Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

The Children of God

TV Commercials

Dogfight

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

James Dean

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Indiana Jones

Rob Reiner

Joe Dante

Kenneth Branagh

Sidney Lumet

Academy Awards

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Vietnam

William Shakespeare

Hamlet

Much Ado About Nothing

Cassell Companion To Cinema
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Cassell Companion To Cinema

La présente édition publiée en 1998


ISBN 0-304-34992-5 (couv. souple, 623 pages)

Ce livre, qui présente plus de 3 000 articles mais consacre un peu plus d'une demi-page à River et à sa contribution unique au cinéma, semblait très prometteur. Presque immédiatement cependant, il apparaît clairement que les recherches effectuées pour le composer l'ont été à la hâte comme le montre le peu d'attention accordée par l'auteur aux dates et l'idée qu'il se fait de l'âge moyen du public de River.

Phoenix, River (1971-93)
acteur américain, devenu une figure de culte pour les moins de vingt ans en raison de sa mort prématurée due à une overdose. L'attrait de sa beauté, son air vulnérable et son décès prématuré ont encouragé la comparaison avec James DEAN.

Puis le livre enchaîne sur la naissance de River, sa prime enfance et la secte des Enfants de Dieu avant de s'attacher à sa carrière, commençant par le refus de River de faire de la publicité.

Running On Empty, l'histoire d'une famille d'anciens protestataires contre la guerre du Vietnam, en fuite devant le FBI, apporta à Phoenix une grande célébrité. Le film lui permit d'obtenir une nomination à l'Oscar du Meilleur Second Rôle. Le rôle miniature du jeune Indy dans Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade (1989) fut suivi de I Love You to Death (1990) et Dog Fight (1991). Phoenix donna ensuite sa performance la plus impressionnante dans My Own Private Idaho, un film où jouait également Keanu REEVES. Sneakers (1992) constitua un retour sur le terrain de l'adolescence.

Végétalien et écologiste convaincu, Phoenix devint bien connu pour ses conférences sincères mais souvent incohérentes sur des sujets d'ordre spirituel et écologique (une habitude qui donna naissance au titre habituel des magazines «River est profond»).

D'une manière décevante, surtout pour un livre de plus de 600 pages, on ne trouve pas d'entrée pour Joe Dante, Gus Van Sant ou pour le frère et les soeurs de River, mais néanmoins River est mentionné dans d'autres articles, dont ceux consacrés à Rob Reiner, Sidney Lumet et celui sur Keanu Reeves.

Depuis lors, Reeves a fait plusieurs tentatives dont certaines infructueuses pour élargir sa gamme. Dans le ROAD MOVIE My Own Private Idaho (1991), il joue le mauvais fils d'une famille de la bourgeoisie qui s'encanaille parmi les jeunes prostitués (dont le regretté River PHOENIX). Le film essaie ambitieusement d'intégrer des éléments de la première partie du Henri IV de Shakespeare. Reeves continua dans cette veine shakespearienne en jouant Don Juan dans Beaucoup de Bruit pour Rien de Kenneth BRANAGH (1993) et le rôle titre d'une production théâtrale canadienne d'Hamlet (1995).


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

The Children of God

TV Commercials

Dogfight

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Sneakers

James Dean

Gus Van Sant

Keanu Reeves

Indiana Jones

Rob Reiner

Joe Dante

Kenneth Branagh

Sidney Lumet

Academy Awards

Vegan, Vegetarian, Vegetarianism

Environment, Environmental Concerns, Green, Green Issues

Vietnam

William Shakespeare

Hamlet

Much Ado About Nothing

Cassell Companion To Cinema
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Cassell Companion To Cinema

This edition first published in 1998.


ISBN 0-304-34992-5 (Paperback, 623 Pages)

A book containing over 3000 articles but that still puts aside over half a page to discuss River and his own unique contribution to cinema looked very promising. Almost immediately though it became apparent that the research for the book must have been somewhat rushed as indicated by the author's attention to dates and what he perceives to be the average age of River's audience.

Phoenix, River (1971-93)
US actor, whose premature death from a drug overdose established him as a cult figure with teenagers. His winsome good looks, air of vulnerability, and early demise have invited comparisons with James DEAN.

The book then goes on to talk about River's birth, his early childhood and the Children of God sect before looking at his career, beginning with River's rejection of working in commercials.

Major stardom came to Phoenix with Running on Empty (1988), a story about a family of ex-Vietnam protesters on the run from the FBI. The film earned him an Oscar nomination for Best Supporting Actor. A cameo as the young Indy in Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade (1989) was followed by I Love You to Death (1990) and Dog Fight (1991). Phoenix then gave his most impressive performance in My Own Private Idaho, a film that co-starred Keanu REEVES. Sneakers (1992) was a return to teen territory.

A Vegan and a committed environmentalist, Phoenix became known for issuing sincere but often incoherent lectures on a range of spiritual and ecological subjects (a habit that gave rise to the common magazine headline "River's Deep").

Disappointedly, even in a book of over 600 pages, there are no entries to be found for Joe Dante, Gus Van Sant or any of River's siblings but nevertheless River is mentioned in several other records including those of Rob Reiner, Sidney Lumet and this one about Keanu Reeves.

Since then Reeves has made various only partly successful attempts to extend his range. In the ROAD MOVIE My Own Private Idaho (1991) he played a middle-class drop-out slumming amongst male prostitutes (including the late River PHOENIX). The film ambitiously attempts to rework elements from Shakespeare's Henry IV. Part 1. Reeves continued in Shakespearean vein by playing Don John in BRANAGH's Much Ado About Nothing (1993) and the title role in a Canadian stage production of Hamlet (1995).


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page