Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Voir également
dans Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

My Own Private Idaho

Interview With The Vampire

Tom Cruise

Robert Redford

A River Runs Through It

Anne Rice

Brad

Chris Mundy

Barbara O'Dair

Lorraine Ali

Peter Travers

Mark Seliger

US Magazine

No Man's Land

Seven Years in Tibet

Paul Maclean

Johnny Suede
Pour célébrer River Phoenix, sa vie et son temps.
American EnglishEn Français

«Je connaissais un peu River mais je voulais le connaître davantage.»

- Brad Pitt


Brad

de Chris Mundy, Barbara O'Dair
Lorraine Ali, Peter Travers et Mark Seliger
Première édition 1997


ISBN 0-316-89360-9 (broché, 144 pages)

Effort conjoint de cinq membres de l'équipe rédactionnelle du magazine US, cet ouvrage constitue à la fois une biographie et un album-photo mais, alors que ce pourrait être seulement une collection d'idées mal assorties et d'opinions disparates, les auteurs réussissent à atteindre leurs deux objectifs avec succès.

L'accent principal est mis sur la vie professionnelle de Brad Pitt davantage que sur sa vie privée et les auteurs examinent tous les aspects de sa carrière, depuis ses premières apparitions comme figurant dans No Man's Land, suivies de celles effectuées dans plusieurs téléfilms jusqu'à Sept Ans au Tibet en 1997. C'est peu après la moitié de ce voyage que le lecteur en vient à un film d'horreur particulier.


ISBN 0-316-89360-9 (broché, 144 pages)

Dès le début, rien n'est facile pour Entrevue avec un Vampire. Pour commencer, l'auteur du livre, Anne Rice, prend sur elle de monter un coup publicitaire pour femme seule en annonçant que n'importe qui d'autre sur Terre ferait mieux l'affaire que Tom Cruise pour jouer Lestat, le personnage central du conte. Et cela bien avant le début du tournage.

Quand finalement Anne Rice cesse ses plaintes, Entrevue a déjà parcouru le spectre complet des horreurs d'Hollywood : cinq mois de tournage difficile, des rumeurs de conflit entre les stars du film et, pour couronner le tout, une vraie tragédie quand River Phoenix, engagé pour jouer l'interviewer, meurt d'une overdose.

Bien que les vies des deux acteurs présentent peu de similitudes, l'éducation stable de Brad dans le Missouri faisant contraste avec la vie nomade du jeune River, les rôles qu'ils choisissent plus tard sont remarquablement semblables. Candidats tous deux au rôle de Paul McLean, le pêcheur à la mouche d'Au milieu coule une Rivière de Robert Redford, les deux acteurs ont une carrière qui semble les destiner à être réunis dans Entrevue avec un Vampire.


Le Johnny Suede de Brad Pitt et le Jimmy Reardon de River Phoenix

Ce ne sera pas le cas et Brad est alors cité dans l'ouvrage quand il parle du partenaire avec qui le sort l'aura empêché de travailler.

«Je connaissais un peu River mais je voulais le connaître davantage. Sa mort a touché tout le monde sur le film, mais en même temps c'était aussi très personnel. Vous devez vous rendre compte que River a eu un rôle dans My Own Private Idaho qui l'a placé à un niveau tellement supérieur à celui des autres jeunes acteurs. J'espérais vraiment être avec lui sur le plateau. Quand nous l'avons perdu, c'est comme si on avait perdu quelque chose de spécial.»


Page Précédente

Page Suivante
La Bibliothèque Phoenix Rio's Attic Home Page

Block Telesales Calls NOW
Receive no more
telephone calls
from telemarketers
selling junk.
www.coldcallblocker.com
Further Phoenix
at Rio's Attic:

Hollywood

My Own Private Idaho

Interview With The Vampire

Tom Cruise

Robert Redford

A River Runs Through It

Anne Rice

Brad

Chris Mundy

Barbara O'Dair

Lorraine Ali

Peter Travers

Mark Seliger

US Magazine

No Man's Land

Seven Years in Tibet

Paul Maclean

Johnny Suede
Rio's Attic: Celebrating the Life and Times of a Dearly Missed River Phoenix
American EnglishEn Français

"I knew River a little, but I wanted to know him more."

- Brad Pitt


Brad

by Chris Mundy, Barbara O'Dair
Lorraine Ali, Peter Travers and Mark Seliger.
First published in 1997.


ISBN 0-316-89360-9 (Hardback, 144 Pages)

This product, the joint effort of five members of the writing staff of US magazine, can only be described as part-biography and part-photo-album but instead of creating a collection of mismatched ideas and differing opinions, the authors manage to achieve both objectives with much success.

With by far the greater emphasis on Brad Bitt's professional work rather than his private life, the authors examine all aspects of his career from his earliest appearance as an extra in No Man's Land, followed by his work in various TV movies, through to the 1997 movie Seven Years in Tibet. It is a little over halfway through this journey when the reader arrives at a particular horror movie.


ISBN 0-316-89360-9 (Hardback, 144 Pages)

From the beginning, nothing about Interview with the Vampire was easy. For starters, Anne Rice, the book's author took it upon herself to stage a one-woman publicity bonanza announcing that anyone in heaven or hell was better suited than Tom Cruise to play Lestat, the tale's central figure. And that was long before the movie even began filming.

By the time Rice finally stopped her wailing, Interview already featured the full spectrum of Hollywood horrors: five difficult months of filming, rumors of conflict between the film's stars and, finally, a real-life tragedy when River Phoenix, who was slated to play the interviewer, died of a drug overdose.

Although the lives of these two actors shared few similarities, what with Brad's stable upbringing in Missouri providing a stark contrast to River's nomadic early life, the roles they both chose in their later careers were remarkably alike. Both up for the same role of fly-fisherman Paul Maclean in Robert Redford's A River Runs Through It, their careers looked all set to finally unite in Interview with the Vampire.


Brad Pitt's Johnny Suede and River Phoenix's Jimmy Reardon.

It was not to be though, and in this book Brad is quoted as he talks about the co-star who fate decreed he would never get the chance to work with.

"I knew River a little, but I wanted to know him more. His death affected everyone on the movie, but at the same time it was real personal. You gotta realize, River did a role in My Own Private Idaho that took it to a level that none of these other young guys have gotten to yet. I was really looking forward to him being on the set. It just seems like when we lost him, we all lost something special."


Previous Page
Click here for advice on obtaining these titles.
Next Page
Phoenix Bookshelf Rio's Attic Home Page