là que se révèle la force de l'amitié entre River et le chanteur du groupe, Michael Stipe.

1993
Michael écrivit les paroles de "You", de "I Took Your Name" et de la nouvelle chanson "What's The Frequency, Kenneth?". Il en joua des extraits à Kurt Cobain quand le guitariste de Nirvana lui rendit visite à Athens peu de temps après les sessions de la Nouvelle Orléans - "ça l'a vraiment emballé" - mais il n'alla pas plus loin dans sa participation. Le 31 octobre, son grand ami River Phoenix fut victime d'une overdose et mourut, ce qui le bouleversa à tel point qu'il fut incapable d'écrire pendant les cinq mois qui suivirent.

Cette amitié évolua aussi vers une association pour composer de la musique et elle est évoquée dans le chapitre intitulé "...Nous avons tant de choses en commun..."

Michael Stipe et River Phoenix
Pendant son temps libre, River Phoenix dirigeait un groupe appelé Aleka's Attic qui comprenait notamment sa soeur Rain. Au début de 1990, le groupe s'envola pour Charlotte afin d'enregistrer un morceau pour l'album Tame Yourself au profit de PETA, auquel participèrent également Michael et les Indigo Girls. A partir de là, Michael et River devinrent de bons amis, River envisageant même de s'installer à Athens en 1993. Tous les deux composèrent des chansons ensemble mais aucune n'avait été enregistrée et était prête à sortir avant la mort de River en octobre de cette année-là.

Rain, la première soeur de River, est mentionnée brièvement en deux occasions, la seconde pour l'accompagnement vocal qu'elle a apporté pour l'album Monster. Cependant la production de cet album marqua soudainement un temps d'arrêt vers la fin de 1993. Lors de sa sortie, l'album fut dédié à River.

Un hiatus se produisit à la suite de la mort de River Phoenix, l'ami très proche de Michael, le 31 octobre. La décision avait pourtant été prise d'enregistrer le disque aussi vite, aussi simplement et avec aussi peu de raccords que possible.

Malheureusement, la mort de River Phoenix ne fut que la première d'une série d'interruptions engendrées par le drame et la maladie qui, tout au long de l'enregistrement puis de la tournée mondiale l'année suivante, seraient suffisantes pour que la personne la moins superstitieuse croie au mauvais sort.

Le chagrin de Michael à la suite du décès de Patrick et de River Phoenix l'année précédente le poussa à soutenir personnellement le livre du Dr Maralyn Gootman "Quand meurt un ami" dans le bulletin du fan club de mars 1994. "Mettez de côté toute idée préconçue sur les livres de développement personnel - celui-ci parle directement et simplement à quiconque a souffert de la perte d'un ami". Quand Kurt Cobain se suicida le mois suivant, R.E.M. admit à nouveau l'universalité "des sentiments de peine, d'anxiété ou d'isolement" et donna dans le bulletin de juin le numéro de S.O.S. Détresse.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Rain Phoenix

Aleka's Attic

PETA, People for the Ethical Treatment of Animals

Kurt Cobain

Tame Yourself

R.E.M., REM

Charlotte

Michael Stipe

Indigo Girls

New Orleans

Athens, Georgia

Monster

Nirvana

What's the Frequency, Kenneth?

I Took Your Name

You

Marcus Gray

It Crawled From The South: An R.E.M. Companion

Dr Maralyn Gootman

When A Friend Dies
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

It Crawled From The South:

An R.E.M. Companion

By Marcus Gray.
First published in 1992.


ISBN 0-306-80751-3 (Paperback, 560 Pages)

The four intervening years between which the first and revised second edition of this book were published were extraordinary and often painful times for the nevertheless hugely successful rock'n'roll band R.E.M. It saw each member of the band suffer severe medical problems as well as the departure from the group of one of the band members whilst at also seeing the signing of the biggest recording deal in music history. It was also during this period that R.E.M. also suffered deeply felt tragedies of a particularly personal nature.

River is mentioned around half-a-dozen times throughout this book. The first occasion is to be found in chapter four in which the author presents a chronological listing of the results of the band's songwriting talents. It is here that the strength of the friendship between River and the band's lead-singer, Michael Stipe, first becomes apparent.

1993
Michael put lyrics to 'You', 'I Took Your Name' and new song 'What's The Frequency, Kenneth?'. He played the demos of those songs to Kurt Cobain when the Nirvana guitarist visited him in Athens shortly after the New Orleans sessions - 'He really dug it' - but was to get no further with his contributions. On 31 October his good friend River Phoenix overdosed and died, which upset him so greatly that he felt unable to write for the next five months.

This friendship also evolved into a music-writing partnership and is discussed in the chapter called "...We Have Many Things In Common..."

Michael Stipe and River Phoenix
In his spare time, River Phoenix fronted a band named Aleka's Attic, which also featured his sister Rain. Early in 1990, the band flew to Charlotte to record a track for the PETA benefit album Tame Yourself, to which project Michael and the Indigo Girls also contributed. Thereafter, Michael and River became good friends, with River even considering a move to Athens in 1993. The two wrote songs together, but none had been recorded for release prior to River's death in October that year.

River's eldest sister, Rain, is briefly referred to on two occasions, the second being a reference to her singing backing vocals on the album Monster. Production work on this album suddenly came to an impromptu halt however towards the end of 1993. Upon its release, the album would be dedicated to River.

There was a hiatus following the death of Michael's close friend River Phoenix on 31 October. The decision having been made that this record was to be recorded as quickly, simply and with as few overdubs as possible.

Unfortunately, River Phoenix's death was just the first of many interruptions caused by tragedy and illness which - running throughout recording and then the follow year's world tour - would be enough to make even the least superstitious person suspect a jinx.

Michael's grief over the deaths of both Patrick and River Phoenix the previous year prompted him to write a personal endorsement of Dr Maralyn Gootman's When A Friend Dies in the March 1994 Fan club newsletter: 'Shelve any idea have about self-help books - this speaks directly and simply to anyone who has suffered the loss of a friend.' When Kurt Cobain commited suicide the following month, R.E.M. again recognised the universality of 'feelings of pain, anguish or isolation', and printed the number of the Suicide Prevention Helpline in the June Newsletter.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page