Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Dermot Mulroney

Silent Tongue

The Thing Called Love

My Own Private Idaho

Gus Van Sant

Mike Parker

Drew Barrymore

Flea

Brad Pitt

London

108 Portraits

Branded Youth and Other Stories

Bruce Weber

Madonna

Daryl Hannah

Sam Ross

Ewan McGregor

Matt Damon
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

Branded Youth and Other Stories

(Jeunesse marquée et autres histoires)

de Bruce Weber
Première édition 1997


ISBN 0-8212-2525-1 (broché, 314 pages)

La carrière de Bruce Weber comme photographe portraitiste, producteur de films, réalisateur de clips vidéo et auteur, s'étend sur plus de vingt-cinq ans. Ses photographies sont présentes dans pratiquement tous les magazines à la mode ainsi que sur les calendriers officiels de nombreuses célébrités comme Madonna, Daryl Hannah et Dermot Mulroney, la vedette de Silent Tongue et de The Thing Called Love. Weber a aussi fait des expositions et donné des oeuvres pour des ventes aux enchères afin de venir en aide à des causes comme les Droits de l'Homme. Le présent livre fut publié à l'occasion d'une exposition qui eut lieu de novembre 1997 à février 1998 à la National Portrait Gallery de Londres.

D'une grande taille, d'un poids considérable et d'un prix élevé, ce volume partage beaucoup de points communs avec l'oeuvre de Gus Van Sant 108 Portraits. Des différences notables apparaissent cependant dans la mesure où le livre contient des histoires et des poèmes et qu'il présente des nus masculins de face.

Green Chimneys est une ferme où des enfants perturbés et des animaux blessés sont réunis pour s'entraider. Elle a été créée par le docteur Sam Ross, dont la philosophie est que chaque enfant et chaque animal mérite leur chance. J'ai visité Green Chimneys juste avant Noël pour prendre des photos pour le magazine Interview. Alors que nous parcourions la ferme par un après-midi glacial de décembre, les enfants et les animaux suivaient Sam partout où nous allions. J'ai soudain réalisé pourquoi il était à cet endroit depuis plus de cinquante ans.

Comme 108 Portraits, ce livre présente beaucoup de photographies de célébrités dont Brad Pitt, Ewan McGregor, Matt Damon, Flea, Drew Barrymore et l'un des acteurs de My Own Private Idaho Mike Parker. On trouve un index à la fin du livre permettant d'identifier chaque photo, mais il se révèle peu utile, les pages n'étant pas numérotées.

L'index n'est cependant pas nécessaire pour identifier le jeune homme vêtu d'un jean et d'un T-shirt sans manches, assis sur une balançoire, perdu dans ses pensées alors qu'il joue, l'esprit absent, avec ses longs cheveux. A côté de la photographie de River, sur la page de gauche, Weber a choisi le texte suivant :

C'est quelque chose d'avoir pleuré comme nous avons pleuré,
Et quelque chose d'avoir fait ce que nous avons fait ;
C'est quelque chose d'avoir veillé quand tous dormaient,
Et vu les étoiles qui jamais ne voient le soleil.

C'est quelque chose d'avoir senti la rose mystique,
Même pour casser et enlever les tiges épineuses ;
C'est quelque chose d'avoir été une fois affamé comme ceux-là
Doivent avoir faim qui ont mangé le pain des dieux ;

D'avoir connu les choses qui sont soustraites aux faibles,
Les anciennes passions effrayantes, étranges et planantes ;
C'est quelque chose d'être plus sage que le monde,
Et quelque chose d'être plus vieux que le ciel.

Voilà, et bénies soient nos oreilles car elles ont entendu :
Oui, bénis soient nos yeux car ils ont vu ;
Que le tonnerre éclate sur les hommes, les bêtes et les oiseaux,
Et l'éclair. C'est quelque chose d'avoir été.


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Dermot Mulroney

Silent Tongue

The Thing Called Love

My Own Private Idaho

Gus Van Sant

Mike Parker

Drew Barrymore

Flea

Brad Pitt

London

108 Portraits

Branded Youth and Other Stories

Bruce Weber

Madonna

Daryl Hannah

Sam Ross

Ewan McGregor

Matt Damon
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

Branded Youth and Other Stories

by Bruce Weber.
First published in 1997.


ISBN 0-8212-2525-1 (Paperback, 314 Pages)

Bruce Weber's career as a portrait photographer, film producer, director of music videos and author spans more than twenty-five years. His photographs are featured in practically every mainstream magazine as well as in the official calendars of numerous celebrities including Madonna, Daryl Hannah and Silent Tongue and The Thing Called Love co-star, Dermot Mulroney. Weber has also organized exhibitions and donated work for auction in aid of various Human rights causes. This particular book was published to coincide with an exhibition at the National Portrait Gallery, London which ran from November 1997 to February 1998.

With its large size, considerable weight and expensive price this volume shares many similarities with Gus Van Sant's own work 108 Portraits. Noticeable differences however are that Weber's book is intermingled with stories and poems and that it also features graphic, full-frontal male nudity.

Green Chimneys is a farm where troubled kids and wounded animals get together to help each other. It exists because of Dr. Sam Ross, whose philosophy is that every child and every animal deserves a chance. It was just before Christmas when I visited Green Chimneys to take photographs for Interview magazine. As we walked around the farm that freezing December afternoon, children and animals followed Sam everywhere we went. I suddenly realized why he has remained here for over fifty years.

Just like 108 Portraits, this book features many photographs of celebrities including Brad Pitt, Ewan McGregor, Matt Damon, Flea, Drew Barrymore and My Own Private Idaho co-star Mike Parker. There's an index identifying every photograph at the rear of the book, but the main pages themselves are not numbered thus making this index less than useful.

No index is necessary however to identify the young man dressed in a sleeveless shirt and jeans, who is to be found sitting on a swing, lost in a world of his own thoughts as he absent-mindedly plays with his long hair. On the opposite page to this photograph of River, Weber selected the following piece of text:

It is something to have wept as we have wept,
and something to have done as we have done;
it is something to have watched when all have slept;
and seen the stars which never see the sun.

It is something to have smelt the mystic rose,
although to break and leave the thorny rods;
it is something to have hungered once as those
must hunger who have ate the bread of gods:

To have known the things that from the weak are furled,
the fearful ancient passions, strange and high;
it is something to be wiser than the world,
and something to be older than the sky.

Lo, and blessed are our ears for they have heard:
yea, blessed are our eyes for they have seen:
let the thunder break on human, beast and bird,
and lightning. It is something to have been.


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining this title.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page