Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Dictionnaire Bibliographique Abrégé Chambers

Sous la direction de Una McGovern et Gary Dexter
Première édition en 2003


ISBN 0-550-10062-8 (broché, 1055 Pages)

Ce livre de plus de 1 000 pages est une mise à jour de l'ouvrage de référence publié précédemment sous le titre de Dictionnaire Bibliographique Chambers. Cette version abrégée contient encore plus de dix mille entrées et constitue une source d'information de premier ordre pour ceux qui souhaitent entreprendre une recherche sur des personnalités d'aujourd'hui ou bien des figures historiques de premier plan qui ont influencé le monde où nous vivons.

La plupart des domaines de la vie sont couverts parmi lesquels la musique, la télévision, les arts, les sciences, la politique et la philosophie. Bien qu'il parcoure de nombreux siècles et pas seulement quelques décennies, l'ouvrage consacre toutefois quelques lignes à un acteur du vingtième siècle en particulier.

Phoenix, River  1970-93  •acteur américain• Né à Madras, Oregon, de parents qui furent membres de la secte des Enfants de Dieu, il est élevé en divers endroits d'Amérique du Sud avec ses frères et soeurs Rain, Summer et Joaquin (alias Leaf), acteurs comme lui. Parmi ses films, on relève Mosquito Coast (1986), Running on Empty (1988), My Own Private Idaho (1991) et Silent Tongue (1993). Il meurt d'un arrêt cardiaque provoqué par une overdose devant un night-club d'Hollywood à l'âge de 23 ans.

Ainsi qu'on l'a dit et à la différence des autres ouvrages à consulter de la Bibliothèque Phoenix, ce livre n'est pas seulement consacré à l'industrie cinématographique et les responsables de sa publication accordent autant de place à leurs différents sujets. Des acteurs contemporains de River sont traités sur le même modèle et avec le même soin mais si des écrivains comme Paul Theroux sont bien là, en revanche, des réalisateurs comme Rob Reiner, Sidney Lumet et Gus van Sant n'apparaissent pas.

Ford, Harrison  1942-  •acteur de cinéma américain• Né à Chicago, il fait ses premiers pas au théâtre dans des festivals d'été avant de trouver des petits rôles au cinéma et à la télévision. Il atteint la célébrité grâce à Star Wars (1977) et ses deux suites. Jouant des rôles de héros plein de ressources et fanfaron, il acquiert une grande popularité avec l'aventurier archéologue des Chevaliers de l'Arche perdue (1981) et ses suites Indiana Jones et le Temple du Destin (1984) et Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade (1989). Ses autres succès incluent notamment Witness (1985, nomination aux Oscars), Mosquito Coast (1986), Présumé Innocent (1990), Le Fugitif (1993) et Apparences (2000).

Mirren, Helen, de son vrai nom Helen Lydia Mironoff  1945-  •actrice anglaise• Née à Hammersmith, West London, elle rejoint la Royal Shakespeare Company en 1967 où elle interprète Ophélie dans Hamlet (1970), le rôle titre de Miss Julie (1971) et Lady Macbeth dans Macbeth (1974-75). Elle fait ses débuts au cinéma dans Herostratus (1967) et ses rôles dans Racket (The Long Good Friday -1979) et Cal (1984) reçoivent des critiques élogieuses. Parmi les films suivants, on note The Mosquito Coast (1986), Le Cuisinier, le Voleur, sa Femme et son Amant (1989), La Folie du Roi George (1994) et Some Mother's Son (1996). A la télévision, elle est connue pour son rôle de la policière Jane Tennison dans Suspect n° 1 (1996-96). Elle continue d'avoir une activité théâtrale soutenue.

Reeves, Keanu  1964-  •acteur américain• Né à Beyrouth, Liban, il fait ses études à la Toronto High School for Performing Arts. Sa carrière sur scène débute au Canada puis il passe à la télévision et au cinéma au milieu des années 80, apparaissant dans des films très divers, des comédies comme Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure (1988) aux films d'action comme Speed (1994). Ces autres films notables comprennent Dangerous Liaisons (1988), Point Break Extrême Limite (1991), My Own Private Idaho (1991), Matrix (1998) et Sweet November (2001).


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Chambers Concise Biographical Dictionary

Edited by Una McGovern and Gary Dexter
First published in 2003


ISBN 0-550-10062-8 (Hardback, 1055 Pages)

This 1000+ page book is presented as an update to the previously published full reference work entitled Chambers Biographical Dictionary. This abridged version still contains over ten thousand entries and is a valuable source of information for those wishing to undertake research regarding either modern day individuals or prominent figures from history who have influenced the world in which we live.

Participants from most areas of life are covered including those involved with music, television, the arts, the sciences, politics and philosophy. Despite spanning many, many centuries, rather than just a few decades, the book still makes time to remember one particular actor from the twentieth century.

Phoenix, River  1970-93  •US actor• Born in Madras, Oregon, to parents who were members of the Children of God sect, he was brought up in various locations in South America with his siblings Rain, Summer and Joaquin (aka Leaf), also actors. His films include Mosquito Coast (1986), Running on Empty (1988), My Own Private Idaho (1991) and Silent Tongue (1993). He died of drug-induced heart failure outside a Hollywood nightclub at the age of 23.

As previously mentioned, and unlike most of the other reference works featured in Phoenix Bookshelf, this book does not concentrate solely on the film industry and instead the editors give equal and fair coverage to all of their subjects. River's acting contemporaries who also receive entries in this reference book share the same layout and much the same length, but although writers such as Paul Theroux are listed, directors such as Rob Reiner, Sidney Lumet and Gus Van Sant are not present.

Ford, Harrison  1942-  •US film actor• Born in Chicago, he appeared in summer stock theatre before making small appearances in films and television. He achieved fame in Star Wars (1977) and its two sequels. Cast as resourceful, swashbuckling heroes, he found great popularity as an archeologist adventurer in Raiders of the Lost Ark (1981) and its sequels Indiana Jones and the Temple of Doom (1984) and Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989). Other successes include Witness (1985, Academy Award nomination), The Mosquito Coast (1986), Presumed Innocent (1990), The Fugitive (1993) and What Lies Beneath (2000).

Mirren, Helen, originally Helen Lydia Mironoff  1945-  •English actress• Born in Hammersmith, West London, she joined the Royal Shakespeare Company in 1967, where her performances included Ophelia in Hamlet (1970), the title role of Miss Julie (1971) and Lady Macbeth in Macbeth (1974-75). She made her film debut in Herostratus (1967) and won acclaim for her roles in The Long Good Friday (1979) and Cal (1984). Her subsequent pictures include The Mosquito Coast (1986), The Cook The Thief His Wife & Her Lover (1989), The Madness of King George (1994) and Some Mother's Son (1996). On television, she is best known as policewoman Jane Tennison in Prime Suspect (1991-96). She has continued to work widely on stage.

Reeves, Keanu  1964-  •US actor• He was born in Beirut, Lebanon, and studied at the Toronto High School for Performing Arts. He began his career on stage in Canada and moved to television and cinema in the mid-1980s, appearing in a diverse range of films from comedies such as Bill and Ted's Excellent Adventure (1988) to action thrillers such as Speed (1994). Other notable films include Dangerous Liaisons (1988), Point Break (1991), My Own Private Idaho (1991), The Matrix (1998) and Sweet November (2001).


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this item.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page