Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Harrison Ford

Kiefer Sutherland

Seattle

Martha Plimpton

Tom Cruise

Judd Hirsch

Kevin Kline

Christian Slater

Chicago

Julia Roberts

If You're Talking To Me, Your Career Must Be In Trouble

Joe Queenan

Movieline

Rolling Stone

Philadelphia

Laura Dern

Emily Lloyd
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

If You're Talking To Me,
Your Career Must Be In Trouble

(Si vous me parlez,
c'est que vous devez avoir des problèmes avec votre carrière)

de Joe Queenan
Première édition 1994


ISBN 0-330-33148-5 (couv. souple, 286 Pages)

Présenté comme «le chroniqueur de la folie hollywoodienne», «le dégonfleur d'ego déraisonnables» et «un mauvais esprit», l'auteur Joe Queenan a composé ce livre en 1994 à partir de vingt-quatre articles écrits pour des magazines comme Movieline et Rolling Stones de 1989 à 1992.

L'article repris au chapitre 16 est intitulé «Le temps que j'arrive à Phoenix, vous vous tordrez ou les jeunes gommes» - et si vous pensez que ce titre a peu de sens, attendez de lire l'article lui-même...

Comme on peut s'y attendre de la part de quelqu'un qui s'appelle River Phoenix, River Phoenix n'a pas l'air d'avoir grandi au nord de Chicago, à l'ouest de Philadelphie ou au sud d'où que ce soit. Ayant commencé comme petite canaille (Stand by Me) puis continué comme séducteur (A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon), Phoenix a été vu dernièrement comme adolescent plutôt coincé dans une série de films relativement décents (The Mosquito Coast, Running on Empty, Indiana Jones et la Dernière Croisade). Le problème est celui-ci : A moins que vous ne le cherchiez, vous remarquez à peine qu'il est là. C'est un type à l'humeur changeante, tourmenté et renfrogné, et bien qu'il semble choisir ses rôles avec quelque soin, il est fondamentalement comme du papier peint: du beau papier peint, très cher.

Bon, à part ça, c'est plutôt rafraîchissant de voir qu'on parle de River au présent et cela rappelle pour quelques instants comment étaient les choses. Mais une telle rêverie est vite gâchée par le ton du texte. L'article, publié en 1990, est en fait l'évaluation successive de sept stars et l'auteur y déverse son mépris sur chacune d'elle : Tom Cruise, Julia Roberts, Laura Dern, Emily Lloyd, Christian Slater et il est particulièrement hargneux avec le partenaire de River dans Stand By Me, Kiefer Sutherland.


ISBN 0-786-88460-6 (couv. souple, 286 pages)

Alors qu'on se pose la question de savoir si l'auteur accorde la moindre attention à ce qui se passe sur l'écran, son discours incohérent sur River se poursuit ainsi :

Dans The Mosquito Coast et Running on Empty, il est complètement éclipsé par des papas autoritaires (Harrison Ford, Judd Hirsch) et dans ces deux films, il est complètement éclipsé par Martha Plimpton, une fille épatante. Dans le tout récent I Love You to Death, il joue un zigue loufoque, ni meilleur ni pire que le reste de la distribution, à l'exception de Kevin Kline qui est à la fois meilleur et pire. River Phoenix est un acteur modérément talentueux dont le nom a signé un chèque que son corps ne peut jamais toucher.*

Embrouillé et incapable de comprendre ce que l'auteur essaie de prouver, le lecteur se raccroche à la perspective d'une note de bas de page de ce livre paru en 1994, qui laisse espérer une référence bienveillante ou un hommage émouvant rendu au reste de la carrière de River ou à son décès prématuré.

Raté...

* Depuis l'écriture de cet essai, River Phoenix est apparu dans My Own Private Idaho où il peint un personnage de tapin narcoleptique de Seattle qui a l'habitude de s'endormir au milieu de la route nationale. Phoenix est très crédible dans ce rôle, ainsi que la route nationale.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

Stand By Me

The Mosquito Coast

A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon

Running on Empty

Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade

I Love You To Death

My Own Private Idaho

Harrison Ford

Kiefer Sutherland

Seattle

Martha Plimpton

Tom Cruise

Judd Hirsch

Kevin Kline

Christian Slater

Chicago

Julia Roberts

If You're Talking To Me, Your Career Must Be In Trouble

Joe Queenan

Movieline

Rolling Stone

Philadelphia

Laura Dern

Emily Lloyd
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

If You're Talking To Me,
Your Career Must Be In Trouble

by Joe Queenan.
First published in 1994.


ISBN 0-330-33148-5 (Paperback, 286 Pages)

Referred to as a "chronicler of Hollywood foolishness," a "deflator of preposterous egos" and a "mean-spirited turnip," author Joe Queenan created this book in 1994 by bringing together a collection of twenty-four essays he wrote which were published in magazines such as Movieline and Rolling Stone from 1989 until 1992.

The article reprinted in chapter 16 is called "By the time I get to Phoenix, you'll be writhing or young gums" - and if you think that title makes little sense, just wait until you read the essay itself....

As one would expect from a person named River Phoenix, River Phoenix does not look like he grew up on the north side of Chicago, the west side of Philadelphia, or the south side of anywhere. Starting out as a rapscallion (Stand by Me), progressed to a heartthrob (A Night in the Life of Jimmy Reardon), Phoenix has lately been cast as a mildly dweebish teen in a series of relatively descent films (The Mosquito Coast, Running on Empty, Indiana Jones and the Last Crusade). The problem is: Unless you're looking for him, you hardly notice that he's there. He's a moody little a guy who frets and frowns, and though he seems to choose his roles with some care, he's basically like wallpaper: pretty, expensive wallpaper.

Well, if nothing else, it's refreshing to see River being talked of in the present tense and is a little reminder, if only for a few moments, of how things used to be. Such reverie is of course hopelessly spoilt by the attitude of the text. The article, published in 1990, is actually a case-by-case evaluation of seven stars and the author pours scorn on each of them in turn: Tom Cruise, Julia Roberts, Laura Dern, Emily Lloyd, Christian Slater and is particularly vicious towards River's Stand By Me co-star, Kiefer Sutherland.


ISBN 0-786-88460-6 (Paperback, 286 Pages)

Putting our questions about whether the author pays any attention at all during the screening of a movie, the author's inane ramblings about River continue thus:

In both The Mosquito Coast and Running on Empty, he is completely overshadowed by overbearing dads (Harrison Ford, Judd Hirsch), and in both films he is completely overshadowed by Martha Plimpton, a real corker. In the more recent I Love You to Death, he plays a goofy zit, no better or worse than the rest of the cast, with the exception of Kevin Kline, who's both better and worse. River Phoenix is a mildly talented actor whose name has written a check that his body can never cash.*

Confused and unable to quite figure out what point the author is trying to get across, the prospect of a footnote in this 1994 book raised hopes that perhaps some kind and touching reference or tribute was about be made about the rest of River's career and his untimely passing.

Fat chance....

* Since this essay was written, River Phoenix has appeared in My Own Private Idaho, in which he portrays a Seattle-based, narcoleptic male hustler who has a habit of falling asleep in the middle of the highway. Phoenix was quite believable in the role, as was the highway.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page